We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

The location was one of the best parts of this hostel, but it was also very clean, had parking, and a large wonderful kitchen. But the true cherry on top was the people working here, they were very friendly, and inclusive. I was originally only going to stay for 4 nights, but extended it to 5 and don't regret that decision at all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

When checking in, I checked the bed for signs of bed bugs and saw none. Came in a few nights later and noticed bed bug protectors on the legs of both bunks. The next morning, I woke up with about 10 bites on my arm, one on my leg and two on my neck.I asked to be moved right away and the guy at reception let me use the machines free of charge, however, after putting my stuff in the machines it kept being removed by housekeeping to wash the sheets. I understand they have things to do but I'm not going to sit around all day waiting for the machines to be available since I can't go into the new room until my stuff has been washed or dried on high heat. Myself and the other girls in the room with me were put in another room which we later found out had also had reports of bed bugs, and I woke up with another fresh bite the next morning. We also inquired about getting some sort of refund since we were moved from a 4 bed dorm to a 6 bed dorm but were told that it's the same price and they don't offer compensation for bed bugs since "we could have brought them in".
I get that bed bugs are a fact of life when so many people are coming and going but I feel that it could have been dealt with better.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

The good:
-Chill yet helpful and friendly staff.
-Hostel common areas are clean [near spotless] and so well thought out that it feels like a vacation getaway unto itself.
-The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy - no prison mattresses here!
-Both supermarket AND farmer's market are well within walking distance.

The bad:
-If your room faces Barrington St and your bed is situated so that your head is at the window, you may need earplugs to block the sound of cars whizzing by. Downtown Halifax does sleep so this would only be an issue if you are catching winks outside of a typical nighttime slumber.
-There was a spot of dried blood on my pillow but with three empty beds, I just swapped pillows and kept it moving. Nothing dries like blood and I assure you it was not fingernail polish. I'm no forensics expert but it looked as if someone either cut their finger or cut themselves shaving and bled through an adhesive bandage. As I type this, I realize bringing it to the attention of the staff and sparing another guest from discovering it would have been the proper thing to do -so- whoops.

The WTF?
-With a corner bunk sitting completely empty, I was placed atop another guest. I would have asked to move as to not feel so cramped but I figured there was a method to the madness and two guests traveling together would soon fill the beds... FFWD three nights and no one came. The guest below me was on his way after my second night so I did feel some relief.
-In booking through the HI website, I was quoted a price that Halifax Heritage House did not honor. With the staff being so friendly and chill, I did not make a fuss but I'll be working this one out with my bank. Overall, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Room_Key_Replacement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at HI-Halifax hostel on Barrington Street for many reasons but the main reasons were (1) minutes from the VIA station (2) easy access to bars and shops (3) museums and galleries galore (4) craft brewery's and (5) farmers market was a hop skip and a jump from the hostel. It was a good base for checking out the town in spite of the 60 cm's of snow the area got the night I arrived. I wanted an adventure and I got one!! I got the single room which came with private washroom including shower. Both clean and functional. Staff were great and helpful to me and the folks staying at the hostel were interesting people. Would I stay at this hostel again?? Heck yes in a heartbeat.!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Arthur i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

This is a safe bet but could be so much better!

The good first - handy location - v near to the VIA rail train and a few minutes walk to the main streets and sites of Halifax. It's clean and has a very nice, well equipped kitchen area.

The downside, which is a shame, is that the staff let it down. Before I booked I'd read some reviews which mentioned lots of rules and I thought ' hey, that's cool', but honestly it's like all that matters is that you sign to acknowledge the rules and give them the cash for your key deposit. No welcome, no smile, no conversation - at check in or throughout my stay. It's like they don't want to be there and aren't bothered whether you are either.

Also, be aware that I booked a 6 bed dorm through a hostel booking website and was put in an 8 bed dorm on checking in (i.e. when I got to the room there were 4 bunks). When I queried this, I was brusquely told that 'we don't take any notice of that - you pay one rate and we put you where there is space'. Since the price wasn't the issue for me, rather the size of the dorm, we had an 'interesting' discussion about this and they did agree to move me to a 6 bed dorm in the end after much huffing and puffing. Another example of customer service gaps.

Shame as the other guests were nice and it really could be fab.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank BrumJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Location of this place was perfect in downtown Halifax, a few minutes walk from the bars and the harbour front. The staff were really nice, very helpful, and although the place was clean and well laid out, it really does need upgrade with some new furniture as it is a bit tired now. There is a bit of an odd smell in the rooms, granted, but it is very clean and I really did have fun here. I'm glad I picked it over the other hostel in town and though part of me thinks 4 stars is too much, giving it 3 seems too little and wouldn't be fair. I'd recommend it.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

No complaints about this place at all really. The location is very convenient. 5mins to VIA rail and maritime bus. Close to local bus stops. 5mins from huge supermarket and 10mins to waterfront. Bars and restaurants all around.
Hostel itself is very clean and comfortable. Kitchen and common areas are clean. Free wifi is a bit patchy when lots of people are around but it still works. Rooms are well maintained and the staff are all lovely and super helpful.
Free tea, coffee, sugar and coffee whitener available all day. Free towel for your stay. Washing facilities available, $2 wash, $2 dry, $1 washing powder and the machine is big and works well.
TV and book room, outside common area and computer room all available.
Definitely a good bet if you are staying in Halifax!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel

Address: 1253 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Halifax
Price Range: $33 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Halifax is located 200m from the bus and train station, we are right in the middle of the downtown area, within 15 minute walk of all that Halifax has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Halifax Heritage House Hotel Halifax
HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing