We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jake's...... always there”

Jake's Grill & Oyster House
Ranked #13 of 545 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walkers Line & QEW
Reviewed October 7, 2014

Jake's is an institution in Burlington, it has been around for over a quarter century and never disappoints.
If you want fresh oysters it is the best place to be but beyond that ... Wednesdays 3pm to closing Happy hour, an always improving happy hour menu, a family as well as guys atmosphere ... How many places could boast about that... In an age where most food and beverage places have minimum wage students strugling to survive and do their jobs, Jake's is a place of professional service by people whom have been around for awhile giving this establishment perennity .

The menu is about fish and seafood, good stuff , hearty , tasty and light. Oyster of course are my favorite staple. Wines are well priced to suit all tastes and budgets.

This is a place where you could celebrate a birthday, anniversary or bring your friends for a bite and drinks before a night out on the town.. It is versatile and comfortable suiting all tastes and budgets ...Proprietor Jamie Myers is often there greeting guests and chatting with them and so are Doug Baskott manager and his team of dedicated professionals.

Do i recommend it? a definite yes , anytime , it is fun relaxed and great food and drink will be had .... a Burlington icon it is.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DonEmilio2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 435 of 573 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2014

We went there to celebrate my wife's birthday, when we arrived the place was about 1/3 full of very very noisy patrons celebrating end of baseball season, staff was kind enough to find a place on the patio, that was fine, it was a pleasant evening weather wise - the food was very good - clam chowder could use improvement- but all in all ----good, server brought out a small cake to signify the Birthday event.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2014

This has always been a great location over the years. But it has made nice changes as well.
Best Chicago style rib eye I had in a while. Done just the way I wanted it. If you like shell fish this is also a must try place. Great service....try it.
DW

Date of visit: October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2014

Jakes is one of my favourite places. Consistently fun, great service and really good food. A casual atmosphere suitable for the whole family. Went there for Rib Fest again this year and it has become an annual tradition. Ribs were great, couldn't be the price. Thanks!

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sugarlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

I've tried jakes twice this month. First time in I tried the clam chowder...amazing, the fresh bread...also amazing, and the rib eye steak. I know it's a seafood place but they had me when they said it's cooked over a wood grill. Presentation was fantastic, unfortunately it was a poor cut of meat and it was undercooked. I ordered medium rare but it was clearly rare. I didn't put up a fuss at all but I wouldn't buy beef there again. Perhaps they are serving AA instead of AAA beef.

Next time in I had the chowder again and the calamari duo (half wood grilled half deep fried) go for the fried. Much better. The dipping chipotle sauce was fantastic. I also ordered the pan seared halibut. Very well presented and tasty.

Overall a great spot. A touch pricey especially for the steak. I'd go again but stick to the seafood.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 345dalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jake's Grill & Oyster House also viewed

 
Burlington, Ontario
 
Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to Jake's Grill & Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing