We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cambridge Suites a Hit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Digby, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cambridge Suites a Hit!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel offers a bit of everything! The rooms are spacious, the Continental Breakfast is superb, the view (if one is lucky enough to get a room on the front of the hotel) is breathtaking in the evening. A plus is valet parking....we stayed there for a family reunion and had a wonderful time! we visited in the breakfast room, in our rooms, and in the city at large! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It is conveniently located downtown as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnookumsNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks SnookumsNovaScotia........ You had me at Snookums...... thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    664
    164
    65
    50
See reviews for
607
838
123
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Cambridge Suites is a steady commodity in the business sector. It is well located; close to business, restos and clubs. To be onset I was expecting a tired hotel
Due to its age but the cool, chic new look is good in Hali ands he staff were professional too. I did not have any issues so I cold not test their ability to respond, that seems the best way to do things!
The rooms are fairly large and the bed was very comfy.
The exercise room is quite well appointed but some equipment could use maintenance or replacement. There is also sauna, whirlpool and a roof deck; nice!
The bar is cozy and on Wednsday nights they have a "Meet and Greet" with free food and bevvys; a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor facing The Citidel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Good morning Jason C and thank you for your thoughts on our property. I love wednesday's for the very reason you mention. Socializing with our guests might just be one of the best parts of my job. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had to stay at the Cambridge Suites last year during some remodeling of our house. We loved the location, the staff were very professional and helpful, and the room/suite was great. We have since recommended it to friends many times. It's locally owned and operated, which is nice. They take dogs too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMCSHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Ahead of a short visit to Halifax in late April/early May I chose to book Cambridge Suites (CS) based on Trip Advisor reviews - and I'm very pleased I did !

A very spacious and quiet room, a wonderfully comfortable bed, and truly outstanding service make CS one of the best places I've stayed anywhere in the world. It's well located within a few blocks of the city centre and hotel parking was reasonaby priced.

All up a very relaxing stay !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
I love your name "Milkfish" - We appreciate the compliments and hope your travels bring to back to YHZ and to our hotel. Thanks for sharin' - Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Cambridge Suites is my favourite hotel in Halifax. It is clean, the suites are attractive and well maintained. All of the suites have a micro-wave, small fridge, plates, cutlery, etc I have stayed there several times in the last ten years and it has not deteriorated (like some others hotels at which I have stayed) It is possibly the most central hotel to access downtown Halifax; within easy walking distance of Spring Garden Rd, Barrington St., and the waterfront. The rooms have a good view in either direction (Citadel Hill one way, the harbour the other), Breakfast is included and includes fresh fruit, muffins (which were not just sweet and sugary) eggs, potatoes, toast, and the usual array of cold cereals and juice. . As a plus, they accommodated our early check in.

Room Tip: The view from the higher floors tends to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psych_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thanks Psych_prof for your kind words....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I was on a short business trip to Halifax late April and chose the Cambridge Suites based on reputation and the reviews on Trip Advisor.

I had no idea it would be one of the best hotel experiences I have had all year. And, I travel a lot.

The location ideal. Walking distance to Spring Garden and the waterfront. Parking easy access and never a struggle for a good spot by an elevator. I received constant warm greetings from the Front Desk.The King Suite I had was gigantic. The flat screen TV's in both the living room and bedroom put to good use for watching Hockey playoffs.
Kitchen = nice, but did not use. Great shower, washroom and plenty of towels.

I was a bit concerned by some lively guests in a suite down the Hall....as I prefer not to be disturbed, but, the sound did not penetrate my room at all. The sound stayed in the hall (they had left their door open) and was not an issue.

I happened upon a Weds night welcome reception in the Lobby and enjoyed comp wine and hor d'oerves....nice touch!

Immaculate room and top notch housekeeping.

Breakfast included, a continental was just OK, but the price was sure right....did I mention
"Free" ?

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was just perfect, I felt guilty being all alone in such a huge suite! Loved the bed and extra pillows, too....

Like I said, this place is a winner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgreene787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hi Tommy4Tor - it is fantastic when a guests needs match what we offer because we both usually leave happy. I am glad you weren't disturbed by the neighbors down the hall. It sounds like you were in one of our one bedroom suites which I believe (by far) are the quietest suites we have. Thanks for sharing th edetails of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Great rooms and amenities. Their specials are always interesting and affordable. When compared to other downtown hotels, the Cambridge Suites offers very reasonable rates for the room and on-site food services and the parking is either included or at a very low cost - most parking is underground and secure, The Cambridge Suites is my first choice whenever I'm looking for accommodations in Halifax, whether it be for business or pleasure. Oh, and if your trip includes a Wednesday night, then you really need to participate in the Manager's special get-together - you'll meet other guests and enjoy the no-cost food and beverage offerings.

Room Tip: I like to get a harbour view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Alan B "pumpin our tires" - lol (I just heard that saying and thought it was funny).....
Thanks a million Alan B for your kind words and thanks many times over for staying with us when you come to Halifax - we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing