We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular! Huge meals, good prices!”
Review of Black Forest Inn

Black Forest Inn
Ranked #7 of 1,243 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Grimsby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very popular! Huge meals, good prices!”
Reviewed 16 March 2017

It's been a staple of the Hamilton downtown since 1967 and people have been coming from miles around to dine here! A popular weekend dining spot for a lot of families it is quite popular! As you can see from the reviews below you might have to wait sometimes, but let me assure you it is worth the wait! The traditional German/Austrian decor makes you feel like you're in Europe along with the waitress in dirndls. A great place for a whopping big schnitzel dinner that will leave you rolling out of your chair after haha. So go early and grab a seat and enjoy folks!

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dougman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    204
    60
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A part of Hamilton”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

When I was a child use to go here with my parents . Am 53 now and still enjoy going as much as I did 40 years ago .
The food is always good very consistent which is so important the place is well kept and clean .
The staff our wonderful especially Roz and Julie both amazing waitresses . Hope the owners know how lucky they are to have these ladies as employees .
If I had one suggestion for the black forest is give the place a face lift is a bit dated .

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank 331jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food but must be patient.”
Reviewed 9 March 2017

The food here is excellent and a lot of it for a very reasonable price. The only problem is you must wait quite a while to be seated and served. The last two times I went here I had to wait two hours before being seated.

  • Visited January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _crogan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expectations were high”
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Had high hopes. Is an "old world" feel to it inside, very attentive servers in German costume.
Beer was great. Cabbage rolls were so so bland, soup average, schnitzel was good but not great. Also had a Bavarian sausage which was wonderful. Waitress was great.
Overall a good meal, cheap. Is a great deal.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New ownership and still great”
Reviewed 7 March 2017

It was my birthday on Saturday so my wife took me out to the Black Forrest for dinner. The restaurant has changed ownership since our last visit so we were curious if much had changed. I am happy to say that the quality & portions have remained the same there have been some minute additions to the menu but overall everything is just fantastic. And even the prices didn't change.

So if you looking for European style food in Hamilton I recommend going to the Black Forrest.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Forest Inn also viewed

 
Dundas, Hamilton
 

Been to Black Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing