We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If it is a matter of taste, then stay here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Woods Inn
Ranked #6 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If it is a matter of taste, then stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Tessa and Nigel are fantastic hosts who focus on what matters: comfort, cleanliness, and happy guests.

I stayed in the Oak Room. It is tastefully decorated with a full ensuite bathroom. The room was clean and the window was open a pinch to let in the fresh May air (I really liked that). My bed was luxurious comfort for a top notch sleep. The sheets, pillows, and blankets are fresh and downy. Although there is a busy road and construction nearby, I felt relaxed and at ease.

Breakfast was heavenly and sweet: crepes filled with strawberries and oranges in an orange blossom syrup served with a poached pear. Just wonderful! I cannot wait to go back to see what else they cook. The loose leaf tea paired with mostly local and organic food suits my taste and habit. Of note, Tessa and Nigel will cater to your allergies (if they can) in a fair and fun way. That is important.

The B & B is well equipped with a comfortable sitting room that has a great coffee maker, maps, and some brochures about the region. There is also a seating area outside so that you can watch the sunset over the trees.

This Bed and Breakfast felt like home. I am making it my go to place in the Kingston area.

Room Tip: Their website has fair and accurate room descriptions. The Oak Room has two lovely windows and a cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Our hosts, Tessa and Nigel, were highly professional, very friendly and most accommodating.
The gourmet breakfast was second to none! We stayed in the Oak Room and loved its elegant yet comfortable atmosphere. This B&B is next to a busy highway. The slight noise from the passing traffic did not bother us in the least. The location, just minutes from downtown Kingston and Highway 401 by car, was very convenient. We are looking forward to a return visit and heartily recommend this B & B.

Linda and Bal, Montreal

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very clean and well equipped all having ensuite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our thanks to Nigel and Tessa for a really homey stay. Food is top shelf. Love the detailed and tasty breakfasts. The house was spotless and comfy and none of the couples felt anything but welcome. There are 4 bedrooms and all seem to be large enough to feel roomy. There is a mix of antiques and more modern furnishings. Some have modern style tubs while we elected to go the claw foot route. The location is nice too, it is 4 miles from town so there is a rural feel to it and not the hustle of the busy city. Can't get easier to get there either, 1 mile from rt 401. We had the claw foot tub in our room and it had a "tropical" shower overhead that just runs down and over your head. That was a nice touch if you never had the experience before. The only tv is in the common area and they play music thru a dish antenna or you can turn the programming on to watch the programs. Every detail to suit you has been addressed right down to the lint brush, flash light, and shoe horn. Planning a trip next year and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deckboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Thanks Nigel & Tessa for your wonderful hospitality. It was a pleasure to stay with you and enjoy your delicious gourmet breakfasts every morning. You made us feel right at home and offered the best service possible. Your house was charming, clean, cozy and we enjoyed our privacy too. I would recommend anyone to stay here and we will certainly be back when we visit your area.

Mara & Dave

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Thanks Nigel and Tessa for a wonderful stay over our anniversary,we loved the Ash room ,and of course the breakfasts, 1000 boat trip is a must.x

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a treat for this USA traveler. This was the first time I have ever stayed in a B&B but it was a very special weekend for myself and the love of my life, Shelley. We stayed two nights ; Thursday and Sunday and were pampered and treated with the privacy we needed. The room was spotless, the food and conversation with the inn keepers was beyond outstanding. "Same time next year"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights right before the end of our three week journey through eastern Canada. These last 2 days were needed to calm down after such a wonderful but exciting holiday. And it was just right that we choosed this B&B. Nigel and Tessa are wonderful hosts, the house is cosy. I looked forward to go to bed, only to sleep in this romantic room and "white linen" bedsheets. The breakfast was full gourmet - as promised on their homepage. No star-cook can do better! The garden is well kept and the birds and squirrels all around. We wish Nigel and Tessa a long healthey life so that they can serve as hosts and cooks for much longer! Best wishes from Germany, Duesseldorf (Ulrike and Ursula)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
6.3 km away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
6.1 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
6.0 km away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
6.2 km away
Secret Garden Bed & Breakfast Inn
6.3 km away
Rosemount B&B Inn
Rosemount B&B Inn
#2 of 22 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Woods Inn

Property: Green Woods Inn
Address: 1368 Highway 15, Kingston, Ontario K7L 0C4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rideau Heritage Tourism Route, Green Woods Inn is one of Kingston's finest Historic Inns. Offering a peacful setting in the city of Kingston, just minutes to the down town core and one mile south of Hwy 401. The Inn has been fully renovated with all rooms having fine cotton linens, luxurious private ensuite bathrooms, central air-conditioning and private on-ground guest parking. Our full gourmet breakfast helps to make your stay an extra-special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Inn Kingston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing