We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Kingston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Hotel In Kingston”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Very surprised with the upscale check in and lobby.
Staff very pleasant

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
I’m so glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised during your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    165
    40
    14
    20
See reviews for
179
125
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Great little hotel , comfortable stay and staff was friendly & helpful especially Marc (front desk). Breakfast was good enough to keep us going thru lunch. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It’s always great to hear positive feedback about our staff. I’m so glad that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We’d love to have you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We pre- booked this hotel directly for a gov't rate as my husband is a gov't employee. When we arrived, the rate had been upped by $36/night. When I asked to speak to the manager, she came out and rudely tried to explain her thoughts. We were denied this pre-booked rate and were treated VERY rudely by the manager. When our other party arrived later, the manager hid!! This is a terrible reflection on this hotel and we will not even inquire about this hotel again. We booked at the Courtyard where EVERYONE was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marchbreakneeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We apologize for your experience and misunderstanding regarding your reservation. We value our Government travellers and do offer our great rates based on the guidelines provided in the official Government accommodations directory program. We will be taking the necessary steps to prevent this behaviour and ensure that we continue to provide excellent customer service. Please contact me directly as we would like the opportunity to make this right. customerservice@diamondhotels.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in a room with two queen beds. The first room I stayed in felt a bit tight for two beds, there was no space really between the foot of the bed and the tv/dresser and the table/desk. The second week I was in a room on the same floor however it was so much more spacious, even the entrance area was much larger than the first room.
Pros:
This hotel is fairly new (a couple years old I think) so all the décor is modern and nice, the rooms are nicely appointed especially for what I would envision a Holiday Inn to be like. The room had a mini fridge and a microwave.
There is complimentary wifi which for the most part was pretty fast and I didn’t have any issues connecting to the wifi.
There is complimentary breakfast – it’s not the greatest but it’s free and for me it was fine for grabbing a muffin, cinnamon bun, yogurt or fruit. I didn’t dare to try the hot items as they didn’t look that appetizing.
The staff are friendly here. Nice touch to get a bottle of water and granola bar upon check in. Especially after a long drive.

Cons:
Gym is tiny - not much space to work out if there are others in the gym (which there always were when I went)
I was on the 5th floor and there were some nights that the traffic was really loud - I experienced this when I had a room facing the highway and Benson. I also could hear my neighbours chatting on several occasions.
The hotel is located near the 401 and it is about 4.5km to downtown Kingston. Though there are restaurants within walking distance to the hotel, they are all the chain type restaurants and fast food places. Most of the good restaurants in Kingston are located downtown. It’s not a far drive but a bit of a pain compared to staying at a hotel in the downtown (the ones downtown I was willing to stay in were full).
The lighting in the room was TERRIBLE. Impossible to get work done unless you want to work in the bathroom which is the only place that the lights were bright enough to read.
Overall I’d recommend this hotel however I would try and book at a hotel in downtown Kingston first if it were as new/nice as this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsl_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is only 2 years old and located in an extremely convenient location just off the 401! You are correct, there are many well known restaurants and stores within walking distance and it’s just a short trip to downtown Kingston. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and please never hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the first time on a family sports weekend and were pleasantly surprised at the friendly and excellent service. All the staff--front desk, maid service, breakfast staff-were very helpful and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.
It is conveniently located just off the 401 and close to restaurants and outlets as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind words about our staff. Providing exceptional customer service is our number one priority and I’m pleased that we exceeded your expectations in this regard. I hope that you had a successful family sports weekend and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Kingston. Easy to find, close to the 401. The hotel was clean and it was close to everything in Kingston. Excellent friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLKayser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
It’s so wonderful to hear that you had a pleasurable stay with us. We look forward to providing you with another exceptional stay on your next visit to Kingston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time, last September 2011, on business. It's now my choice of hotel everytime I'm in town. ( at least once a month) It is conveniently located just off the 401. The newly renovated rooms are great, clean, with neutral, modern decor. They offer firm or soft pillows. The front desk employees are efficient, VERY accomodating, professional, friendly and VERY helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Kingston.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for your glowing recommendation. We deeply value your continued business and it is our pleasure to provide you with a first-class experience. We will be seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Address: 11 Benson St, Kingston, Ontario K7K 5W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
#6 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from downtown and adjacent to Highway 401, we are steps away from theatre, shopping and dining choices and offer spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Start each day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring features hot and cold selections. Enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool and 24-hour fitness room. You'll appreciate the convenience of free WiFi and parking. Planning a meeting? Our Loyalist Meeting room is perfect for groups of up to 50. Visit our website for packages and special offers. Earn IHG Rewards Club Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, IHG, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Kingston
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing