We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
12
2
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
2
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wi fi the owner ann hosts tv philippines bohol
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 16 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2018

This is a typical "mom and pop" place, as we like to say in the States. The location is nice enough, up in the hills away from the coast in a remote part of Bohol. The room was clean enough but details were lacking, e.g., TV is positioned such that it cannot be watched from the bed, burned out lights, interior windows/curtains that are awkward, no fan or window in the bathroom and, worst of all, no wi-fi in the room(after I was assured the rooms had wi-fi...)
The owner is a friendly chap, but smokes constantly, and is evidently the cook! Ha-ha...no thanks! I passed on the restaurant...
It would be a great place to stay if they fixed the wi-fi problem, hired a non-smoking cook and finished the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask about wi-fi if it's important to you.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pdxjimOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaliza P, Owner at Guindulman Bay Tourist Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thank you for taking time to write a review. unfortunately there are some inaccuracy. also in our menu it says if you have any suggestions, comments,request or complaints feel free to air them. if you had brought to the attention to the management or staff that one of the four ceiling light is not working and you had a problem adjusting the curtains. we would have responded straight away and change the bulb and adjusted the curtains.
Unfortunately you miss represented the position of our establishment. We are 60 meters from the main coast road and the road is 6 meters from the beach at that point.
Cabantian is far from being remote part of Bohol it is situated on the main road where buses run from Tagbilaran City to Ubay Port (HARDLY REMOTE)
The TV is positioned in front of a couch in the sitting area of the room.
There is a window in the bathroom it is above the toilet bowl. obviously you did not see it.
We advertise the wifi is available in a public area inside the building. fortunately when the signal is strong & normal you can received wifi connection in all the bedrooms. unfortunately the signal is weak from time to time which is out of our control like when there is a storm.
My husband Derick does not smoke constantly. You where only in his company for a very short while twice. You only book in approx. 3 pm and you left the property. when you came back you spent the evening in your room.
Derick is responsible for maintaining our 2,000 sq mt garden. He is not the cook.
I and my staff do all the cooking and We do not smoke. There for We do not need to hire a non smoking cook.
I am surprise you made all this complaints when we let you have the room for half of the normal price because you said you short of money and We were trying to be helpful.
You could have told us about your complaints instead of just walking out early in the morning the next day without even saying goodbye. How rude is that.
Thank you once again for your kind remarks and it is a shame about all your errors in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017

Brilliant.

Saw the sign a number of times whilst driving past and decided to stop and find it this time.

So glad we did.

Rooms looked really comfy, although we didn't stay overnight.

We did however have a fantastic lunch prepared at a moments notice for all six of us, without complaint.

Fantastic garden and views, and one of the friendliest places we've experienced anywhere on our travels.

If you are looking for great hospitality, sensational food and a cozy "home from home" feel, then this is a sure-fire place to stop.

Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

We were originally only going to stay here for one night, but extended our stay after being there for only a few minutes.

Amazing room with great view from balcony, comfy bed, big room, nice bathroom with great shower. Only negative remark is that there's no wifi in the room.

Be sure to go down to the bar and restaurant area, great food and even better company! The hosts are so lovely and make you feel so welcome!

Be sure to visit this place, we will definitely return if ever we find ourselves on that side of the world again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank NicoleneE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

That place is quite far from the airport and Anda beach but it’s cosy with a style and prices are very up to.
Best view is definitely from the room on the top. There is also a bathtub on the balcony.
Wi fi is quite good.
There is no air con in the apartments and for us it was very hot. Hosts said that actually other guests like to have just fresh air with open windows and no air con. Again it’s about personal likings.
Host Derek and his wife Ann are very welcoming. Derek explained everything about the place and all choices what to do and where to go.
Once you’re going to take “Chocolate hills and so on” excursion at the hotel please check all details what’s included in price and what’s not, because once we did it we found out that entrance tickets are not included and actually we paid just for transfer. That’s what our driver said to us. So check it, I think it might have been just some miscommunication in our case.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

This is truly a one of a kind lodging experience. If you want quiet seclusion this is it. I wouldn't describe it as a luxury hotel, but it is luxurious by any measure. Surrounded by mountains, palms and flowers and located a short walk from the Guindulman Bay, which is rocky but beautiful with clear waters and great for a swim. Each room is uniquely decorated with almost all the furnishings built on site. Owners are very knowledgeable and helpful with transportation and advise on things to do in Bohol. The beautiful, quiet, white beaches of Anda are about a 15 minute drive. Great restaurant and bar. Fill up the tub in the top floor suite and relax under the stars. Star gazing in Bohol is amazing.

Room Tip: The suite on the top floor with the flowing tub is exceptional
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrdwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaliza P, Owner at Guindulman Bay Tourist Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Your description of our Tourist Inn and the surrounding area is spot on and it is nice that you recognized it. Your right about the star gazing in Bohol it is stunning.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best
Anne & Derick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews