We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
265
283
156
36
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
283
156
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour city scotia square delta barrington front desk staff liquor store valet parking an upgrade bit dated barrington street restaurant staff tim hortons bed was comfortable business trip location is great mini fridge coffee maker nova scotia
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 762 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2018

I had a fine stay, but I could see that the cons might bother others.

Pros:
The location is great.
The staff were really friendly.
The food in the restaurant was good and the service there was really great.
The front desk loaned me a charger for my phone which was super nice.

Cons:
-The pool is currently closed (though they do offer the option of going to their sister property the Delta Barrington, it's not ideal).
-The room wasn't very well cleaned and had the smell of cleaning agents (even though again, it wasn't super clean - hairs in the bathtub and cut nail on the couch).

Room tip: The 5th floor has a sign that it is a quiet floor.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelafromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Greetings from Delta Halifax,

Thank-you for your review; it is through valuable feedback such as yours that allow us to improve on the products and services that we offer our guests. It was great to hear the feedback on our friendly staff and great location. We apologize our team did not catch the hairs in the bathtub in advance of your arrival. That is absolutely not up to our cleanliness standards and I will be sure to pass it along our Housekeeping Manager, as she would want to be made aware of this. I also apologize for any disappointment the pool being closed caused you during your stay. We are currently renovating it and hope for it to reopen this weekend!

Again, thanks so much for your review, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Very Best,
Sinead Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2018

This nice hotel has everything you need for a great time in downtown Halifax
The lobby is connected to Scotia Square dining and shopping along with the Halifax downtown pedways leading to the waterfront and Casino
Staff are always friendly here and the hotel is well kept
Will return

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank hungryguy820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Greetings from Delta Halifax,

Thank-you for reviewing your stay on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had an excellent stay, as well as enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to the waterfront and downtown core. Our location certainly allows our guests to experience all downtown Halifax has to offer as we are just a quick walk to most attractions.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Halifax!

Very Best,
Sinead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

The junior suite was spacious and comfortable but definitely looks a little dated. The drinks at the bar are fantastic and the food at the restaurant was good as well. You can walk to the casino without going outside, definitely a plus in the winter!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Engerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Greetings From the Delta Halifax.

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and recommending us as a great place to stay to others.

Very Best,
Sinead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

Stayed here during convention and hallways were noisy. Banging door locks all night + many people traveling the halls. VERY noisy and would not stay here again. Location is great but useless with noise all night.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelLover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Greeting's from Halifax,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post about us on Tripadviaor.com. We are sorry to hear you had some noise disturbances during your stay. We do our best to appropriately assign room locations based on the reason for each visit,however it is evident there were some late goers staying close to your room and we are very sorry you experienced disturbance during your stay.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,
Sinead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

My wife and i stayed here on Oct 27-18 for our anniversary,We did the same time last year as well.Check in was fast.We were once again up graded to a jr. suit for our anniversary and repeat guess.Location is great for a down town stay as easy to get around from here. The room was big and the king size bed was awesomely comfortable.Drew was pleasent to deal with at check in an the bell hop upon check out was helpful with offer of botle water while we waited for a drive.We will return. Our neighbors are now booked for Nov 10 for their anniversary night out lol

Room tip: Jr.suit big room with king size bed
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotthull6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPower2014, Front Office Manager at Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Greetings from Delta Halifax,

Thank you for making Delta Halifax your hotel of choice again to celebrate your anniversary! We are so happy that we were able to play a small part in making your day special with the upgrade to a suite. We pride ourselves on our service standards and I'm happy to hear how wonderful Drew was at check in. I will be sure to share your kind words with him, as he will greatly appreciate it!

We hope to see you next year for your anniversary!

Sincerely,
Sinead Doria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews