We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carriage Ridge Resort
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was disappointing”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My family 2 adults and 2 kids arrived a bit earlier check in time, room wasn't ready, and we asked if we can use facilities, the receptionist said, yes. When we came to the swimming pool they needed our room number, and we had to leave the town to look the place to eat lunch. When we came back at 3:45 and (check in at 4pm) the room wasn't ready, and my children asked why people getting keys and we are not, I didn't know what to say... Exactly at 4:00pm the lady said that they going to give us another room because our room is not ready... I was dissapointed because it's my 6th time going back the same place and I've recommended this place about 20 people, and they visited the resort

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButterToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    110
    41
    16
    14
See reviews for
165
115
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Carriage Ridge Resort is a wonderful spot for a family holiday. It is just a short drive from the Horseshoe Valley with all its activities and close to local grocery shopping and restaurants. Resort does not have a night life scene, but there is a swimming pool and tones of activities for kids. We have stayed both in standard and one bedroom suites and loved them both. Standard room is very spacious. It has a queen size bed, queen size pullout couch, mini kitchenette and great shower facilities. If you decide to upgrade to a one bedroom suite, you will get a cozy fireplace, full kitchen with all the amenities and a Jacuzzi tab. What I love most about this resort, is not just the homey feeling we get there, but an excellent customer service. Customer service staff would exceed all your expectations. They are very friendly and always willing to help. The help is literally won phone call away. We have recently had a booking mix-up (mistake on my part) and to make us feel better we were upgraded to a bigger suite with no extra charge. It is not that common nowadays that you get rewarded for mistakes that you make

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vika_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Hello Vika_M,
We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your stay! We post guest comments for all of our staff to read and your feedback helps everyone see what a difference they make every day.
It is terrific to also learn you enjoy the Activities. In early January we added a new X-Box Kinect activity and the kids love it.
We are pleased the upgrade to the 1-Bedroom Condo-Suite helped you enjoy your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The location is great and so was the service. We really enjoyed our first time at this resort that we came back very soon.  The room was spacious and clean. The fireplace was great to warm up. Nice sleep on the kingsize bed.  And the jacuzzi was amazing. As was the heated pool and adult hot tub. The little rolling hills off our veranda was great for our toboggan with our toddlers. We will go back again and again. 

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALMSpanoudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear ALMSpanoudis,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay this season. We are delighted to hear your children were able to enjoy some snow given our season had a late start. It's not uncommon to see lots of snowangels around the resort. We hope you will visit us again very soon.
Thanks again for your time
Kind regards,
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mascouche, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband and I had rented a room at Carriage Ridge Resort for 1 night last week-end. We were stuck in a major road block (they closed the highway for several hours) on the way there and arrived at 5:00AM.
When we got to the resort the snow had not been removed and we had a hard time to find the office because it's a few kilometers away from the rooms. When we finally walked into the office, the guy at the counter just looked at us and didn't say a word, we waiting a bit and then asked him if he was the one taking care of the reservations. He told us yes and took our reservation but not before making me go to the car 3 times to get different identity cards (my husband's, mine and then the vehicle registration). We had been driving for over 12 hours instead of the usual 6 hours that it should of taken so I politely asked him if we could have an extension until 11:00 AM (their check-out time is 10:00 AM) and he told me "NO, WE ARE BOOKED". We get to our room and we are the only car parked in the parking lot; 153 rooms = 1 car, and they were booked??? the other guests must of all walked there. As soon as we get to our room, the snow removal guys decide to start the diesel engines of their 2 trucks and let them warm up for 45 minutes just in front of our room and then they start cleaning the snow and make a mountain of snow just in front of our room again, that ended at 7:30 AM so we had to hear those trucks and see the flashing lights until that time. We finally were able to fall asleep at 8:00 AM and we had to get up at 9:00 AM to be able to be out of there by 10:00 AM.
The bed was as hard as a piece of plywood, the shower was moldy, we couldn't put up the heat in the room and it was very cold and finally they had left a dirty cleaning towel on the kitchenette counter.
They say that they are in Barrie but they are 27 kilometers away from downtown Barrie, it's far from everything. The room was nice but I was really disappointed with the whole thing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Stacy411,
We apologize for the frustration you experienced at the beginning of our winter season. If you are open to contacting me, I welcome your call at your convenience.
Thank you very much
Tara
ext 2600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Needed accommodations for 2 weeks that were reasonable and allowed us to prepare our meals rather than going to restaurants. Also needed drier for skating clothing. Brought items we thought might not be supplied, but was unecessary. Pool was relaxation for our granddaughter after 8 hours of practice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I just returned from staying at Carriage Ride Resort. I will start out saying that the room was very good. Large size and the layout was great. It was clean and well kept. We really did not use any of the resort facilities other then the room itself.
The kitchen was great and allowed us to make some meals, the fireplace was a welcome device to fight off the cold weather.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
There were however 2 items that I did not like. The walls are paper thin and even at this time of year doors slamming would reverberate through the building. A door slammed would vibrate the bed. A small child running around could be heard easily and we stayed on the top floor.
The other thing was the shower head. It was in desperate need of repair or changing as it did not spray out but flowed more from one side. In defense of the resort I did not ask for anything to be done about the shower head so I do not know how it would have been dealt with. For the poor sound insulating construction, they would have no control over. I can only imagine what it would be like in high season.

If you have kids of your own and don't mind the added noise, I think you will enjoy your stay. My wife and I were looking for a quiet weekend away and it didn't work out for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We spent one week at the Carriage Ridge resort, Barrie, using our time share via RCI. Nice and clean rooms, good customer service. The rooms have self catering facilities (hob, microwave, oven), so we did not use the restaurant. Each set of rooms has an attached washing machine and drier. There is a swimming pool, small library, gym, open air barbecue facilities and numerous activities (some charged) provided.Rooms are 'serviced' by housekeeping once weekly, according to fixed muster. Off the road, one needs transport. The closest grocery store is about five kilometers and is conveniently stocked. Reliable wi-fi was provided.
Long walk path runs around the resort. Good view.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esnivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.0 km away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
900 reviews
21.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
23.2 km away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
18.5 km away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
21.1 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Ridge Resort

Property: Carriage Ridge Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage Ridge Resort in Horseshoe Valley just 1 hour north of Toronto, a four-season natural playground with rolling hills, lakes, rivers and forested trails. At Carriage Ridge Resort you’ll find all the comforts and amenities of home in a spectacular country setting. One bedroom and two bedroom condominium accommodations feature fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and jetted hot tubs, making Carriage Ridge Resort absolutely ideal for family vacations, romantic getaways and golf and ski groups to Ontario and the Horseshoe Valley. Whether you want to ski meticulously groomed trails through snow-laden forests of pine, tee off at one of eighteen area golf courses, hike or mountain bike one of several picturesque trails, or just relax at the end of the day, Carriage Ridge Resort in Horseshoe Valley is your very own base for fun and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carriage Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Ridge Hotel Barrie
Carriage Ridge Barrie
Carriage Ridge Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing