We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Worst Breakfast I ever had at a hotel. What is normally complimentary was $14 and made me sick. Hotel and room seem dated with big old Televisions. It was generally clean but had a run down feeling. Kids were running down the hallways screaming while security watched and you could hear them through the paper thin walls. Staff were friendly, but that was the only redeeming quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlheinzlipp, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Cambridge Hotel.
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast we always strive to offer our Guests the best possible product at all times, we certainly will pass on your feedback to our food and beverage team and take steps to further enhance the quality.
Since your departure we have upgraded all of our Guest rooms and outfitted them with high quality 42 inch flatscreen Televisions.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Cambridge Hotel
Heinz Lipp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

My company provides a $100/nite hotel allowance, which usually means Days Inn, Super 8, or similar properties. I try to find independent hotels with a good value wherever possible, and this place was a find. On site bar and restaurant, big room well laid out for the business traveler (big desk with lots of outlets), super clean, newer furnishings etc- the whole package, all under $100. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dleit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel after a day of hiking on the Bruce Trail.
The Cambridge Hotal and Conference Centre is a modern, well built, hotel close to Highway 401. The room I had (which is likely typical of all the rooms) was excellent. It was immaculately clean and well appointed (although there was no refridgerator).
I ate in the hotel restaurant both in the evening and for breakfast. Although my evening meal was excellent, the buffet breakfast was mediocre.
For many travellers, the hotel's location would be excellent as it is very close to Hwy.401 and shopping. Personally, I prefer a more "tranquil" location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was reading reviews and deals for area hotels and this one kept popping up. Both under high ratings and reasonable pricing.

From check-in to check-out this place was incredible. Not one single complaint. From the very pleasant receptionist at the desk, (believe her name was Merel) to all of the staff at the Bruce restaurant and bar, they were all great. The girls at the bar made sure I never had to wait for anything.

The Bruce restaurant is by far one of the best hotel restaurants I have ever eaten in. Imaginative and well prepared, a real treat, and again, very reasonable. Lots of beer choices.

I can't comment on the breakfast buffet, as I chose to sleep in until checkout. I wouldn't hesitate to try it out though, as I was already pleased with the food and service from the night before.

Although noise doesn't bother me, if it bothers you, just let them know and I'm positive they will do what it takes to make sure you have a positive stay. Ask for an upper floor in the back of the hotel. I put the do not disturb sign out but never saw a maid anyway and I checked out at 11am. Nice quiet undisturbed sleep after a long day of driving.

The only thing that could have made my stay any better, would have been a pillow top mattress which is what I am used to, however, the bed wasn't a factor in my sleeping. I still slept 10 hours straight through.

The place is very clean, spacious, modern, and quiet. For the price, it can't be beat. I have zero complaints. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I could not begin to praise the staff at the Cambridge hotel enough. I stayed for seven weeks and every single day I walked through the door the staff greeted me as though it were my first time in the door. The entire staff went above and beyond any duties they have been assigned. No doubt about that! This is not a hotel that you want to stay for just one night, as its too enjoyable. its a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: 101 Great room for sun and close to door for smoking. The suites are amazing also. They have a spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky_laurie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Clean rooms, nice looking property. Comfortable beds and room is well maintained. Stayed for 3 nights - now the bad. If you stay on the Highway 24 side the noise from trucks downshifting to get on the 401 is never ending. There are no "do not disturb" signs to put on your door. Expect the maids to start pounding on your door about 8:30. Had 5 different visits to the restaurant. Food is quite good but service was disjointed and slow. Waiters / waitresses would disappear for long periods of time. The whole restaurant is poorly run. I wanted to like this hotel but unfortunately I can't recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from highway 24 and bring your own "do not disturb" sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bannatyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlheinzlipp, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. We take all comments seriously and appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive.
We are very sorry that you did not have a positive experience with the service in our restaurant. We want you to know that this is not typical or representative of our service standards, and we will be addressing this issue with our restaurant staff immediately.
With regard to Do Not Disturb signs, all of our rooms should have these hanging on the back of the door inside the room, and we apologize that this item was missing from your room. Again, this will be addressed with our housekeeping team and measures will be put in place to ensure this does not happen again.
Thank you once more for providing us with the opportunity to improve our product and level of service with constructive feedback, and we sincerely hope to welcome you back to The Cambridge Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Heinz Lipp

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here for our kids hockey tourney. We now have a favorite hotel in the area! Great breakfast and Sunday brunch. Very accommodating for sports teams!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyninetynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
3.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
1 km away
Comfort Inn Cambridge
Comfort Inn Cambridge
#8 of 10 in Cambridge
146 reviews
0.9 km away
Sunbridge Hotel & Conference Centre Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 700 Hespeler Rd | Highway #24, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 5L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $111 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel And Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing