We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place - Nice Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau Bedford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Bedford
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Nice Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Typical HI Express, with no surprises, during my 3 night stay on Business.

Desk staff was good. Rooms are nice, roomy, and clean. The queen size bed was comfortable and clean. Flat Screen TV with 70 channels. Standard size work desk with a power outlet in the desk lamp, and two outlets on the wall next to the desk.

Water pressure and temperature was good. Had a fridge, but no microwave. Thermostat controlled heat which was quiet and effective. There was a main road in front, and a major highway on one side of the Hotel, but I didn’t hear any traffic noise at all. It was a good, comfortable stay. Single cup coffee maker, which I like better then the older carafe types.

The free internet was fast and reliable.

Breakfast at 6:30am. The standard HI Express breakfast was as I expected, but what was more important, they said 6:30am, and breakfast was ready at 6:30am. Since I have to be at work early, it’s important to me that things are ready when they say they will be ready.

The lack of a printer on te public computer in the lobby was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! Upon booking your next visit with us, may I suggest requesting a microwave be placed in your room prior to arrival. While our current supply is limited, should we have a microwave available we would be pleased to offer the use of one at no charge to you.
Thank you for also commenting on our efficient staff, quiet guest rooms and new flat screen televisions. Although our guest computer station prints your documents to a back office printer, this too is something we are reformatting. Within the next few months we will have a new guest workstation equipped with a new printer and office supplies. This is why we so appreciate guest feedback. It allows us the opportunity to meet your needs and hopefully to exceed your expectations. Thank you once again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    115
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
94
84
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Everything was great...great service, clean room,comfortable bed, pool and hot tub very nice...breakfast very yummy...fitness room great!!
Only flaw was water was not quite hot enough in the shower but that was it...I don't write reviews usually but I really liked this hotel...well definitly be staying again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aharris480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for this review! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights while visiting customers in the Halifax area. I've been staying here for 12 years, and I was considering staying at a newer hotel. On this particular stay I noticed many improvements and renovations. My room had a brand new LCD Samsung tv, new electronic thermostat with a touch screen, new locks on the doors, and the towels were thick & fluffy. This hotel has always been very clean, and the staff is great. Easy and quick access to the 102 highway. The CPSA rate is extremely competitive. I will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
We highly value your loyalty over the years. Our recent upgrades were done with guests like you in mind; you deserve a refreshed and comfortable stay. Look for further improvements scheduled for 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The hotel should be due for a remodeling soon, if it wants to keep clientele. In my opinion, the hotel over charges by about $25 per night given its condition.

Seems to be a place where many businesses room their staff while traveling. Right on highway access road and lots of nearby places for food plus a liquor store in walking distance. Fast access to major roads leading into Halifax.

If you want to see the major attractions in Halifax, I suggest you pay $25 more and stay around downtown. The time you save and the cost of parking is worth it. Halifax is bad for ticketing cars with expired meters. Cost you $25 min.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Car933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We were disappointed with our room. The sofa bed was not comfortable for our teenage daughters. We tried to change this at reception but no other rooms were available and the staff were unsympathetic.

Room Tip: Avoid the sofa bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

My family have stayed at this hotel many times in the past before the hotel across the street from them was built. They have a nice continental breakfast. Rooms are ok and they have a nice pool. It would definitely be my 2nd choice if I was staying in Bedford.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Hotel is a bit older and showing signs of wear but is generally clean. Only one elevator serving 3 floors so can be a wait. Guest computer is a bit too public. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Largest bed size is queen and rooms outfitted with mini fridge and old style TV's. Bathrooms are dimly lite but great water pressure. Hotel was quite busy when we were there so breakfast was quite crowded at peak time.
Would not recommend location if your day takes you into Halifax penninsula as the evening commute out of the city is not a pretty thing. Otherwise for access to south shore, points north and surrounding areas is very good. No restaurants in walking distance so car is needed; there is liquor store in adjacent strip mall.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGodfrey, Manager at Chateau Bedford, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Thank you for the review. Please allow me the opportunity to address several of your concerns with some highly anticipated and exciting news: New ownership has allowed The Holiday Inn Express Halifax-Bedford to make many significant changes over the next few weeks and months. The building exterior has been refreshed with new paint and landscaping is underway. Our guest computer area will be relocated and furnished with office supplies to better accommodate users. Various rooms will contain King Beds and ALL of our 98 guest rooms will feature new flat screen televisions by year end. For those interested, we are proud to also introduce a new key card system with upgraded door locks to allow our guests consistent access after a long day! We look forward to revealing our progress to you, and to all our valued guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Bedford

Property: Chateau Bedford
Address: 133 Kearney Lake Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 4P3, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome You to the Chateau Bedford HotelLooking for Halifax hotels near Bedford? Look no further than the Chateau Bedford, located at Exit 2, off Highway 102. Our hotel in Halifax is just a short drive from many attractions in the Halifax Regional Municipality. When you stay in Halifax, Nova Scotia hotels, stay at the Chateau Bedford. Just minutes from historic downtown Halifax, our hotel is near the Hemlock Ravine Park and historic Peggy's Cove. Are you a prospective student visiting colleges near our hotel? Halifax has many nearby colleges and universities, including Dalhousie University, St. Mary's University and Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University.Among hotels in Halifax, the Chateau Bedford is the best solution for your business needs. Our hotel is located near Bayers Lake Business Park, Atlantic Acres, Lakeside Industrial Park and Ragged Lake Business Park. Our business centre offers copy, fax and print services as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. For the corporate traveler looking for event space, our hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia features two meeting rooms.At our hotel in Halifax near Bedford, you can enjoy swimming in an indoor pool and burning calories at our fitness centre. With the high-speed Internet access available throughout our hotel, you can keep in touch with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Halifax / Bedford Hotel Halifax
Holiday Inn Halifax
Halifax Holiday Inn
Chateau Bedford Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing