We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better ambience than carriage ridge! Love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage Hills Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Better ambience than carriage ridge! Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Eventhough this property is older than carriage ridge next door, we felt that the ambience, customer service and facilities are better here! We love the huge 2 bedroom units. It is tastefully decorated and it did not disappoint our visiting Australian friends. Clean, beautiful and the people are lovely. Also, the customers are also of a descent breed. No riff-rafts here. Very good for families with small children. My only problem with this place is that the fireplace was kept on even in the middle of summer. It is such a waste of energy!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FearlessNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    141
    39
    22
    28
See reviews for
160
111
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Have a wonderful time at this resort. We had a two bedroom villa My sister came with me and my husband It was great that she have her our apartment. The bathroom in the master bedroom was great a huge jaccuzzi tub .The villa was very clean and nice the pool was a indoor/outdoor. We travel to niagara falls about a 2 hours drive what a wonderful place also when to toronto took the subway train. Drive to yorkdale mall you can park there for free took the train for 10.00 dollar all day pass the same 10.00 dollar pass is good for the bus for all day recommend this resort to anyone comming to canada service and staff was excellent and very nice

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

make sure all the hotel as all the items you require ..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a wonderful time, we had a one bed-room apartment, it was very spacious, clean, and all facilities were there. The nature was very nice as the resort was in the middle of a forest. Resort staff was very friendly and helpful. The only drawback was that walls were very thin, we could hear everything our neighbors are saying or doing, they had 3 kids and the first nigh was a bit difficult, but things have been sorted when we told them about it and they have apologized.

Room Tip: You can ask for an upgrade, they might give it to you for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBDDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is a large resort with many different sections. I can only speak for the unit that we stayed in. This room needed to be updated, room furnishing were old and need to be replaced. There is a problem with noise at night. There were cracks in both bathroom floor tiles. The grounds are attractive. During the day the only activities available are to rent a bike or to go horseback riding, or lounge in the pool. There is little to do at night other than watch an analog television with limited channels, or pay $5.00 to rent a video. This is a very isolated resort. You will have to drive in congested traffic over a hundred miles to get to Toronto or even further to get to Niagara Falls. I drove over 400 miles to get to this resort, in hindsight there is nothing at this resort to justify the time it takes to get here and return home. There are many better resorts closer to home.

Room Tip: Stay away from the end units excessive noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepid9742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Great resort, great service, very clean rooms, amazing view - I would recommend to every one as a family fun, romantic gateway, etc

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sono1helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed for the weekend and unfortunately had bad weather but we made the most of it. The one-bedroom suite was clean, cozy and comfortable. The pool was great although we did not get any outdoor hottub time - people would not leave. The staff was very friendly. No complaints! We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellindarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Hello Travellindarlin!
Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can retry the weather and the hot tub!
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.1 km away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
21.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
18.8 km away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
18.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
21.1 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing