We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I recently stayed at the Georgian Conference Accommodation and had a great time! We were there visiting some friends and needed a place to stay for the night. The hotel was a great choice with the spacious rooms which included a kitchen. The rooms were a great price for what you get. The staff at this hotel were all very friendly and answered any questions I had about the area and things available for use at the hotel. My check in was quick and friendly. Overall, i recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quick stop over while in Barrie.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babs s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

Booked the Georgian, knowing nothing about it, and was impressed by the quick responses to my emails, the changes made respectfully and immediately that I had requested, the fast check-in, and the cleanliness and general layout of the suite. Imagine my surprise and delight to discover that it was students running the show.

The Georgian was easy to find, the bed was comfortable, the accommodations were more than adequate, and the price was right.

Well done!

Room Tip: Some people might not want a room near an elevator -- but I didn't hear a thing and slept like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The accomodations were spacious and clean. The furniture is comfortable and the kitchenette great with full size fridge and microwave. I will stay here again next year. The price of course you cannot match for the value

Room Tip: I like the one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLYMENDELLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Use to love this place, until our last couple of times. Our most recent stay was horrible. Check in wasn't as fast as it usually was. Got to our usual 3 bedroom room and unpacked all our stuff (including food), laid down and notice a bug, moved my pillow and there were more. Called downstairs, and brought the bug downstairs to show them and they sent up clean sheets, laid down again and as I was reading saw another bug at the corner of my eye, lifted my pillow and about a dozen more were there. Called downstairs again this time they changed our rooms in the middle of the night BUT put us on the same floor. The manager came to see the next day and practically accused us of bringing the bugs in with US! She told us we had to wait for some inspector to come and check that room only later to find out they had no idea when the inspector was coming. After some research online we discovered it was bed bugs, we went through every stitch of clothing, wiped everything we had with us. So no sleep for any of us that night. End up leaving our luggage and put our clothes in garbage bags and had sent them to a laundry place to have them washed and dried in hot temperatures. Checked into a new hotel, bought new luggage ($50 ea), paid for laundry ($30 ea). After I got home I was asked to do an online survery of our stay and told them how disgusted we were and to this date no reply.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
6  Thank AugustRush2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This residence turned Hotel was exceptional. Although the staff are mostly students, I found they are very customer service orientated. I found check in very efficient and the staff on the desk were knowledgeable about the area and where to find the best family entertainment & restaurants. The housekeeping staff were extremely friendly and looked after our room very well. I would recommended this Hotel to anyone looking for a safe, clean, and reasonably priced place to stay in Barrie. From my research this Hotel was the cheapest in the area. Two thumbs up!!

Room Tip: just call and ask - they give a lot of information
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I stayed here as the conference I was attending was being held at the college so it was very convenient. I was expecting a typical hall of residence so was not put off by the concrete walls and general austerity. But my engineer husband pointed out that that they had not indicated fire exits correctly and there was no emergency exit information. However there was information on what to do in a lockdown situation!
The rooms were basic and after being in bed for a while we realised someone must have puked in it at some point as there was a really sickly smell. Then I started to feel itchy and sure enough the next day my husband had bites from what I assume were bed bugs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KB_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGuestServices2011, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2010

We truly appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns about our property, as we take all concerns around safety, cleanliness and the overall guest experience very seriously. We only wish we could have followed up in a more timely manner, as we only recently have become informed that our property had been listed & reviewed on Trip Advisor.
We do not have record or recall any concerns of the nature indicated as being expressed to our staff at anytime. Although our Summer Residence offers what you indicate as more basic amenities, by doing so we are able to offer truly affordable rates and our focus is on our service & cleanliness!! We will continue to maintain our high standards and should you choose to visit us again, please feel free to contact us directly and we would truly appreciate the opportunity to discuss and address any concerns you may have! Please accept our apologies as we fell short on our goals to provide you with the best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christine_maheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
5.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
5.3 km away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
3.1 km away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 19 in Barrie
179 reviews
7.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
8.8 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie

Address: 101 Georgian Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4M 6Z5, Canada (Formerly Georgian Conference Services)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range: $69 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From May through August, Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie offers a unique and affordable alternative to summer accommodations for the budget traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence & Conference Centre - Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing