We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-executed concept perfect for before-dinner or late-night drinks”
Review of Obladee

Obladee
Ranked #80 of 847 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Description: Small, casual wine bar specializing in thoughtful wines by-the-glass, a market-fresh cafe lunch, and small-batch cheese and charcuterie.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Obladee offers good wines and very tasty small plates in a warm low-light room with a varied and interesting seating. This is perfect for couples, small groups, and even for the solo traveler, as i was. The price is not low but the quality meets the expectations set. My server recommended a full-bodied red that was good enough to merit a second round. My cheese plate was small but interesting. The beef sandwich special was excellent and just enough. A nice spot for a drink in a relaxed and refined atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObladeeAWineBar, Owner at Obladee, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Thanks for this thoughtful review and feedback! Very happy you enjoyed your visit/appreciated the details :) Hope to see you again soon. Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2018

Dropped in for some wine after a dinner and tried the wine flight of three (my favorite thing to do) Accompanied by a cheese board, its hard to beat

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank PW301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R, Owner at Obladee, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Thanks for this kind review! So glad you enjoy our flights - and the cheese! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017

Obladee has wonderful atmosphere, an excellent wine list, and very friendly and knowledgeable staff. My wife and I often make Obladee a last stop when we are out for dinner in Halifax. They also have a beautiful selection of eats - cheeses, charcuterie, and an incredible homemade mushroom ricotta gnocchi, which went so well with my Italian dolcetto red. If you like wine (they also have 4 or 5 craft beers on tap) this is your place! The servers here know all about the wines as well,

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R, Owner at Obladee, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2017

What a nice review, Steve! Thanks so much! Very happy that you continue to enjoy your visits to Obladee! - Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

I took my husband for the first time , having been here previously with my daughter . If you love wine it is a must in Halifax . It is a hopping spot you will be sitting close to other patrons . We sat at the bar and learnt about the wine we were enjoying . The ways are small but delicious, the food is there to compliment the wine selection. Informed and knowledgeable staff who clearly have a passion for wine and food .

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank LucyvBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R, Owner at Obladee, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Thanks for this great review, Lucy! So glad you and your husband enjoyed yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Excellent wine list. Wonderful charcuterie boards and very knowledgable staff to guide you through to a great night. The venue is cool and has very cool, careful curated music that reinforces the entire vibe.

Ok, yeah....we're regulars.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank WayneSavory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R, Owner at Obladee, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thanks for the review, Wayne - and for being a regular! So glad you dig the vibe, food... and music.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Obladee also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Obladee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing