We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
206
81
17
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
81
17
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk sized fridge waffles two bedroom suite free laundry stove top an industrial park free dinner laundry room hash browns complimentary breakfast french toast short drive chilli sitting area we've stayed waffle maker
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 317 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Stayed here in a studio suite for one night. It is located near the highway across from an industrial park, so there is not much to do in the vicinity, but the town is a short drive away. The suite was clean, bright, spacious with a well equipped kitchen. We were impressed that the laundry room was free ( bring your own laundry detergent). We have not seen this offered by any other hotel chain. We also enjoyed the free evening snacks, chili and greek salad on this particular night. Unfortunately, you need to get there early because within 45 minutes, all the snacks were gone and they were not replenished. Breakfast buffet was average for this type of hotel. Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravel057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Had a one bedroom suite on the ground floor with two double beds. Were happy with the cleanliness and comfort. We did not use the kitchen much but everything necessary to do some basic cooking was there. Housekeeping doesn't come automatically on weekends but will if requested. Everything seemed to be in good shape and well maintained but there are a few signs of wear and tear in the kitchen area - cosmetic really. Beds were comfortable, climate controls worked well, shower head was at a level where a tall person doesn't have to crouch down to get their head wet. Staff were pleasant and efficient. Enjoyed using the pool, while it's only 4'6" at the deep end nobody goes to a hotel pool to practise diving. Breakfast was pretty good, with the usual staples including a couple of hot dishes like sausages and scrambled eggs. Staff did a good job of keeping things topped up. Decent coffee.

All in all I'd be happy to stay again. Having said that, the location is sort if in the middle of nowhere i.e. there aren't any retail (restuarant etc.) businesses in walking distance. But downtown Guelph, Elora Gorge and much more are just short drives away.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apmzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Called approx. 1 week ahead, to book 2 double rooms adjoining(connected) for 5 adults 3 children. Repeatedly asked if they had adjoining, was guaranteed yes they did. This was not a short conversation with reservations. I had tried other hotels as well and when they did not have adjoining rooms I did not book with them. But Staybridge Suites Guelph reservations, guaranteed they had two double bed adjoining rooms available for the night requested, so I booked them. Arrived approx. 7:00 pm to the desk saying no adjoining rooms available!! So ok we would have to take 2 rooms side by side or directly across the hall from each other... not available!!!! So frustrating!!! Talked to the manager, absolutely no help. I will never book them again, do not trust there reservations. Another customer who came to the check in desk says that is what happens when you try to book your room online ;(

Room Tip: Do not trust their reservation department to get you the room you want.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank lynnefromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staybridge S, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Guelph, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear Lynnfromcanada, I am sorry to hear you had to go through these issues when you were guaranteed otherwise. Unfortunately we do not have adjoining rooms in our property. Room locations cannot be guaranteed as it relies on the availability of the rooms at that time. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Very good breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds and pillows. Stayed in the two bedroom suite and it was very clean and spacious. Wifi was good everywhere. I liked having the kitchenette to heat up food.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite was large, clean and spacious
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staybridge S, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Guelph, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Lisa B, I am glade you've enjoyed the hotels' amenities during your stay. Your feedback is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

We had a very nice stay for several days at the Staybridge Suites in Guelph, and will definitely be back. The best aspects of the hotel were the room features which I will outline in detail further below, the quiet and safe location in a commercial/industrial area on the south end of Guelph, the easy access to Hwy 6 (Hanlon) and the 401, and the overall cleanliness and professional appearance of the interior and exterior of the property. It is well suited to business travellers or those who will be in the area for several days or weeks, or who want to make their own healthy home-cooked meals. As others have mentioned, on some days early in the week there's social dinner nights you can participate in. There is a free newspaper available in the lobby each day. We didn't explore the communal features of the hotel other than the breakfast area.

Room features we enjoyed in the apartment-style suite included: A living room with big screen TV, and two comfy double beds in a separate room with its own second TV and an attached ensuite bathroom. The kitchenette featured a full-sized fridge, microwave, stovetop with 2 burners, a sink, a dishwasher, and the necessary pots/pans/dishes/cutlery. Mealtime seating was a bar-type extension of the kitchen counter, a bit like an island. We found that little to no hallway noise came into the room, or noise through the walls, which was a VERY nice change from some other hotels we've stayed at! The elevator wasn't slow (slow or no elevators can be an issue at some properties). Windows could even be opened a small, safe amount!

Although we didn't deal with the staff much, the few interactions we did have were pleasant, professional, and efficient. Check-in was nice and fast too.

The only issue we ran into at the hotel during our stay is on Friday morning when we went down to try breakfast at around 9:35-9:40am, all the drink dispensers were bone dry (we didn't try the coffee one), and the hot food (ham slices, and egg omelette things) was picked over and almost gone, and not going to be replenished. There were sufficient and varied cold food options though. Another man arrived after us to even less to choose from. Breakfast is supposed to be available until 10, so we were a little disappointed. Thankfully, we had plenty of healthy drinks up in our room. It would be great if they served breakfast sausages and bacon sometimes (based on other reviews, I think they do vary the breakfast menu somewhat). Just be aware that going in the last half hour of breakfast *may* result in slim pickings of hot items and drinks.

Because the hotel is away from downtown and in a commercial/industrial area, there isn't much you can walk to, although there are shopping plazas walking distance away (for those into medium to long walks). I'm not sure if buses run or stop near the hotel or not.

This is an excellent quiet, professional hotel to stay in if you're going to Guelph! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erin_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staybridge S, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Guelph, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear Erin_Globetrotter, I am thrilled to know you've enjoyed your stay at the Staybridge Suites Guelph. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your stay. We wish to see you again while visiting Guelph.

Marwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews