We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the Money”

Fountain View Guest House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fountain View Guest House
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My next trip I will try for a room on the main floor. My room for $30 CAD was up a flight of stairs. Rooms are made up daily if you like. 2 shared bathrooms and one tub and shower in the area I was in. Only complaint was TV noise of the one permanent resident there carried through the wall. Very old fashioned bed and window treatments but clean. Nearby decent pizza take out and an excellent restaurant Jane's on the Commons. Downtown Halifax walkable, but excellent bus service. Great coffee shops along the way downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank wordfish9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Fountain View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

We stayed two nights in two different rooms in this guesthouse. To be short; price is perfect (around CAD50 incl.), location too (walking distance to center and it's quiet), cleanliness could be better... the place you probably want to unwrap your travel sleeping bag... (if you have one with you)...
If you're only there for one short night, good deal!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salvitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

If you don't mind shared bathroom/toilet facilities it's great value. Rooms are cosy, but clean and comfortable. Parking can be a problem due to a single driveway and limited roadside parking but all was okay. Take Helen lightly as you may get the wrong idea, but she is friendly and helpful. Jane's restaurant up the road was also nice.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Basically, this place is designed for budget travellers. It is actually cheaper to stay here than at a youth hostel, and you get your own room. The owner is charging the lowest rates that you will find in Halifax. I had a room for only 40 dollars. It was clean and I could see that the place was well run. You have to share a bathroom and shower facilities with other guests, but for the price this is normal.

The room included a television and had maid service. The owner has some rules that she maintains very carefully. For example, local people are not allowed to stay there, no smoking, and also sleeping bags are not permitted. The clientele when I stayed there were mostly European - Irish and Germans. The atmosphere was nice.

Basically, I would say that you will be happy with this place if you are on a tight budget and you aer looking for just a clean place to lay your head.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Makinawdandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

My wife and I stayed for three nights. We made a late reservation (week before our stay) and got a very inexpensive room the first night (around $40), but had to bump up to a $70 dollar room for the last two nights because that was all that was available. The first room was small but clean, well maintained, quiet (it was on the side of the house) and adequate (1 queen bed). The second room was very large with 2 queen beds, but a bit noisier as it was closer to the entry and faced the street and sidewalk. Noise was only a small inconvenience though. Both rooms had a tv and there is a phone available in reception.

The owner was very friendly and helpful, and downtown was a pleasant walk of about 15 minutes. Many buses stop right at the door of the guest house if that is your preference. Good places to eat nearby (check out the restaurants on Quinpool street as well as Coastal cafe and Janes on Robie st.-all just minutes walk away). Not a big problem that there is no coffee in room.

Overall a decent place as long as you know what to expect-after all it's not a fully appointed hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank doctormark97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

This lodge is cheaper than the local hostels and you do not need any membership. However, you cannot use the kitchen to cook or the laundry room to do your wash. Also, it's located across the street from the commons park which had a number of robberies where they skateboard during my stay. Other than that, the price was right!!!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank luvtotravelKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We would Definately NOT recomend this place at all.
No tea/coffee making or fridge in rooms. NO where you could make a cuppa and no laundry facitilities.
Blankets had huge stains and holes in them.
You couldnt use phone to get overseas operator to charge to your phone at home, as she had a DIAL phone!!!
What i thought was a handtowel was the towel.
If you are more than average size you wont fit into one of the toilets. as your knees would hit the wall, and no spare toilet paper left out, so if you in the middle and you run out , oh woe you!!
one shower for 10 people.
If i had to say one nice thing about the place, and after thinking hard, beds comfortable but squeaky, and if you are walkers like us. you can walk into main centre.
Look else where, people as sure you will find a MUCH nicer place for the money,
We paid $50 for a double room, not sure where the $30 ones were, and what state they were in.
Joan from New Zealand

F

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank Joantaranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Commons Inn
#27 of 28 in Halifax
192 reviews
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
110 reviews
Chebucto Inn
#25 of 28 in Halifax
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
1,033 reviews
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#11 of 28 in Halifax
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain View Guest House

Address: 2138 Robie St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3K 4M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range: $24 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Fountain View Guest House Hotel Halifax
Fountain View Hotel
Fountain View Guest House Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing