We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Fare on a neat rooftop.”
Review of Jack Astor's

Jack Astor's
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack Astor's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 491 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed August 21, 2018

A friend and I had dinner and drinks here one night while in town.

We sat on the rooftop patio which was really cool. It has a great vibe to it up there. The servers were friendly and the service was quick.

The food itself is good. No different than any other Jack Astor's. It did the trick and we left full.

Good food, great rooftop patio...Id come again

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank turnbud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 471 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Came here for dinner. Did not chose to eat outdoors on patio, there was a wait list for that. Service was very good...waitress remembered everything without writing it down. Food (steak) was delicious!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Pihlajtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

It was an incredibly hot day in Kingston, so having the patio to sit on with the beautiful mist spraying to keep you cool. I was there with my boyfriend and it was quite busy so we waited downstairs at the bar for 30 minutes. Not a bad wait and the bar staff was friendly and made it go by fast. When we were seated upstairs and our server Michael was being tied up by previous customers working out their bill to the point that he apologized to us for our wait to order drinks. He acknowledged that and comp'd our appetizer. It would have been good if another server had taken a drink order for us though on such a hot day. Just a thought. Michael(server) worked hard to recover from that and his service was friendly and courteous. Really enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SugarSugarSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Enticed by the rooftop patio and the cooling mist spray but wasn't worth it in the end...

We wanted to go to Woodenhead Gourmet Pizza but didn't make reservations so we settled for Jack Astor's. Food was average, all items were a la carte and expensive. In hindsight, if we were going to spend the money on a meal, we should have tried a local place. At least, it would have been worth it.

The rooftop patio is nice so long as you got some shade. If you are sitting in the sun, be prepared to bake. The cooling mist was only effective depending on which way the wind was blowing.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ON_mom_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Drinks on the rooftop patio is a great feeling. It's like you being on a penthouse except you are with some unexpected guests. Shots...Shots and more shots

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Arunraj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack Astor's also viewed

 

Been to Jack Astor's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing