We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
212
116
33
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
116
33
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basketball court great hotel separate bedroom home away from home hotel experience small kitchen sitting area industrial area easy access hot breakfast free breakfast hash browns shopping and restaurants business trip excellent stay room was spacious go train
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 390 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel but we just didn't seem to have a lot of luck with it. We had called ahead to reserve a one bedroom suite with sofabed in the living area, as we were travelling with our 8 year old son. When we arrived we were told that there were no one bedroom suites left - it seems they were oversold. We were very disappointed as that was our primary reason for booking with this particular hotel vs a Hilton Garden or alternatively, a less expensive hotel.

We were given a free upgrade to a jacuzzi suite which initially sounded great - however when we arrived at the room we discovered that it was entirely open concept with no separate bedroom (great upgrade if you're a couple alone, but who's going to use a jacuzzi bathtub with their eight year old in the room :o) As well, we all went to bed early and at about 11pm we all awoke startled at an extremely loud noise resounding in our room. Guest services came up and then told us it was the jacuzzi above us filling/running. Dear god it sounded like someone had hooked up a stereo amp to the pipes - it filled our whole room! It ran until about 12:30am i the morning and we really had very little rest that night and a very tired 8 year old the next day.

We were moved to a 1 bedroom the next day and it was much much better, however even then things did not seem to go as smoothly as I'd expect at a Hilton. A few points to note:

-we left the DND sign on our door when we left for the day as we had technology in our room and did not want maid service there while we were gone. We came back to find the sign off our door and the room had been made up anyway. I suspect they thought we were checking out and had just forgotten to move the sign back inside the door because we were changing rooms that night (however our stuff was in the room...). It very much felt like our privacy was violated.

-although a beautiful hotel, it could definitely be cleaner. There was a foreign hair in our shower and the room carpets have seen better days.

-there isn't a separate heat vs cool switch on the thermostat so if the air conditioning overcools the room below the temperature setting you've selected, the heat then immediately kicks in to bring the temperature up (rather than just stopping the air as in a normal household thermostat). Thus the radiator rotated from blowing cold air, then heat at us all night - having the heat on when it's 30 degrees outside...ick. Also, the location of the radiator is almost right on top of the sofabed, thus it blew air forcefully on our eight year old son throughout the night.

- twice when the thermostat switched itself to heat, a deep smokey smell came out of it (although there was no smoke in the room) and it set off the in room smoke detector. You can deactivate it after it goes off by hitting a switch on the wall, but it scared the bejeezus out of us both times. Thankfully it didn't go off during the night.

-lastly...I don't know if the beds are new here or not, but they are very very hard. If you like a firm bed you're good to go.

The one saving grace during our stay was the hotel staff. Heather in guest services was amazing and you can easily see that it is a hotel mandate to truly try to ensure their guests have a wonderful stay. Although she could not immediately rectify the issues we experienced, the room rates for both nights were removed to our pleasant surprise. As well the hotel is generally a great value for the services and amenities provided (free parking, Internet, breakfast etc..).

My overall concern in recommending this hotel would be that if you are a seasoned 4 or 5 star traveler, you may not experience the rest and comfort you would expect from a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette_Spaghett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWBurlington, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Stayed here for one night in a one bedroom suite. Standard Homewood decor and layout - my younger son thought we had been to the hotel before (we had but in a different city). The hallways and rooms were clean - the breakfast eating area could have been tidier - some of the tables were dirty and not bussed promptly. The included breakfast itself was very good value - waffles, egg omelettes, fruit, cereal, toast, hash browns and bacon. Rooms have a full kitchen (2 burners, no stove, microwave, fridge/freezer full height, dishwasher, sink), small eating/work table with 2 chairs, rolllaway sofabed, sitting chair, TV in each room, sink outside of main bathroom - main bathroom has toilet and shower/tub combo. Carpet in good shape, rooms well kept and neat. Some minor complaints preventing a 5 rating - basketball for sport court was underinflated and they did not anything to fill it up with air, the windows barely opened (safety catch of some kind) - about 2 inches max so had to use fan system for air.

Overall good value and a solid choice for travelling in the area - the two rooms are great to have for extra space and the kitchen is a nice touch - breakfast is a solid add-on.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonKoulouras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yyzsalesadm, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2009

We truly appreciate your excellent review. I'm particularly pleased to pass along the information you noted about our "basketball". Comments such as yours make it easier to improve on things that are important to our guests. We will be sure to have on-hand, an air pump for future. Thanks again and we hope to see you and your family again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Nice suites offered. $ 150 for two bedroom suite. What more can you ask for. absolute privacy for you and your room mate. The stay was for business. It was around 3 weeks. Best is morning breakfast and evening snacks if complimentary. Nice cosy rooms. You love it especially when its -15 to -20 outside.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PiyushJalandhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yyzsalesadm, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2009

I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. This hotel and our staff pride themselves on making guests feel "at home" when they are here. Particularly when you are staying on extended stay visits - such as the 3 weeks that you mentioned, those little touches make a long stay a little easier. Hopefully you had chance to talk to us at our evening receptions, where we try and introduce our Management team from time to time. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2009

I stayed in Homewood Suites by Hilton, Burlingtonn, Canada during Sep 2007 for 1 week on a business trip. I found the stay very comfortable.

The complementary breakfast and evening snacks were very tasty and enjoyable.

In all, I really enjoyed my stay and trip and would like to stay once again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank manjum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWBurlington, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The Homewood Suites is conveniently located next to Highway 403 next to the city line between Burlington and Oakville. It is part of a two-hotel complex with another Hilton property (Garden Inn).

The room that I was assigned had a lot of space and was designed according to the "standard" Homewood suites room design: Small, fully equipped kitchen, dining/work table, living room and separate bedroom/bathroom area. Everything was clean, well-maintained and in working order. The only thing I did not like about the room is that the AC/heating unit is right next to the bed and is somewhat noisy, even for a relatively new unit (There are two heating units one might be better off only turning on the one in the living room and leaving the one in the bedroom off at night to minimize noise).

A decent complimentary full breakfast is included in the rate and the hotel has a small shop which has frozen entrees, soups and other snack/meal items to eat in your room. The Garden Inn next door has a "traditional" restaurant so it is an option for those wanting a full meal in a nearby location.

I found the price to be a little bit high given the location but was overall satisfied with my stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWBurlington, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews