We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have a pet, this is a great option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The staff at this hotel go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They had doggie treats for the dog and people treats for us at the reception desk. Check in was quick and easy. Free parking in the lot beside the hotel is a real bonus.

Our room was on the ground floor (the only floor where they allow pets to stay). It was great. We had a patio door which opened onto the lawn between the hotel and waterfront, so we could take the dog out or just stand by the door and make a quick run out to clean up without having to put on a coat, hat, boots............ and the other hassles of winter weather. Considering it was quite cold out that night it was one of the best features of the room. Even though it was after midnight, the front desk staff had menus from local restaurants which delivered until 2 am.

The room was comfortable for two adults and a small dog. We did not get a chance to use the hot tub, pool or get up in time for breakfast, but at least the option was there. The hot tub would have been nice after being in the car for a couple of hours..... maybe next time.

The location of the hotel could not be better. It is right at the beginning of Princess St. right on the waterfront. There are lots of restaurants and shopping in that area within easy walking distance.

Best of all was the price. They did not gouge us with a fee for the dog like another hotel in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear luv2travel9999,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We are delighted that we were able to ease some of the pet travel stresses for you and your family. We will look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times in the past and always had a great stay. We booked a King Executive Room this February for our anniversary and the room was clean, friendly staff and upon our return from dinner that evening there was a tray of chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling water waiting for us. Unfortunately that evening we were awakened at 1:30 in the morning by very loud guests in the floor below us who were yelling, arguing, slamming doors and cursing until about 4am. Security attempted a couple of times to quiet them, finally it stopped a we managed a little bit of sleep. We were not charged for our room because of the disturbance that night, which was very nice of the manager to do since ithe noise was not his fault. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear P C,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. Please accept my sincere and formal apologies for the sleep disturbances you encountered. Upon review of your comments I have discussed this situation with our Director of Security who reviewed our procedures with his Security Guards and conducted re-training to avoid any reoccurrence.

We look forward welcoming you back soon! Please contact me directly at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600 to confirm your next stay.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I had to wait 3 months before I could review this hotel again since I had stayed in October and had not such a great experience and then stayed again in December and had the best stay ever in Kingston. After a one time not so good stay in October due to some rowdy college kids, the manager made sure our next stay was above and beyond any expectations. Thank you Scott for everything. We always stay at the Holiday Inn Waterfront when visiting Kingston and only once we had a problem and it was dealt with above any expectations I had. I won't go into all the details, but the management really cares that your stay meets expectations. A lot of hotels don't even care if you had any problems or not, but not this one. My wife and I will only stay at this hotel from now on and we already have made another booking for a vacation this summer. I want to say that the property is beautiful right on the waterfront and the staff and service are wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic trip to downtown historic Kingston. I appreciated everything they did for us. I also recommend getting the breakfast buffet in your hotel package as the restaurant serves a fabulous breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the confederation harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaMike_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear OttawaMike_10,

Thank you for your complimentary words regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your continued patronage and for taking the time to review our property. Upon your return, please contact me as I would like to personally welcome you to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The staff were really polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. The location is very convenient to downtown Kingston. I also had trouble locking my balcony door but figured it out eventually. Check-in and check-out were very fast. The room could have been a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear sunkitten,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. I noted your comment regarding room cleanliness and I have reviewed this with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate correction. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Kingston.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed here on Jan 23rd for work. Actually got a really good Hotwire deal and upgraded my room to King for another $10. First time I've ever had to pay to 'upgrade' to a king bed. Wasn't too happy about that. The room was neat and clean, bathroom was ok but faucet needed replacing. Roomservice was prompt but didn't see the high service charge for delivery but ah well. Ordered dessert but icecream was freezer burnt so had offtaste. Checkout was a bit pained as they double billed me for the room but had it fixed by nice staff member. All in all not a bad place to stay for a cheap price! :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear fulrach,

While we are delighted to hear that your overall stay was to your satisfaction we would like to offer our sincerest apologies with the mix up regarding your room charge. We pride ourselves on exceeding the needs of our guests and can assure you that we are examining the situation very closely to determine what may have occurred and how to avoid this happening in the future. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves by staying with us on your next trip to Kingston. Please contact me personally to confirm your accommodations at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Great service, wonderful location, fantastic Place for a little getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjv8677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Kjv8677,

We appreciate you taking time to review the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have stayed here before, but were dissatisfied with the hotel this time. Our room (509) was not very clean (less than a comfort inn), had no hot water, just warm; the sliding glass door didn't lock; the carpet felt dirty and the bedside table had hairs on it as well as the ring from a previous person's beverage.
We asked to change rooms and the front desk person was very easy to deal with, and apologetic.
Second room: also not very clean, smelled strongly of mould (I had to take a Benadryl for wheezing), back door also didn't lock (but front desk girl had told us the trick way to do it) and there were several hairs on the pillow. When we called to ask for new pillows, they were quickly replaced, and front desk girl called shortly afterwards to express her apologies, lower the room rate from 137.95 to 69.95 and offer free breakfast coupons for the next day.
Breakfast waitress was delightful, despite knowing we were paying by coupon.
So, overall, hotel was not good but service was delightful.
If they do an upgrade of hotel and the maid service in future, we will try it again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dineramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKingston, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Dineramic,

Thank you for you review on the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront. We take each issue very seriously and will be taking steps to address them. We regret that you experienced inconsistencies during your stay but are proud that you thought so highly of our staff. We aim to provide the highest level of satisfaction to all our customers and your feedback is key for us in recognizing areas for improvement. Please accept our sincerest apologies and should your future travel plans include Kingston please contact me directly at 613.549.8400 ext. 2600.

Warm regards,

Scott Follwell - General Manager
Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grenville Park
Ambassador Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront

Address: 2 Princess St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range: $151 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront Hotel is centrally located in historic downtown Kingston, Ontario. We are elated to unveil Kingston's beautiful bedrooms and superior amenities, and our personal and friendly service sets us apart from other Kingston, Ontario hotels. We are also home to Kingston's premier conference facilities, specializing corporate events, meetings and weddings. Conveniently located steps away from Kingston's waterfront, the K-Rock Center (.42km)for concerts and Kingston Frontenacs games, 1000 Island Cruises (.25km), Kingston General Hospital (2.06km), Queen's University (1.53km), boutiques and downtown venues, the Holiday Inn(R) Kingston Waterfront hotel is The Place to Meet. We are proud to present DOX Restaurant & Bar with (seasonal) patio overlooking Lake Ontario. Dox Restaurant & Bar features a delicious breakfast menu and is the perfect place to meet for a luncheon meeting or a gourmet romantic dinner for two. For relaxation, guests of our Kingston hotel enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fitness center. Whether you're coming to Kingston on business, looking to hold a meeting or event, or getting away for a family vacation, the Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront is your hotel of choice. We look forward to being "At Your Service"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Hotel Kingston
Kingston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing