We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza, great service!”

Nonna's Cucina Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Nonna's Cucina Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 536 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Howard
Description: Nonna's Cucina Ristorante features a menu filled with exceptional pasta, gourmet pizza, incredible seafood, delicious sides and entrees of chicken, beef, and veal. Offering Burlington a source for true Italian hospitality, Nonna's Cucina Ristorante is a great choice for events of all kinds from business lunches and family celebrations to romantic evenings for two. Nonna's can help you make any occasion memorable with fabulous catering and private dining facilities.
Reviewed April 5, 2015

At Nonna's Cucina the pizzas are great but that is not all . The restaurant has 2 bars adjacent yet divided by a wall. The space is pleasant and flows from the tasting room at the back through the main dining room, the bars and finally the café and bakery.

It is like a mini complex if you will, featuring a wine bar, a full service restaurant and a bakery /cafe. As implied in the title of this review , the service is great , discrete , fast and pleasant . Now...... how about the food and wine. Every day of the week has a feature my favorite is half priced wines on Wednesday!!

The pizzas are truly great , they seem to be their own creations as they are neither Roman nor Napolitan, more something in between. The pie is firm yet very thin and not soft fluffy edges nor is it soggy in the middle. The toppings are for every taste.....

They also are very accommodating: you can't find anything that strikes your fancy.. just ask and they will find a way to satisfy the most discerning of palates. What I truly like about this place is that they didn't try to wow us with molecular cuisine and some other avant-guard concept, instead they called the restaurant "Nonna's Cucina" , Grand ma's kitchen in Italian signifying that tradition and down to earth cooking , like home cooking is available here. It is made with fresh and wholesome ingredients , the portions are generous and the atmosphere pleasant and enjoyable.

A word on the pasta and sauces : great. I couldn't sign off without talking about the hot sauce that they make right there and called what else" Nonna's"!! It 's not for the faint hearted and they sell it at the bakery , spicy and tasty.....

Although located in a suburban setting, commercial plaza type, once inside it feels like a comfortable and familiar neighborhood restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank DonEmilio2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 188 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2015

We went to Nonna's after hearing how delicious it is from a friend. We went on a Friday night and the special was lobster ravioli, market price, which I had to indulge in. It was delicious and I was asked to share my last piece with my husband, which, reluctantly, I did, but gave him the smallest half I could cut! They said that you can call ahead to see if it is on the menu, and if they have lobster, they said that they will make it for you!

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank g3family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2015

Went to Nonna's for a very late lunch. It was Tuesday and lobster is the feature. My husband loved the lobster diavolo. A whole lobster very nicely cooked served warm. Very reasonable for so much food. I had pizza a little disappointed, Margherita is a fav, red white and green instead red white and sort of green (pesto instead of basil). Nice pizza just won't have it again. Service was very good. Wine was great.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2015

We visited for our first time on Saturday, Jan 31/15 for dinner. The musician was good but was very loud - it was difficult to carry on a conversation without raising our voices. At one point we asked our waitress if she could ask him to turn it down a bit. The restaurant was packed & the people were very loud. Service was a little slow. We had to ask for our bread. The food was ok - it wasn't "wow" we definitely have to eat here again. We will likely choose to cross the border to the Olive Garden where the food is about the same quality & much less expensive. A glass of wine is ridiculously over priced.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank NEStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2015

We went out with my wife's aunt and some friends and chose Nonna's because all of the other members of our party had been there and wanted us to try it. Sometimes when there is a build up before dining there tends to be a let down when service or food quality is sub-standard in any way. This was not the case at Nonna's. Our waiter, Sasha, was phenomenal. He anticipated everyone's needs and knew what the regulars wanted before they asked. He was extremely attentive, despite it being a fairly busy night, and displayed an excellent sense of humor while fulfilling his duties as our waiter. As it was lobster night, almost everyone ordered some entree with lobster in it. Fresh bread started the meal. The bread was accompanied by garlic butter and there was no shortage of garlic. I had the lobster diablo with fettuccine alfredo, topped with parmesan cheese. The pasta was cooked perfect and arrived hot. It was a decent portion of lobster and was served with plain hot butter. My only complaint was that the garlic butter served with the bread should have likewise been served with the lobster. They have a great wine selection and we sampled two of them. Decoy and Francis Coppola were the two we tried and both were great compliments to the lobster and pasta dish. The dinner concluded with lava cake and ice cream, both generous portions. We will definitely return, as the price, food quality and service were above average.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nonna's Cucina Ristorante also viewed

Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to Nonna's Cucina Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing