We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Burnt Tongue

Burnt Tongue
Ranked #14 of 1,243 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Soups
Restaurant details
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

A friend introduced me to this Hamilton institution. What a treat! Soups are made fresh daily and are delicious, burgers looked great and the classic grilled cheese was perfect. Staff is very friendly. Take out option is available. Small dining room but staff very efficiently clears tables and seats waiting patrons. A very enjoyable experience.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank KevinFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    51
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing soup”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We dropped in at this great little restaurant for lunch and we were glad we did. The variety and taste of the home made soups were amazing. From the porcini mushroom, to the pork short rib and beet soups they were all packed full, seasoned to perfection and very tasty. We coupled it with a thick grilled cheese sandwich and had food left over to take home.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Dine_with_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liquid diet”
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Fast and healthy if you pass on the fries. But don't pass on the fries, or the mayo. Love the kale Casesar salad. Try to hit the place outside of rush hours. It's popular with good reason.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LBret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soups on”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Burnt Tongue offers a tremendous number of soup options everyday. Regardless of what you order it will be top notch. To my delight a second location has opened on Locke street and continues to feed and satisfy hungry Hamiltonians. A terrific achievement that I recommend.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank MatthewDaniel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than just Soup”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

It has been on my list of restaurants to check out and the wonderful staff at the Burnt Tongue did not disappoint. They are known for there soups 'homemade' on site. I had the carrot squash soup and it was delicious. They change the soups each day and offer burgers and frites. Vegan, celiac friendly and dairy free opinions are available. Located in the heart of the Super Art Crawl District. I love the upcycled furniture and decor. If you find yourself on James Street North I recommend you find this humble restaurant and fill your belly at a reasonable price.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burnt Tongue also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Burnt Tongue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing