We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Number One Restaurant”
Review of Pat's Restaurant

Pat's Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 493 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cambodian, Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 13, 2018

I can't say enough great things about Pat's. It's been my go-to for years and I'm a consistent regular. The dishes are always amazing and there are far too many great options to try. The spring rolls, green curry beef special, spicy pad thai, and stir fried beef special are my main recommendations! Basically my weekly order! The helpings are also huge so you can get 2-3 meals out of an order. On top of the delicious food, the staff are friendly and great people. I love supporting Pat's and will continue to for many years to come

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 487Kyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2018

It’s about time we reviewed this hometown restaurant, the latest iteration of four (!) Cambodian locales in Kingston, Ont., all founded by the same family. However, it’s Pat’s Restaurant, run by the paterfamilias, which offers up the best version of the native cuisine. While the Thai dishes are good, we suggest you choose something authentically Cambodian—Phanaeng Kai (red curry chicken, basil, lime leaves, peanuts, and coconut); Samlaw Khmer (stir-fried chicken and shrimp with tamarind paste, vegetables, and tomatoes); or Western-Style Chicken (golden tomatoes, chicken, dried peppers, magrood, lemon grass, and shallots). Our favourites are the Tofu (red curry, coconut milk, peanuts, lime leaves, and basil); and Spicy Tofu (hot-and-sour chili soy bean sauce, basil, green chili, and saw leaves), both prepared with generous chunks of silken tofu. Happily, the chefs never skimp on the requisite galangal, kaffir lime leaves (magrood), or lemon grass. The portions are generous and served with steaming white rice. And while the food may not be served fiery hot, there’s a large pot of chili sauce on every table so you can spice your order to taste. And finally, hooray! Unlike many North American-Asian kitchens that cater to fearful palates, Pat never adds sugar to his ingredients to tamp down the spice levels. Instead, there’s a pot of the granular stuff alongside the chili so that you can perform the deed yourself.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gruess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

If you like Thai food but prefer the heat to the sweet this is probably your best option in Kingston. Not only do they have a healthy sized menu with healthy portion sizes but they also offer various heat levels on many of their dishes.

Remember when they say hot, they mean hot.

Be sure to try the Spicy Beef Pad Thai and the Golden Chicken.. and of course get some spring rolls.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank KingstonDinersClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We have eaten here many times, and the Tom Yum soup is the best we have had so far! We go out of our way to stop by and get a couple of soups when we visit Kingston!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Great selection and always able to accommodate special diets. Food is always fresh and tasty. Tom Yum is my fav

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Gangurltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pat's Restaurant also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Pat's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing