We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good/Ok place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton
Reviewed 28 August 2017

As many said, it seemed a college dorm and available when student were not there or the school was not in semesters. Pros: Two rooms & a small (basic) kitchen with one room price in a hotel; good bed condition, a TV in each room; high-speed (literally) Wifi; generally quiet. Cons: Feeling in a really basic place; A/C or heater in the unit was not working as expected and noisy (so, we had to not to use it). Each room bed was not big; so, if your group has more than two adults, this place will not work well. In summary, it was good for the price.

Room Tip: Bed in each room is not bog. So, if your group is with more than two adults, it may not work well ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hogu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Stayed for a week.

This is basically a college dorm. If all you need is a bed and bathroom, this may work for you. The bed was comfortable, the facility is tired, low quality, but clean. The towels do the job but are the cheapest, thinest, small towels I've ever seen. They provide conditioning shampoo, bar soap, plastic cup, tp, and towels. They clean and replenish each day. Good free internet. Free parking.

Their website claims you can get from the front desk hair dryers, water heating kettle, kitchen cooking tools (for use in the common kitchen). But of course when you need one, there isn't one because all 4 hair dryers that they have are checked out. Why are there only 4 hair dryers for 150 rooms?

Some of the front desk staff were rude when asking for a hair dryer or other item.

When asking for pots and pans, we were able to get one small frying pan, one small pot (no medium or large available) and a spatula, for which you are sometimes rudely told to bring it back immediately after using it. No utensils or cutting knives. You will need to go buy plates, bowls, utensils, salt, pepper, etc. etc. etc. The kitchen has one stove.

If there were an adequate supply of kitchen tools, hair dryers, irons, etc, and if all staff were at least not rude, then I would rate it higher.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CAtraveler2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Stayed here for a short conference with a few hundred other people during the summer -- initial impression of the room was not that great. Cinderblocks and flourescent lighting didn't feel very inviting. Nonetheless, the bed was comfortable for a good night's rest after a long day. (My room was split into 2 bedrooms, each bedroom with a double bed) Overall, quite clean and comparable to as a basic hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AMLook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I wrote an email to managerial staff at the conference about a concern I had with one of there front desk employees after a very unpleasant interaction (arennison@stayrcc.com, jhotze@mohawkrez.ca) I did not ever hear from either of them. A simple reply stating 'We thank you for your concern" would've gone a long way.

In regards to the incident that I encountered... the last was extremely curt and abrasive with her answers. What was most disrespectful was her body language; she failed to make any eye contact with me and displayed a harsh positioning with her arms being crossed, and continuing to complete her other tasks. I was applaud to see an employee of any company act in such a manner and am shocked and disappointed to have been treated in such a way.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa R, Front Office Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Michael -

Our sincere apologies regarding the e-mail communication and interaction with our front desk staff. We had followed up with the staff member in question regarding the situation in May when we received your correspondence, though the reply had been missed in error. Our General Manager will be following up directly with you immediately. Again we apologize for the missed communication as this does not reflect the level of service we strive to provide to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Nice room friendly staff, clean rooms. Loved the big fridge and microwave. Beds were a bit hard and small but liked the seperate bedrooms. Our second nice was not great as there was a large group of young people that were hanging out in the halls. Our room was across from the lounge which was nice during the day for our kids but made for a noisy night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Reynold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

The best thing about the room is that there are actually two bedrooms, with a common room, with kitchen. Spacious and clean. But the place is so no-frills that it's a bit ridiculous. You have a full kitchen with zero utensils, cookware, plates, or glasses. (You get plastic cups in wrappers.) Surprisingly, they supply some soap and shampoo, but that's it. No iron or hairdryer etc. Each bedroom has its own TV. AC, which is great (though it's controlled for both bedrooms from one of the bedrooms). It's far from anything, if you don't have a car. Price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndrewTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa R, Sales Coordinator at Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all reviews into consideration when upgrading our service offering. Hairdryers and irons/ironing boards are available at the Front Desk, along with pots and pans to use in the common kitchen. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with friends while on a weekend road trip to check out local breweries and do some waterfall hikes around Hamilton and Burlington.

The residence is fairly basic, no-frills accommodation, but was clean, private and comfortable. It is about a 5 minute drive from downtown Hamilton.

It was great value to have two separate bedrooms, a private bathroom and kitchenette for the price. We would otherwise have been paying double the price at a hotel downtown and sharing one bedroom.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lilcals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyssa R, Sales Coordinator at Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your review and for letting guests know about some of the fun things to do around Hamilton. We do our best to provide the best value to budget conscious travelers and are pleased that you found the accommodations convenient during your trip. Have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton

Address: 245 Fennell Ave W, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 7V7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Hamilton
Price Range: C$90 - C$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Residence and Conference Centre - Hamilton, located on the Mohawk College Fennell Campus! Our spacious two-bedroom suites are available May through August each year. All 171 suites at the Residence feature two private bedrooms (double bed, TV & desk in each bedroom), kitchenette (full size fridge & microwave), and three piece washroom. Rates include complimentary parking, local calls, basic cable TV, wired internet access in all our suites (Ethernet cords available at the Front Desk) and Wi-Fi in the main lobby. Onsite amenities include: -laundry facilities ($2/load) -Gas BBQ & picnic area -common kitchen with 2 ovens -Movie Lounge with real theatre seating for 30 (must bring own DVD's or laptop with USB to plug into TV) -Games Room with ping pong table, pool table, TV & seating -onsite meeting & event spaces available for rent -Housekeeping with full linen service (including towels) -24 hour front desk -smoke & pet free facility The Residence is a comfortable and affordable accommodation alternative in Hamilton - offering clean, spacious suites for summer travellers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence & Conference Centre - Hamilton Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing