We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here on Jan 23rd for work. Actually got a really good Hotwire deal and upgraded my room to King for another $10. First time I've ever had to pay to 'upgrade' to a king bed. Wasn't too happy about that. The room was neat and clean, bathroom was ok but faucet needed replacing. Roomservice was prompt but didn't see the high service charge for delivery but ah well. Ordered dessert but icecream was freezer burnt so had offtaste. Checkout was a bit pained as they double billed me for the room but had it fixed by nice staff member. All in all not a bad place to stay for a cheap price! :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear fulrach,

While we are delighted to hear that your overall stay was to your satisfaction we would like to offer our sincerest apologies with the mix up regarding your room charge. We pride ourselves on exceeding the needs of our guests and can assure you that we are examining the situation very closely to determine what may have occurred and how to avoid this happening in the future. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by staying with us on your next trip to Kingston. Please contact me personally to confirm your accommodations at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Great service, wonderful location, fantastic Place for a little getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjv8677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Kjv8677,

We appreciate you taking time to review the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have stayed here before, but were dissatisfied with the hotel this time. Our room (509) was not very clean (less than a comfort inn), had no hot water, just warm; the sliding glass door didn't lock; the carpet felt dirty and the bedside table had hairs on it as well as the ring from a previous person's beverage.
We asked to change rooms and the front desk person was very easy to deal with, and apologetic.
Second room: also not very clean, smelled strongly of mould (I had to take a Benadryl for wheezing), back door also didn't lock (but front desk girl had told us the trick way to do it) and there were several hairs on the pillow. When we called to ask for new pillows, they were quickly replaced, and front desk girl called shortly afterwards to express her apologies, lower the room rate from 137.95 to 69.95 and offer free breakfast coupons for the next day.
Breakfast waitress was delightful, despite knowing we were paying by coupon.
So, overall, hotel was not good but service was delightful.
If they do an upgrade of hotel and the maid service in future, we will try it again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dineramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Dineramic,

Thank you for you review on the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We take each issue very seriously and will be taking steps to address them. We regret that you experienced inconsistencies during your stay but are proud that you thought so highly of our staff. We aim to provide the highest level of satisfaction to all our customers and your feedback is key for us in recognizing areas for improvement. Please accept our sincerest apologies and should your future travel plans include Kingston please contact me directly at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel and have always had a great time using their pools and exercise room. Great location on the waterfront right by many restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Get a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear MuskokaBogart,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services and our wonderful location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again on your return trip to Kingston!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We decided kind of last minute to do a get away for News Years Eve. We emailed the hotel and Christina, Assistant Guest Services Manager provided us a lovely deal including a room with a view of the basin, parking and breakfast on New Years Day. We arrived early and to our surprise our room was available. We were in one of the corner King rooms. Enjoyed a great late lunch at the Dox restaurant, served by a long time employee Patricia who we have met in the past. Always friendly and courteous, the people in the Dox restaurant provide a nice environment whether it be breakfast, lunch or dinner. Also included in our welcome packet was a free appetizer when ordering a meal. A nice addition to our lunch.
The room was excellent and Kingston at New Years is a wonderful place to be. We watched the fireworks from our balcony and it couldn't have been any nicer. The staff at this hotel provide great service. From the front desk staff, restaurant and housekeeping. We had a minor problem with the heat and within minutes of calling down to the front desk, a gentleman from Maintenance was at our door and had us fixed up in no time at all. Overall we had a great stay. The hotel is so convenient to everything downtown - shopping, restaurants, skating rink and the waterfront. It is a great place to go for a get away!! It is amazing in the summer, and with all there is to do in Kingston, it is also a lovely place to visit in the winter.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a pier so you have a selection from those closer to the city or those out on the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear BlueJai,

The Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront Associates were delighted to read your complimentary feedback on our property. We not only appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of our property but also for choosing to stay with us for your New Year's getaway to Kingston.

We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do so during your holiday. We hope see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,


Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed overnight at the Holiday Inn, and to our delight, when looking out of our balcony, a tall sail ship was docked on our side of the hotel, quite a view. Rooms are clean, with plenty of amenities, breakfast buffet was good, and the indoor pool and gym facilities are fine. The location is nice as it is downtown Kingston on the harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatGal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear CatGal_10,

Your complimentary feedback is appreciated by our hotel; many thanks for taking time to share your experiences. The yacht you mentioned in your review occasionally moors at our hotel throughout the summer. It is a 110 foot Brigantine called the "Fair Jeanne" and is used for Youth and Adult summer camps. The crew always welcomes tours as well!

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We will be visiting Kingston regularly with a daughter in university there. I have stayed at the Four Points Sheraton in previous trips to Kingston and have been quite satisfied. I am a Priority Club Platinum member and decided to use some of my several hundred thousand points for a weekend in Kingston. For some reason, the hotel made available for reward stays double rooms and twin rooms but not King size beds, which were available for purchase. I called Priority Club who called the hotel, who agreed to give me a king room and then on their own upgraded me to an executive room. When we arrived, the staff opened up the huge room next door (a suite for business meetings with a boardroom table and another bathroom and sink, etc.). The rooms were clean. There is no wi-fi, only a broadband connection, so you might want to bring a portable router (e.g., an Apple Airport Express or something from Linksys) if you want wi-fi.

The staff were generally very helpful and we received a nice note and a fruit and cheese plate from the manager. We didn't eat any meals there and can't comment on the food. There were very good apples on the way in. The parking was easy and there were reserved spots for Platinum PC members. Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsmakeadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear letsmakeadeal,

It was our pleasure to host you as our guest! We are always striving to improve our hospitality and service and we appreciate your kind words. When your travels lead you back to Kingston, please contact me directly for reservations at 613-549.8400 ext 2600.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.3 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.4 km away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Best Western Fireside Inn
4.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $147 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing