We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
Review Highlights
Great tour!

Al was our driver and tour guide while in Halifax. He was so knowledgeable and interesting. He... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
MelanieSch14
,
Texas
via mobile
Book it! Fantastic tour and guide

Amazing tour with our guide AL. We did the Halifax/Peggy's Cove Tour. He has so knowledgable and... read more

Reviewed October 30, 2023
Robyn S
,
New Port Richey, Florida
Read all 329 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Halifax
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
294
24
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
294
24
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews titanic cemetery peggy's cove cruise ship nova scotia interesting sites fairview lawn cemetery public gardens lobster roll lem terry company citadel stories pier depth ancestors canada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 329 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We easily connected with Lem Smith when we disembarked from our cruise ship. This was a private tour of about 4 hours around Halifax and out to Peggy's Cove. Lem was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Halifax and understandably proud of his community. He told us many very interesting stories of Halifax including "the rest of the story" about the Halifax explosion, the history of Holy Cross Cemetery, the final resting place of victims of the sinking of the Titanic and the city's ongoing relationship with their sister city of Boston and more. We had a quick and fun stop at Ryers Retail to learn about lobsters and enjoyed our time in Peggy's Cove. Lem was very considerate about checking in with our group of four sisters to be sure we were comfortable, did we need to stop for food or bathroom breaks, etc. He gave us every opportunity to take pictures and we returned to the ship with a great feeling about Halifax and the people and lots of nice photographs to share with our family and friends. We visited five ports on the cruise and this was my favorite tour thanks to Lem.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your tour experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

We had 12 people, so we had two vehicles. Picked up at the cruise ship port by Dennis and David. We loved the intimate and personal tour with our two fantastic tour guides. Not only did we see the major sites: Halifax, the Citadel, the Titanic Cemetery, Acadia Maple Products, and Peggy's Cove, but they took us to see some of the local sites. They recommended a great little restaurant for lunch. The time we spent with Dennis and David, was the highlight of our cruise, thank you both for the memories. Frankie A.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank SFrankieFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your tour with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018

We were in port for one day on a Canadian Cruise. Doug picked us up early right outside the terminal. We packed in a ton of sights, meet some great local people and had a fantastic local lunch. Doug was so easy to talk to and you felt like you were spending the day with an old friend. We toured the beautiful coastline, the Titanic cemetery, the Citadel, and my favorite Peggy's Cove. Also, a great lunch at The Finer Diner. I recommend this tour for anyone.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your tour with us and the local area around Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018

We were on a cruise and stopped here for the day. We spent the day with Doug. Titanic cemetery, we stopped at a lady’s home she has an art gallery and allows people to take pictures on her dock. She was a very kind women and it was a delight to meet her. Then we went to Ivan’s home. Ivan is an author, painter and all round great guy. Then we went to a little local place for lunch Lobster rolls of course. Peggy’s cove and a little touring after lunch to complete my favourite port of the New England cruise. Doug had the day all planned stopped when we wanted him to, (for pictures) He ate lunch with us we were a group of 6. To make this tour exceptional I would get a bigger vehicle. A mini van for 6 adults plus the driver is just to crowded and uncomfortable.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank 358shannonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your email and we do have seven passenger SUV’s plus the driver. We are very pleased you enjoyed your tour experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018

Met at the dock with a "pink sign" as promised. Only surprise was the vehicle--a taxi as the tours are associated with Casino taxi. The tour covers the highlights of Halifax including a trip to Peggy's Cove where we had lunch. Lot's to see and a lot of opportunities to take pictures. Our guide was not a Halifax native but had a reasonable knowledge of the history and highlights.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank BW_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you for your review. All of our drivers operate their own taxi or limousine. Halifax Tour Guys trains all of our driver/tour guides to do the listed tours on our website ourselves. They all have many years of experience in the industry and are very good at their jobs.

We pride ourselves on being an equal opportunity employer and seek out the best driver/tour guides in the industry. All of our drivers are well trained and knowledgeable about where they are going and the local history that our guests are seeing. We are pleased that you enjoyed your tour with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews