We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, okay complimentary breakfast & helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here on business. In short, there are no high-end hotels in Barrie, so this is a good solid choice. Check-in was quick. The room was clean and nice. The full kitchenette would be good for saving money not eating out all the time. The staff was friendly & helpful when I had questions. I would not recommend Jack Astor's across the street for food though it was recommended by the front desk. Check-out was a breeze.

Room Tip: Keep in mind they offer rooms with a full kitchenette. This would be a good choice if staying a whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParentsOfRedheadBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice in March. Rooms are not overly clean. Black marks on the tiles in the bathrooms. Dust in corners and along edges of room and furniture. Fridge had stains inside. Air conditioning/heating units are very noisy....best to leave manually leave fan on low and let air or heat cut in as necessary. Not sure how sheets are laundered but on both occassions sheets and towels had a very strong bleach odour. It's not particularly objectionable but I suspect it could cause problems for those with allergies.
Rooms are extremely quiet - even tho on the second stay we were close to the elevator and the hotel was full. Breakfast was the usual HI fare. The big difference was in the staffing of the breakfast room. On the first stay the server had her nose buried in a book and wasn't refilling empty trays. On the seocnd stay we were greeted with a cheery good morning and that alone seemed to up the quality of the food a notch.
Good accessible parking and lots of lights in the room for working and reading.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneinCollingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

WayneinCollingwood,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have been staying at Holiday Inn Expresses in Ontario as they are clean, affordable and you always have the fairly same thing at each every one. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sahayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The staff and management of the Holiday Inn Express are very accomodating. They truly care about their guests and did everything possible to make it a memorable stay. This is our second time as a group at this hotel, we always receive great service and will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midgetmajors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Been here many times. Clean, comfy, spacious. Good breakfast, great pool.

Room Tip: Second floor is quiet. Suggest staying away from first floor rooms near pool and common areas as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The hotel was a great place to stay! The front desk staff was very courteous and friendly. The room was clean and VERY spacious. There was plenty of room to relax without feeling cramped. Bed was very comfortable. The showerhead was the only thing I did not like. The service in the breakfast room was outstanding. The attendant was very friendly and hospitable. She was talking to guests and kept us updated as to when the freshly cooked food would be finished. Great service. Everything tasted great. We really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Very reasonably priced hotel. Clean, well located, nice breakfast included. Good place to stop if you want somethign reliable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grobinsongow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
5.5 km away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
0.4 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range: $124 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing