We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,friendly staff”
Review of The Maxwell's Plum

The Maxwell's Plum
Ranked #105 of 809 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Reviewed November 7, 2017

We stopped in here for supper as we were staying just around the corner and we went back the next night. The place is not fancy at all but the food was so good. We shared the nachos which were so delicious and not like any I have every had. And it was the wings that brought us back the next night. I would recommend this place for very casual dining.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell P, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxwell's Plum, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you for choosing The Maxwell's Plum two nights in a row while visiting Halifax and for sharing your fabulous 4 star rating on our unique delicious Nachos and tasty wings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 347 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

This incident occurred last night (October 28, 2017)

What started as a fun night with friends, ended in me never wanting to come here again. Our waitress Kelsey was was wonderfully cheerful and pleasant, and had a great time with her, but it seems we stayed a little later than the guy working wanted us to.

We were warned by our waitress that we had to leave soon, and it was pleasant. So we started to wrap up and finish our drinks, when the guy came up to us screaming that it's against the law to be here, and proceeded to grab our drinks out of our hands forcefully.

I do not exaggerate this either, my drink was grabbed from me and I was screamed at like a child that had wronged a parent.

This experience went from a five star to a one star, zero if I could. I will never be back and I will never ever suggest this establishment to anyone again.

1  Thank HaliBoy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell P, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxwell's Plum, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to improve.

Our goal is to provide friendly, responsible, courteous and professional service to our customers. We are so sorry that you did not experience that at the end of your experience with us. All our customers need to be advised at last call that they need to be out of the building and off the seasonal patio by 2:30am - it is the law.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Maxwell's Plum is located right across the street from the Residence Inn. It is a great place to sit outside and people watch. It was our last day in Halifax and we hadn't had a chance to try a local favorite, Fried Pepperoni. We ordered that and craft beers. The pepperoni was a large portion - more than we could eat. With two beers, we paid $26 which we thought was a little expensive. Our server was great - efficient and friendly. They have great daily specials and we would go back for one of those. They have a huge beer selection to pick from.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell P, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxwell's Plum, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thank you for including The Maxwell's Plum as part of your visit in Halifax and sharing your wonderful 4 star experience on our patio. Safe travels home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

The food was excellent and the nightly special menu are great value. $2.99 for steak an fries. Very tasty.

Thank Rita6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell P, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxwell's Plum, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Thank you Rita for the glowing 5 star review and for showcasing our delicious $2.99 Steak and fries Tuesday special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Relaxed, fun atmosphere - enjoyed the fish and chips. I met a friend there for dinner - her suggestion and she is a local.

Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell P, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxwell's Plum, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

We are so happy that your friend introduced you to The Maxwell's Plum. Thank you for sharing your experience and showcasing our delicious Fish and Chips! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maxwell's Plum also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Maxwell's Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing