We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“excellent pizza and reasonable prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morris East

Morris East
Ranked #31 of 701 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unique and delicious wood fired pizza served in a warm and cozy environment. Choose from a variety of mouth watering toppings not found elsewhere or even vegetarian and gluten free options.
Halifax
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent pizza and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is a must visit pizzeria for foodies in Halifax. Excellent pizza, great atmosphere and good service.

Helpful?
Thank ajroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    80
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Maybe we're missing somthing....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We recently moved to Halifax and have had Morris East on our list of places to try after reading all the great reviews. The atmosphere in the restaurant was great, as was the service, but the pizza had to be some of the worst I have ever had. I find it hard to believe that this was wood fired pizza...tasted like frozen pizza. The crust was too thick and the ingredients did not taste fresh at all...extremely bland. All in all, it was incredibly disappointing and we would not go back. If you love good, Naples style pizza, don't eat here!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 78review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowknife
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Personal sized eclectic oven loved pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Although we live in Yellowknife now, this was one of our favourite spots to eat when we were in Halifax. Love the menu on a chalkboard and quaint feel of the restaurant. Pizzas above expectation every time! You'll experience pizza like you've never experienced pizza before.
There may be a wait, so plan for reservations or arrive early!

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank novacanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Authentic, thoughtful and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

They make their own duck charcuterie, use an oven fired by wood cut in the Annapolis Valley, and have cocktails that, for example, use toasted, crushed cardamom seeds. The service is always friendly and good, and I don't find the prices to be at all expensive (if you're looking for cheap diner food and prices, you're in the wrong spot). Love to get their take away pizzas, I like a regular slice too but the specialty pizzas here are such a nice change. Great to see a restaurant for food lovers in Halifax.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orionblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy atmosphere, great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I checked this out last night after seeing the reviews. Very cozy atmosphere and wonderful thin crust pizzas. I had the pulled pork and soprasata pizza paired with a Garrison Nut Brown Beer. It was delicious and service was very good. Great little hideaway in downtown Halifax

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank beachpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morris East also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Bedford, Halifax Region
 

Been to Morris East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing