We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOUL FOOD with Vegan & GF options!”

Grilled Cheese Social Eatery
Ranked #4 of 573 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: An eclectic Eatery focusing on Gourmet Grilled Cheese. We also offer up some of the best soups and salads around. We have Vegan and Gluten Free options. We make our own Butter Tarts, Pop Tarts, Icecream Sandwiches, and Icecream Floats. Our coffee is pretty good too and we have the very best herbal teas going. You will find us in the heart of the beautiful lakeside city of Barrie! Good food! Good vibes! Good people! Good friends! Good tunes! Good karma! Good times! #grilledcheese #love See you soon!
Reviewed September 29, 2017

The food here is consistently delicious, and for a vegan like me to still be able to have a delicious grilled cheese sandwich - oh boy! More than just a restaurant, this is a funky little spot full of original art and quirky design features that can't help but spark your creativity and make you want to do good things in the world. The owner Randy has a heart of gold and donates a lot of food to the homeless in Barrie. As a customer, you also have the option to purchase a cup of coffee or a meal for someone else who comes in looking for it. There are just so many reasons to eat here: yummy food, supporting an independent, local business, helping others, and last but not least, topping up your soul with good vibes! Oh yeah, the prices are so reasonable! And the service is great too!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcybe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grilled Cheese S, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

So happy that you touched on the ''SOUL''! Along with everything else we do!
Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Namaste

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 343 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2017

I've lived everywhere from Kingston,Toronto, Lindsay and Newfoundland and I have yet to find a local business that compares to the Grilled Cheese Social.
This restaurant is a locally owned power house with gluten free and vegan options galore.
An eclectic atmosphere and friendly staff. The owner doesn't shy away from engaging with his customers. The restaurant is decorated with local art including murals, painted chairs and more created by the owners own daughter!
Lgbtq+ friendly and excellent first date material. I have always felt safe and welcomed here.
The popper with chipotle mayo is earth shattering.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 946Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grilled Cheese S, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Thanks, traveler! We take your words to heart! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017 via mobile

The sandwiches taste amazing! I am never dissatisfied at the end of my meal. The service is great and all the staff are super friendly. I love the vibe the restaurant has. The pop-tarts are amazing as well! Definitely one of my fav places in Barrie!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grilled Cheese S, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are very lucky to have so many amazing people that support us!
Much love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

For 3+ years now I have been stopping at this fantastic eatery for a quick grilled cheese before I hit cottage country. A great place to unwind from the city drive and enjoy a yummy sandwich and get me in the mood to chill at the cottage! Service and Staff continue to be friendly and quick.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grilled Cheese S, Owner at Grilled Cheese Social Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Our latest visit to the Eatery was just as good as our first, (and the 20 or so in between). Their sandwiches are inventive, made with excellent ingredients and are great value. They added a gluten-free option after I made a request, and even their drinks are great. The staff is unfailingly nice and attentive, the washroom is clean and their "suspended sandwich" program is a warm touch in the downtown core.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grilled Cheese Social Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Grilled Cheese Social Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing