We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t charge me for a bag to carry $20 of expensive bread”
Review of Pan Chancho

Pan Chancho
Ranked #1 of 10 Bakeries in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: Pan Chancho is a bakery and cafe that makes everything in house. In addition to our baked goods and sit down menu items, we have a large selection of salads, sandwiches and main courses available to go. Our kitchens make a variety of ready for the oven frozen goods, and we carry a wide selection of imported and local cheeses, groceries and home-made pantry items for our customers.
Reviewed December 15, 2017 via mobile

Paying for a bag is ridiculous. If you insist on being high and mighty about plastic bags then provide a large paper bag for free. Or the business should pay for the plastic bag.

Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 680 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2017

The restaurant is small. We went in ahead of time and were told there would be a 45 minute wait. We anticipated this and ran an errand first. We returned, parked easily on Princess and entered. There was a line of at least 20 patrons but within minutes our name was called and we were served a delicious brunch meal. Hot, tasty and timely. Service was courteous and efficient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Di-Fam-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your brunch with us. Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

Centrally-located, it is situated just a stone’s throw away from the waterfront. The first thing that greets you in the outlet is a huge selection of pastries and baked goods. The menu selection is also very extensive. Food quality is also of a very high standard.

Thank Kento1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

Great place for breakfast or brunch! Menu offers a variety of dish that fits every breakfast’s desire - greens, hearty, savoury, filling, sweet. Great coffee and service too!

Cons: Go early to avoid the queue! Had to queue for a good 20 minutes.

Thank LaksmiCahyady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us! We do know that it can be frustrating to have to stand in a long line up, and we understand that wait times for a table can be long, especially on weekends at our busiest times. We do take reservations, and that is by far the easiest way to avoid a queue! If you don't have enough advance notice to make a reservation, coming in as early as possible or waiting until after the big brunch and lunch rush is another good way to avoid having to wait in line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017

My family, friends and work colleagues are frequent visitors to Pan Chancho for a good reason. It is a wonderful place to relax and have a great meal, either in the beautiful old stone building that Pan Chancho occupies, or to take out for lunch or dinner. On Mother's Day last year, my daughters and I took my wife to Pan Chancho for brunch and ate in the beautiful courtyard behind the house. My 3-egg Frittata was fabulous and eating at a table under an umbrella on a beautiful day made it even more delicious. My colleagues, who are also located downtown, frequently take out at Pan Chancho, which has a ready-to-make sandwich bar (sandwiches are already made, but you can order on the spot if you wish). Their displayed desserts are so tempting, as well. Friends of ours, who moved to Kingston from the States, loved this place. Whenever we couldn't find them at home, we knew they were here, enjoying the tasty delights. I would highly recommend Pan Chancho for breakfast, lunch or brunch. One of my favourites !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy m, Pastry Chef at Pan Chancho, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Thanks very much for your review, and for your support in recommending us to others. We're glad to hear that you, your family and your friends have all enjoyed your times spent at the Bakery! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pan Chancho also viewed

 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 
Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Pan Chancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing