We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
186
283
126
49
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
283
126
49
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tempo restaurant valet parking great location recently stayed at the delta delta halifax the club lounge scotia square bit dated front desk staff per day within walking distance hotel is centrally located hotel room heart of downtown third floor beds were very comfortable business trip
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 658 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

It is getting confusing in Halifax with several Deltas in town ; ask taxis ! The Barrington, however, is not new and is best known to all . Unfortunately, this property is aging with noisy air conditioning, poor sound insulation and an unimpressive 'club floor' . Furthermore, a bright new restaurant in lobby means they no longer offer room service . Not ideal for the business traveler .

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDF848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Delta Barrington. We here at the Delta Barrington know that the state of our product is getting dated and in need of a revamp, but we strive to make up for what we lack in a renovated product by offering the best possible customer service from every department from housekeeping, front office, to culinary. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet all of your expectations for this stay. Our restaurant does offer full room service of its menu to our guests in the room. While this was available, we deeply regret this was not communicated with you for this stay. We hope to welcome you to an improved experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This is a good option in downtown Halifax. The building is older and the rooms are ok. The hotel is also connected to several placed underground/internally. The staff are friendly and the location is convenient. While I would likely recommend somewhere else to stay, this is a fine option too.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travbud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay in Halifax travbud1. While our rooms are in need of an update, we are happy that our convenient location and great service was able to offer you a great experience in Halifax. We hope we are able to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Great hotel, good location and good services. We were able to walk to great restaurants and the wharf and market, everything was quite close to the hotel. The price was reasonable too. We would recommend staying here to anyone travelling in this area.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Delta Barrington. We strive to offer exceptional service, to ensure we are offering a memorable experience to all of our guests. We're pleased to hear that our service, and convenient location was able to offer you the experience you were looking for. We hope to host you again on your next trip to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

It was a good price but the bed was soft and a bit uncomfortable. Location is great but no service in the lobby for coffee or tea. I don’t understand why hotels can’t offer milk instead of cream especially for us tea drinkers? No real place to hang out like a bar. Furniture old and dated, no view. Nice reception people and clean but I wasn’t impressed

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ddd1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Delta Barrington. We strive to offer consistent service to offer the best experience possible, while our service was still able to meet your expectations we regret that we were not able to meet all of your needs for this stay. We offer a variety of additional amenities for our guests, while we only offer creamers in the room our team is happy to provide milk to guests upon request. Our restaurant has a lounge available to guests, located at the back of the restaurant. Our hotel is currently waiting for major renovations of our guests areas, which will be sure to meet the needs of guests just like you. We have forwarded your feedback from our team so that we can ensure to offer an improved experience to our guests. We hope to host you to an improved experience on your next trip to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

The hotel is in an older building, but is kept clean and updated where needed without updating the classic feel of the spaces. Our room was large, beds were comfy, shower was strong. Location is amazing, right beside the pedestrian-only Granville St, blocks away from the waterfront boardwalk, and incredibly close to so many bars and restaurants, as well as to Scotia Square. Offers valet parking for a fee.
Service was above and beyond, helping us adjust our reservation when something came up suddenly - they were very understanding.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy S, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Barrington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at the Delta Barrington. We strive to offer exceptional service to help create a streamlined experience for our guests. We enjoy a convenient downtown location as you noted, which gives our guests access to a variety of options when they visit Halifax. We're thrilled to hear you had a great experience, and that we were able to accommodate the change to your travel plans. We hope to host you again on your next visit to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews