We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for lunch!! Lots of choices that change daily.”
Review of Burnt Tongue

Burnt Tongue
Ranked #14 of 1,243 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Soups
Restaurant details
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great option for lunch!! Lots of choices that change daily.”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

There are 2 locations of Burnt Tongue and I have only been in the one on Locke Street. The grilled cheese was yummy and we could not decide which soups to pick so we pick the smaller size and went with four. ( There were 2 of us) We enjoyed them so much that we do a girls lunch every 2 weeks and we make sure the Burnt Tongue is our every other week stop. Soups come with a side and you can eat in or take out. On a few occasions I have had to take family to the hospital and i drop them off and pop over to the Burnt Tongue and get lunch for everyone. Much better than anything offered at the hospital. The soups are made daily and change so be prepared that they may have totally different options when you go back. I see people ordering burgers and they look and smell good but we take out the soup as it is delicious and easy as a Take -Out option.

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlpn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    51
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

A friend introduced me to this Hamilton institution. What a treat! Soups are made fresh daily and are delicious, burgers looked great and the classic grilled cheese was perfect. Staff is very friendly. Take out option is available. Small dining room but staff very efficiently clears tables and seats waiting patrons. A very enjoyable experience.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank KevinFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing soup”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We dropped in at this great little restaurant for lunch and we were glad we did. The variety and taste of the home made soups were amazing. From the porcini mushroom, to the pork short rib and beet soups they were all packed full, seasoned to perfection and very tasty. We coupled it with a thick grilled cheese sandwich and had food left over to take home.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Dine_with_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liquid diet”
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Fast and healthy if you pass on the fries. But don't pass on the fries, or the mayo. Love the kale Casesar salad. Try to hit the place outside of rush hours. It's popular with good reason.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LBret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soups on”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Burnt Tongue offers a tremendous number of soup options everyday. Regardless of what you order it will be top notch. To my delight a second location has opened on Locke street and continues to feed and satisfy hungry Hamiltonians. A terrific achievement that I recommend.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank MatthewDaniel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burnt Tongue also viewed

 
Hamilton, Ontario
Hamilton, Ontario
 
Hamilton, Ontario
 

Been to Burnt Tongue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing