We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time for an update....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Time for an update....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just your average hotel, nothing new, nothing too old. Typical 80's best western wallpaper, old carpets, but, overall, it was clean, and staff members were friendly. Apparently there is a new addition, but we couldn't tell where, as everything looked older. I'm assuming the addition is on top of the foyer. Overall, the hotel served it's purpose; however, it was definitely not above and /or beyond.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    108
    58
    29
    28
See reviews for
117
104
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

the staff was excellent & friendly, continental breakfast was above expectation, but our room on ground floor smelled like cigarettes smoke, carpet was old, hallway carpet in the original wing is filthy. We only stayed for one night instead of three originally planned & their very nice to give us a refund. The pool is very small but has a hot tub.

I"m sure the renovated part of the hotel is great. They were willing to transfer us but no available room. They really tried to accommodate us; we traveled w/ an infant & they provided baby cot, extra sheets & blankets at no cost.

Room Tip: Stay in the renovated part of the hotel. Not the ground floor 'coz it has sliding doors & g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at your hotel , the room was clean and neat couldn`t ask for better , the people who work there are real friendly and helpful , my only suggestion is you should have room numbers attached to the brick wall above the parking spaces for the ground level parking , every time we went out there was a car in our parking space , no big deal but have to lug our bags to the front door , but a enjoyable stay , take care saranora dnear Hanover On.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BooBoo937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
215 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend with the team for a soccer tournament. I will start out by saying that the hotel was very accomadating to our rather large and loud group. Check in was fast, they had almost out entire team together (which the kids love), gave us a room for our team pizza dinner, and tolerated loud noisy kids in the halls and the pool area.

I can't comment on the "new tower rooms" as we were placed in "the traditional wing" of the building; traditional, I guess means "a bit old and tired". However, the room was relatively clean and spacious, but a bit dated with older furnishings, a small tube tv, and a bit of a worn down appearance. However, the room did have a good size "mini fridge" and the beds and linens were nice and comfy.

The pool itself was very small, and had a unpleasant green tinge to it.

The location is convienient to #400, but there wasn't a whole lot around the hotel except for a Tim Hortons just down the street.

All in all, not a bad place, but will definitly try somewhere different the next time we are in Barrie.

Room Tip: Request a tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississauga
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here for a soccer tournament. Five of us had a family studio which consisted of 2 queen beds in the main room and 1 bedroom with a queen size bed. There was a microwave and small fridge and a counter with a coffee maker. Both rooms had flat screens. Room was clean (although, like most hotels, the dusting could improve). The bathroom was very clean. Breakfast was very nice and a good variety. We went to use the pool but there were too many kids in it and it is quite small. Good location. Easy access to Hwy 400 and a minute drive up to Bayfield Road. We would not hesitate to stay here again. This was an excellent hotel for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel5Mississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here one night and were very pleased. Room was immaculate, comfortable bed, very clean hotel. Breakfast buffet included and all staff very polite and helpful Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I chose the best western hotel to get some sleep and rest during my long drive. Let's just say I was not the most satisfied person in the world!! The check in was great and went well, I got in my room and it seemed very clean but as soon as I was ready to go to sleep I got in the bed and got a strong whiff of after shave or man cologne or something of the sort from my pillows. Me being a female I knew this scent was not from me. I addressed this to the manager... Holly I believe her name was? Anyways, she was pretty rude about the whole situation leaving me no choice but to leave and never bring my business back.

Room Tip: Rooms are clearly not fully cleaned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
0.3 km away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Address: 35 Hart Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Oak is a newly renovated hotel, close to the highway and in the heart of down town Barrie. We offer a hot breakfast for all guests, or if you find your self running late we have Grab & Go bags available to take on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing