We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveller rating
764
584
217
94
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
584
217
94
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public gardens beautiful park spring garden road historic hotel aveda products beautiful lobby dalhousie university an older hotel within walking distance downtown halifax nova scotia front desk staff buffet breakfast coffee maker citadel hill underground parking arms
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The standard queen room we had was very, very small with the tv mounted such that there was no comfortable place from which to view it. The room was clean and staff was very friendly but the 8th floor hallway smelled like 30 yr old cigarette smoke. We assume this was a smoking floor when they were a thing.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S4145HJmarkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesaGriffin, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review S4145HJmarkl, I am sorry to hear that the floor smelled of smoke, we are a non-smoking hotel so I will be sure to follow-up. We do offer a variety of guestrooms, our reservations team would be happy to walk you through them over the phone for your next visit to ensure the room has enough space to make you comfortable. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at reception after our flight from the UK and were told our room would not be ready for another hour or so (even though it was gone 3 pm) - we went shopping and came back. Our room was still not ready - we waited and waited and no one came over to us - eventually we were given a room at about 5 pm - As we were tired we ate in the hotel which was OK but not brilliant. Breakfast was fine and the staff in there were very friendly and efficient.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trissahosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesaGriffin, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback Trissahosk, I am sorry to hear that your room was not ready upon arrival and will follow-up with our staff to see what prevented you from not being checked in on time. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in this famous hotel for one night to experience something special our last night in Nova Scotia. It was a beautiful suite but not worth the price we paid. It was a one of so would not stay there again. We did enjoy the bar and the location across from the public gardens. Everyone was efficient and business like. If you want the luxury experience, go for it, otherwise, shop around for a better value.

Room tip: The Bistro restaurant near here is fun with excellent food.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesaGriffin, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review lassygirl, I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met with your stay at our hotel and invite you to contact me directly with your feedback at lesa@lordnelsonhotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We had a wonderful stay at the Lord Nelson Hotel. The staff were friendly and registration was a breeze. Our room was great with a very comfortable bed and pillows which we don't get too often. The buffet breakfast was delicious with something to please everyone. We would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesaGriffin, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Marie B, we would love to welcome you back for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2018

I stayed in the Lord Nelson as part of a business function. I was very impressed. Bright, clean rooms. Well appointed and comfortable. The service was excellent, as was the food in the on-site restaurant. A beautiful building located next to the Public Garden. I recommend the hotel highly.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunshine12246639757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesaGriffin, General Manager at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Sunshine12246639757, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are all enjoying the Public Gardens year round now that they do not run seasonally. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews