We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
100
75
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
75
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews satellite tv keurig machine fridge freezer convenience store needed to stay overnight gas station clean room and bathroom handy location real cream off the highway free wifi great access sparkling clean would stay here again little touches air conditioner dining table
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 194 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2018

The first view of the Lord Nelson as you drive up the road isn't promising. It looks like one of those old motels. But the somewhat decrepit look changes as soon as you enter your room.
Rooms have been renovated and everything is very comfortable. Our room at ground level had a balcony (motel is on side of hill so there were units below us that were also at ground level.
Good place to stay whether you're just overnighting or staying a few days. It's just off the 401. Maybe 3 or 4 kilometres from downtown.
The lady who checks you in is incredibly helpful.
Price seemed a little high for a place that isn't downtown. Otherwise 5 stars.
New A&W next door.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef D, Owner at Lord Nelson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your room and our services, and certainly appreciate you supporting an independent family-run business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights the owner was welcoming and knowledgable for where to go.
The room was very clean and spacious. Towels and coffee were replenished for 2 nd day.
The road wasn't too noisey. Location was perfect about 10 minutes drive to the waterfront and downtown.
5⭐️

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 381trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef D, Owner at Lord Nelson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank-You for your feedback! We appreciate it. Please do come visit us again next time you are in the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018

Don't be put off by the rather grotty exterior. This motel is not going to win prizes for architectural style. But inside the rooms are spacious, with comfortable chairs to sit in, fridge, microwave and coffee/tea making machine. Bed is enormous. Clean and much less expensive than hotels in Kingston. We stopped off en route Toronto, having started in NY state. It's a short drive into Kingston, though don't get too excited about this rather drab place, particularly when it's overcast and a cold wind is blowing off the lake.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boavisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We really didn't know what to expect, especially with preconceived ideas of motels...but wow! Gorgeous renovations better than hotel! Fresh fruit! Soaps! Art on walls! Only thing was just chain lock...

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef D, Owner at Lord Nelson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank-You for your kind words and taking the time to review your stay. We certainly appreciate it and will keep in mind your feedback for improvement opportunities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The beds were comfy and the room quiet, even though the motel is near a main road. The coffee making facilities were good as was the television, fridge and air-conditioning. A nice touch to your stay is the provision of fresh fruit placed in a basket each day. My wife and I found the motel to be ideally located to city of Kingston and to the entry to the freeway, as we had a rental. Getting into the city centre and surrounds was a breeze. A bonus was to have a large filling station and A and W business next door. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Lord Nelson.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josef D, Owner at Lord Nelson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

What a pleasantly detailed review to receive; we genuinely appreciate you taking the time to do so. Thanks again for entrusting us to provide you a comfortable and clean stay while in Kingston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews