We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Accommodations But Breakfast Left a Lot to Be Desired”
Review of Frontenac Club Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frontenac Club Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful Accommodations But Breakfast Left a Lot to Be Desired”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The rooms were beautiful and just as shown on the internet. Excellent location - able to walk everywhere. A little pricey, but I don't mind paying that for a great place. We were very disappointed in the breakfasts though. We've stayed in many B&Bs over the years (many of which were less expensive) that offered a far superior breakfast. For example, one morning there were 3 different types of omelettes to choose from. I think they used either powdered eggs or the premixed ones that you get in a milk carton because they had the exact consistency of the rubbery eggs that you get at the fast food chains on a breakfast sandwich. I think the egg was precooked, so when you asked for one of the three types of omelette, it would appear that they just opened up the folded "egg" and placed your ingredients inside and folded it back up - the cheese wasn't even melted and the egg was luke warm at best. Breakfast rolls one morning were as hard as a rock. Coffee was cold too. Next time we're in Kingston, if I'm going to spend that kind of money, I'll try another place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santorini Dreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontenacClubInn, Owner at Frontenac Club Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you for the compliments on our Inn and taking the time to leave a review. However, we would like to let our guests know that we use only local, organic, free-range eggs purchased at Canada’s oldest farmers market, minutes away from the Inn. The bread we use is baked fresh every morning and the coffee is made in small batches, the beans are specially blended for us and roasted by Cookes Fine Foods in Kingston. We take a great deal of pride in our breakfasts and purchase the majority of our food locally and prepare it fresh daily.

We apologize if your breakfast was not to your taste. We want to encourage all guests to let us know if we can improve their breakfast in any way, we are always glad to provide alternate choices.

Thanks again for your review.

Beare Weatherup
Frontenac Club Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
156
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I had a wonderful stay at this gorgeous inn. I was in the Cooke Suite, which was huge and very well appointed. All amenities were top notch. Any staff we dealt with were most friendly and helpful.

The common areas of the building are beautiful. Large rooms are available for lounging, and we also used a meeting room which is in an old bowling lane. There are pretty sitting areas outside, including a barbecue, which will be great in summer.

Breakfast was delicious and served perfectly in lovely rooms. The service we had for meetings was excellent, with fresh baked cookies as well as coffee tea.

The Inn is also located in a beautiful neighbourhood adjacent to downtown and close to most amenities there.

I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn, and plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazzy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Very nice and historic Inn. Jessica was very sweet!

Room Tip: Gardini Suite 2 person jet tub was so great to relax in after a long wedding weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyTobyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The building is full of history and kept fabulous: the furniture is very nice and the great attention for even the smallest details makes the Inn very comfortable and cosy. It has a very nice and comfortable sitting area and a side room with computer access. Breakfast is prepared by the owner himself and is delicious. The people are absolutely friedly and very very helpful. We stayed in the Gardini Room, which is very spaciuos, with a huge bathroom and even a small own veranda. The weather was pretty poor when we were there, but the beautiful surroundings did make us forget about it! A very beautiful place where we would go back without esitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlMondoPiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed for a weekend while in town for a wedding and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was very large with a newly renovated bathroom with Aveda toiletries. Our bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious each morning - omlettes one day, homemade waffles the next. The outdoor courtyard was lovely. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: check out rooms online
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I were looking for a quaint Inn with some great restaurants close by and we found it all in 1 place. Only 1 block from the water and 2 blocks from down town. It was perfection!!
We were in the Stone Room it was very clean, well decorated you almost felt as though you were in a B&B in Scotland . Nice added feature was a back door leading to a cute little almost private patio where you could sit and relax with a glass of wine or cold beer and a cigarette.
We had a pub lunch at The Kingston Brewing Company very funny menu with one item that made me laugh!! It was called The High Roller it included Dom Pérignon and double serving of wings for $236.00. Dinner was at The Curry Original amazing Indian food with great service.
Our breakfast was a 3 course meal with fresh fruit& yogurt, 2 choices of oatmeal and wonderful oat waffles topped with bananas. It was cooked by the owner Beare who also visited our table to chat about the history of the Inn and things about & around the town.
Everyone was so pleasant & very helpful!
We would both go back in a minute!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was a last minute trip, so the majority of rooms were already booked. We ended up in room 11, The Shen Zhow Suite, on the ground floor of the secondary Cartwright House. Quiet, though we had the windows closed and AC on. Because the space is divided up like a small apartment, which it was at one time, we didn't get to enjoy the space(living area with sofa and tv, desk and chair) as we were only there for one night. The room was a bit utilitarian, the bathroom quite small. The bed was comfy. The walk in shower was spacious. The gardens were very nice, but we didn't get to sit in them due to torrential rain the day we arrived. The breakfast rooms were bright and the food was good, service very friendly. Great location. The main sitting areas in the main inn were bright and comfortable although hot, only a large fan in one part. We would consider a return visit, but in a different room.

Room Tip: Check out the room options carefully and book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdngrl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.3 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
3.8 km away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.2 km away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontenac Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontenac Club Inn

Property: Frontenac Club Inn
Address: 225 King Street East | Kingston, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frontenac Club Inn, located in the heart of Kingston's historic downtown, is a block from Lake Ontario and close to Queen's University. It's a short walk to boat tours, theaters, restaurants (from informal to gourmet), great independent shops, art galleries, museums and the K-ROCK Centre. In a city known for its historic charm, beautiful waterfront and architectural treasures, the Frontenac Club Inn provides a special place to stay and enjoy all that Kingston, Prince Edward County and the 1000 Islands have to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontenac Club Hotel Kingston
Frontenac Club Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing