We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you would expect for a Sheraton property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Hamilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Nl Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect for a Sheraton property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton hotel on King Street in Hamilton from April 13th through the 19th. The location of the hotel makes you want to stay inside as it is in a really seedy neighborhood. First I was put in one room but noticed the desk had something spilled all over it and there was even hair matted into it. I hadn't even had my coat off when I noticed this so I called down to the front desk and they moved me pretty quickly. The walls are so thin that I could hear the TV on in the next room and even was awakened in the morning by someone else's alarm clock.
The air conditioner in the room was so loud it would wake me up everytime it cut in. The room was ok but the carpet in the corridors were all unravelling and needed to be stretched as it was like waves. I had to stay at this hotel for work but have to say I will try to find something other than this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goneagain50_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for sharing matters from your week long hotel stay with us. I would like to personally apologize for this unacceptable experience. Please contact me at your convenience as your complete satisfaction is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    237
    98
    44
    30
See reviews for
128
125
41
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
COLUMBUS
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at Hamilton Sheraton for three nights.
Pros: next to Hamilton Centre which was where we attended a weekend event. Rooms recently renovated. Good value for $ and location.
Cons: Limited "good"eateries. Crepe place just inside mall is ok for breakfast. Three Tim Hortons nearby (1 in the mall attached to the Sheraton but not open early on weekends). We drove to eat a nice dinner (note lots of oneway streets, but easy to navigate in Hamilton). Mandarin has the best Chinese (and it is not limited to Chinese) buffet we had ever seen, which is about a 10 min. car drive away.
Parking: You can park in the parkade under the hotel...tight vertical spacing but really access was easy.

Room Tip: There is a balcony patio area off the 3rd floor....so you could request it or request to avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annaplois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thanks for your 4-star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Check in was easy. I was disappointed when I opened the door to my room as it smelled like a bar. The was the odour or stale cigarette smoke. I had a chuckle when I read the notice that all rooms are smoke free and I could be charged 240 bucks if I did! I don't know what they do with the money but it didn't seem to be used to remove the odour.

There is only one latch on the door which didn't make me feel so safe but I was only there for one night.

I decided to order room service and found a paper, very used and wrinkled copy on the desk. The food was good and the service was prompt.

There are no safes in the rooms. This is unusual for a business hotel.

The Internet in the room is not wireless and it will cost you 10 per night! Again this is not really acceptable for a business hotel.

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was standard. The lobby, restaurant and lounge were nice.

I don't think that the hotel is worth the price even though it is downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUERTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Your feedback is valuable to us – Thank you! Our goal is to provide a comfortable and restful stay to all guests. It’s true we expect to provide a 100% smoke free environment - you absolutely should not have stayed in a room that was not comfortable. I do want to mention that all guest rooms have wired and wireless internet too; safes are available at the front desk (understandable not the same as having in-room convenience); and all guestroom doors have a door handle activate deadbolt and more noticeably a secondary latch locking device. Thanks again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Sheraton for one night while I was in town for the Around the Bay Road Race. The property was reasonably well maintained, the customer service was excellent and the location couldn't be beat. It is almost attached to Copps Coliseum and is connected to a mall.

I stayed in a King room with a friend and had a good night's sleep. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite spacious. Upon our arrival, we found hairs on and in the sink and on the floor. We were not very impressed with the housekeeping but it could have been an isolated incident.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again based on its good location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trigirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for sharing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Best Location in town. I would rate the hotel a 3.5 stars. I attended a function at the Hamilton convention center which is across the street and connected via a walkway above the road. The hotel is downtown and is connected to 2 Malls, the public Library, Farmers market, Copps Coliseum(arena), 6 cinemas and several eateries.
I stayed 4 nights in a club room with access to the club lounge. The room was larger than the average hotel room(but same size as the other rooms in the hotel) with a very nice walk in shower but not enough lighting in the bathroom. The room was clean but lacked a safe and a small fridge. The free 2 water bottles were appreciated. It was good that there was a recycling bin in the room. Large 42 inch TV had a problem that maintenance could not fix and the hotel was full so they were not able to move me to another room.
Parking was reasonable at $10 per night. Internet was included in the club room otherwise there would be a charge. The lounge had 4 different type of newspapers free to take. They served a decent hot and cold breakfast and a light lunch between 5:30 -7:30pm. Soft drinks/tea/coffee were available 24 hours. Alcoholic drinks were served at a cost. Oddly no ice was available in the lounge, you would have to leave and find the ice machine to get ice. The enclosed pool on the 3#rd floor terrace was lovely with a useful fitness center.
The reception staff were friendly and very helpful.
I will be coming back next year but probably stay in a standard room.

Room Tip: The club level rooms are probably not worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZingerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for the excellent details in your review. We look forward to welcoming you again when you’re back in Hamilton next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is very nice, the upper lobby lounge is a great place to start or end the day. The location is right downtown Hamilton, and attached to a nice big indoor mall that has a food market, huge library, movie theatres, lots of stores and restaurants. There is a skywalk from the upper lobby to the Convention Centre across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thanks for the 5-star review! Love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We sleep at this hotel every year during the Around the Bay road race week-end. It's the host hotel and is centrally located. The beds are amazing and the room very luxurious. The staff is very helpful and check-in goes quickly. The only thing we dislike is that he elevator can get very busy on race morning and if you use the stairs the alarm rings when you exit! There is no way to get out of the hotel by stairs without setting the alarm.... The internet also isn't free which is a bit annoying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thanks for staying during one of the city’s biggest events. I agree, our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds are the best there is. While it is true, the stairwell exits from our 18 story building do have audible alarms. The alarm notification alerts our security to ensure non hotel guests don’t gain access to the building. Guest safety is always our number one priority. Next year, feel free to exit though. Good luck in the 2013 race!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hamilton Hotel

Property: Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Address: 116 King Street West, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 4V3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Downtown Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Hamilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel is near Copps Coliseum, the Hamilton Convention Centre, Hamilton Place, Standard Life office tower, and government offices. Our hotel is between Toronto and Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel Ontario
Hamilton Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing