We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,191)
Filter reviews
1,191 results
Traveller rating
631
378
114
33
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
378
114
33
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paper plates corner room complimentary breakfast is citadel hill within walking distance clean rooms parking garage the breakfast area scotiabank centre few blocks very nice hotel halifax downtown yogurt excellent location would definitely stay here again excellent stay front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,191 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for a two night stay this month. We were very impressed with our entire stay. The hotel is bright and cheerful, and our room was spotless and clean. We had a corner Kind room with a view of the harbour. Couple of little things that could have made things a bit more comfortable, if you have a King size bed, then you need King size pillows. Also, the bath towels were small, and only two were provided. Most ladies use one for their hair, so four towels would have been great. That said, I do realize that this is likely done for conservation, so its not a deal breaker. Another thing that I really likes was the brightly decorated hallways. Very pleasant.

The free breakfast was also very good, and had a great variety. The dining/common area was very tasteful and well appointed.Having a free hot breakfast, and especially one thats actually good, really adds value to your stay, versus other hotels that dont.

Parking in the nearby garage was fast and easy and both times, we were able to secure a spot right by the door.

The staff at the front desk was fabulous, friendly and helpful. We did call and ask for some extra pillows, and the man that brought them to our room, was, well....not friendly AT ALL. He didn't smile. He didn't speak to my husband at all, even when he thanked him for the pillows. His facial expression was flat and angry. We encountered him again, at the front desk in conversation with staff member at the front desk. I asked my husband..." Is that that guy from last night?" because his demeanour was exactly same. Barely speaking and just looks ANGRY and off-putting.

Overall, we would ABSOLUTELY return. But, I think we will bring our own pillows.

Room tip: King Corner suite with view is nice. Ask for a high floor
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribe-Harlequin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelGaudet, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us and the kind review. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, as well as the upbeat color scheme the hotel has to offer. please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

This review is being posted in the middle of a two night stay at this hotel. People must learn to read. It does not say when you reserve a room that a parking place is guaranteed. An intelligent person would realize that parking may be full as it is on an on demand basis. Otherwise, the hotel is very nice and exactly what you should expect for the same price at other properties. The extra here is the staff went above and beyond to deal with several challenging customers. This is what excellent customer service should be.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Booboo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelGaudet, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the great review, we do our best to try and accommodate every guest. We will let our staff know what are great job they did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2019

The Hampton is well situated to get around downtown Halifax. The facilities are fantastic; from the rooms, the view of the harbour from the upper floors, to the breakfast and work out centre. Great place to stay. I would definitely go back again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank brianmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelGaudet, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us and the great review. please come back and join us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Good price for Halifax. Room was nice but on the smaller side. Very quiet even though it was very busy. Thought the bathroom could have used a sweep or a vacuum. Breakfast was good but the fruit in the basket in the middle of the dining room was only bruised apples and bruised, very ripe bananas. The access to the all day coffee/tea was blocked off all day Saturday and Sunday because the conference rooms were being used as merchant exhibits and the dining area was being used for some conference seminars. Convenient to downtown and Scotia Square. Don't buy a chocolate bar in their little convenience kiosk...$3 for a regular MARS bar. Might stay again because it is only a block away to the MetroX bus that runs from downtown Halifax to the Airport for $3.50 vice a $60 cab ride.

Room tip: Use the city run MetroX 320 bus to/from the airport. Only a block away and $3.50 vice a $60 cab.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chief960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelGaudet, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. Our rooms are bigger on average then most standard hotel rooms in Halifax, If you plan on staying with us again please inquire about the Homewood Suites which is right next door, they have full suites with a lot more space. The All Day Cafe is just the name for that section, it is only open to our paying conference center guests. we do have 24/7 tea, coffee, hot chocolate in our breakfast area. As for the suite shop items all of the chocolate bars, chips and regular cans of pop are priced at $2.50 tax included.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2019

Check you blankets for blood and make sure you get a new blanket. And not just change the duvet cover. Was definitely not impressed with it. Don’t know if I’ll ever stay again. Too bad the gym was awesome!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jet00495445462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelS23511, Front Office Supervisor at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2019

We are very sorry to hear this unfortunate event. It seems like your room was discounted 50% for each night from $119 to $59.50 and as well as an extra $23 off for the first parking. In total it equates to 1 free night as well as 1 free parking. For a total stay amount of $166.05 for 2 nights with parking. I hope this clears up the discount confusion and I reported this incident to the Housekeeping Manager to investigate. We hope you stay with us again for an opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews