We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier”
Review of Visitors Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Visitors Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Chose this property for a quick overnight visit in Ancaster. Convenient location relative to Ancaster. Got an internet rate that couldn't be beat.

No criticism at all...easy to find, ample free parking, well appointed and clean room, good amenities, good wifi, friendly staff and a continental breakfast (to be discontinued as of Nov 1).

Criticisms in other reviews were not an issue. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricRT, General Manager at Visitors Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, and share your positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Visitors Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016

We needed to be in Hamilton for several days, but couldn't afford the high end chain hotels downtown at over three hundred per night. We found the Visitors Inn at a far more reasonable rate, offering comparable amenities to the chain hotels but with free parking!

Our room was on the ground level at the back, affording us a private entrance to our room. No walking all the way up thru the lobby and out to the parking lot....super convenient.

The room was well appointed with King bed, modern comfortable chairs, desk with portable work station, bar fridge and Keurig coffee machine. Bathroom is updated as well. The room was cleaned daily and we felt perfectly comfortable and safe at this property. There is a modern digitally accessed safe for your valuables.

There is an indoor pool and hot tub that we were looking forward to using but the chlorine odor was so strong that we couldn't stand it. We chose to skip that.

I'd definitely recommend this as a very reasonable alternative to overpriced chain hotels in the area at a fraction of the cost!

Room Tip: Ground floor back rooms have outside doors as well as hallway access.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricRT, General Manager at Visitors Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay, and hope that you will return in the future. It is very unusual that the pool had a chlorine smell, since we only use bromime, which should have much less of an odor. We will make sure to correct that problem.

Thank you again for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

As I always said Don't judge a book by its cover, As soon as we walk in we were surprised how clean this hotel was. Room awesome clean with comfy beds. Best Hotel we've stay in Canada so far, Oh and WiFi amazing fast :)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mdhotrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricRT, General Manager at Visitors Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for your great review!
We will pass on your compliments to our hardworking housekeeping staff.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Visitors Inn Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

it seemed like a great spot. I checked in, parked, unloaded and let my small cocker spaniel dog walk into the room. next thing the phone rang in the room - i guess hotel staff saw the dog and so they said "sorry - strict no pet policy". my bad - I should have asked - but i did check the website before booking and so nothing re no pets. So I stayed a total of 2 minutes in the room. and was charged $69 for the privilege - they said they would need to shampoo the carpet. the place is right beside the 403 and so very loud with highway traffic. next time I'll specifically ask re pets - but these guys cut me no slack. most expensive place I've ever stayed in ever in the world. ($69 for 2 minutes)

Room Tip: there are some drive up rooms which is nice - but they are next to the 403 highway
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lance381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricRT, General Manager at Visitors Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

When you travel with a dog, it is your responsibility to ask if the hotel will allow pets. Most hotels do not allow pets, and those who do allow pets have a pricey "cleaning fee" as a condition. We do not allow pets, there is a sign at the front desk which clearly states our policy. All of our online booking sites also post our "no pet" policy. You were in the room for 20 minutes, with your dog. Unfortunately we could not rent that room again that night or the next day. The room needed to be deep-cleaned, including steam cleaning the carpets. You were supposed to be charged the full rate, to compensate for the extra cleaning, but the front desk agent gave you a break and only charged you $69.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Don’t get confused seeing the hotel from the outside, you will be amazed how beautiful it is inside.
The staffs were polite and helpful, friendly too! The room and the bathroom was and spacious making my stay very comfortable. Food at the restaurant was also good.
The lower floors were somehow noisy, but it’s understandably near the highway.
would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank coachdevonlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricRT, General Manager at Visitors Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The room was nice and being able to park our car right in front of the room was convenient. The breakfast included was poor. Location far from the venue for concerts but was the best available. I would stay there again but pass on the food.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet. It was at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anabella2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricRT, General Manager at Visitors Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the hotel facilities, and hope that you will return. Sorry that the food was not satisfactory. We have already implemented changes that will improve the dining experience. I hope that you may give it another chance.
Sincerely,
Visitors Inn Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Warm welcomed and be able to get a slightly early check inn. The room very comfortable clean tidy and new. Pool very good with towels etc. Hotel light and airy. Evening meal at restaurant was good a reasonably priced. Breakfast a bit chaotic as staff rushed and not organised I had to help myself to juice after a long wait, food was slow and coffee ran out fast. Others appeared disgruntled too and more impatient than we were. In general a good hotel and I would stop there again, though you need transport to get to down town or the water front.

Room Tip: Away from main road, boy racers at night.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrks573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricRT, General Manager at Visitors Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for your review. Your comments are very helpful to improve our service to our valued guests. We are now implementing changes that should make breakfast a more efficient and pleasant experience.

Sincerely,
Visitors Inn Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hamilton
701 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#8 of 20 in Hamilton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Downtown Hamilton
Hamilton Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visitors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visitors Inn

Address: 649 Main St W, Hamilton, Ontario L8S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $150 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visitors Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Luxurious and affordable". Our array of exceptional accommodations includes 60 tastefully appointed guest rooms featuring all queen and king size beds, Kitchenette rooms, Special Jacuzzi Suites, and Two-Bedroom Family Suites. An extensive list of in-room amenities including: Flat Screen TV’s, cordless telephones, FREE WiFi, individually controlled heat/AC units, coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, fridges, cable & satellite TV, free local calls, personal safes, hairdryers, alarm clock radios, complimentary newspapers and more. Unwind, relax and enjoy our beautiful indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, and exercise room. Other features include Paparella's Restaurant, Conference facilities, and plenty of free parking. Conveniently located minutes from McMaster University/Hospital, and Downtown Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Visitors Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visitors Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn Hamilton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing