We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Guelph”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Guelph”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I have lived in Guelph for 10 years and I'm a professor at the University which is directly across the street from the Delta. This is the ONLY good hotel in Guelph, and the only place I book for visiting scholars and lecturers. This is not a 5-star hotel, but it's brand new, professional, the rooms and hotel are sleek. The rates are good as well. There is a first rate B&B in Guelph also called Norfolk Guesthouse, but otherwise, Delta is the best place in Guelph, especially for visitors at the University. Keep in mind though that the Delta is not a downtown hotel -- it is about a 5 min cab ride to downtown. There is a shopping mall about a 10 min walk away, or 2-3 min cab ride. There is a little strip mall about a minute walk away -- Cora's is an excellent place for breakfast, lunch or brunch.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGURev, Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for your review of the Delta Guelph. It’s always nice to see when we have made enough of an impression on a guest that they recommend us to their coworkers. The close proximity of the hotel to the University would be a great advantage to any VIP’s that have business there. We hope to continue to offer the same level of service that you’re use to and you’ll continue to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    114
    25
    10
    9
See reviews for
81
73
23
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Pros:
clean
comfortable
friendly

Cons:
confused with the parking lot / hotel entrance at night
room lighting was not easy

I was satisified with my stay, for the purpose of a quick overnight business trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGURev, Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for writing a review of your stay. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Customer service is important to us at Delta and we like to know when we have made a good impression. I hope that you will consider us on your next visit to the area or any other time you are staying where one of our hotels is located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed here as we were in town for a wedding. No complaints at all. And, the buffet breakfast in the morning was super tasty!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gr8ServiceIsKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGURev, Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your review of the Delta Guelph regarding your recent stay. I was happy to see that your stay was problem free and allowed you to enjoy the wedding you were in town for. Hopefully we will see you again the next time your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel is way over rated. They did try to fix the situation but when a manager asked how our stay is was and we indicated poor due to a number of issues and they didn't follow-up with 2 complaints. I have to figure the training program must be different at this hotel vs others. Our other guests had similar experiences. Best of Luck.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicago4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGURev, Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I apologize about the unsatisfactory situation you encountered. Customer satisfaction is very important to us at the Delta Guelph and we like to do all we can for our guests. I’m sorry that our offer of a significant discount to the room rate did not satisfy you on this occasion. But hopefully you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here one night during the Thanksgiving weekend. The stay was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I could open the windows of my room which was a pleasant change. Bed was super comfortable. The only drawback, however, was the 10 dollar parking fee. The parking lot was virtually empty so I don't really understand why this charge was levied.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pxb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGURev, Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay. I was glad that you enjoyed your time during the holiday weekend and the staff were able to make you feel at home even when your not. I do understand your concern with the parking charges, the reason is the other business in the area also charge for parking so we need to as well in order to avoid non-guests from filling the parking lot. Hopefully we will see you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We have stayed at the Delta Guelph 3 times now - when our son was 16 months, 2 years, and now 3 years, each time to visit friends. We will continue to return.

We have stayed in deluxe suites twice, and a corner suite once. Having a separate room for our son means everyone sleeps better. There is little difference in terms of space between the two - they are just laid out differently. The corner suite we were in (501) has a bathroom with 2 doors- a pocket door that opens to the bedroom, and another door that opens to the hallway near the main door, and this helped us move around the suite when our son was asleep. The bedroom in the corner suite seems a bit smaller, but it's not a huge difference.

Otherwise, the kitchen area, while small, has always been helpful for us with our son. Room darkening curtains work well (important for naps). All 3 rooms we've been in have been quiet.

Service is great. We somehow managed to leave our son's stuffed animal in the restaurant, and they promptly noticed and brought it to our room.

We use room service for some of our breakfasts, and it's always been there quickly, and is nice and hot.

The location is great for us - a grocery store nearby, plus lots of other stores for the things we inevitably forget. The mall is just down the road.

All in all, it's been very reliable over 2+ years and 3 visits.

The only things that are worth noting as "negatives" - while there is an exercise room, there is no pool, nor is there any access at the Athletic club for the under 16 crowd. The small shop in the lobby is not that useful, but it's not a big deal as everything you need is a 2 minute drive away.

We'll be back the next time we come to visit our friends!

Room Tip: There is not much difference between corner suites and deluxe suites in terms of size - the layout i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCGKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGURev, Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your past stays at the Delta Guelph. I was happy to see that you have had several stays at the property and each time has been a memorable one. I hope that the small negatives you encountered were not enough to change your opinion of the hotel or Delta in general. Thank you again for choosing the Delta Guelph while staying in the area and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Good service, excellent room and great price. Perfect fitness centre. Only minor issue was iron and ironing board not doing the job, but better after the iron was replaced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejack45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGURev, Manager at Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thank you for writing a review of the Delta Guelph from your recent stay. Hopefully the issue with your iron not working is the only inconvenience that you encountered. I hope that you will consider Delta the next time you in the area or any other time you’re in a city with one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guelph hotels
4.0 km away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
6.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 50 Stone Rd W, Guelph, Ontario N1G 0A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guelph
#5 Family Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built to meet the needs of business / leisure travelers and local companies looking for larger meeting and banquet venues, the new Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre, a 148 deluxe room hotel, at the corner of Stone Road and Gordon Street. Located in the 12-hectare University of Guelph Research Park, across from the University of Guelph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Guelph
Guelph Delta
Delta Guelph Hotel And Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing