We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavelier Room

Cavelier Room
Ranked #50 of 428 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have lunch and supper there on a regular basis. The staff are great. The food is even better. It is usually full which is a good indication of how great it is. Try it on a Sat or Sun for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Pierre_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
KINGSTON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced Garbage.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

$40 for two for lunch. A sandwich that does not come with a side for $12.99, and a bowl of French Onion soup (apparently a house specialty) that tastes like it came from a frozen package. And two ice teas that came in small wine glasses that were half full of ice and not refillable. A total rip off, and the most bland food I've eaten since my highschool cafeteria.

Helpful?
Thank BRAD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I ordered the special, my husband the swiss chicken. Both dinners were very carefully cooked (a little short on salt and pepper but you can add that yourself). Both desserts tasted homemade rather than thawed, and isn't that why you dine out instead of thawing it yourself? We would dine here again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for basic breakfast or brunch -- lots to eat, at a good price. Go elsewhere if you seek a really fancy brunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The restaurant is very busy most Saturdays and Sundays from 0800 to 1300 -- lots of folks dropping by for a basic breakfast at a good price, and there are the Travelodge hotel guests too. If you seek a fancy brunch place with a big buffet, this is not the place for you. It is a basic breakfast place, but good value for money.
They do have a bit of Hollandaise sauce around for eggs bennie -- very nice. But most patrons seem to go for basic eggs, bacon, and toast, or the Lumberjack special -- eggs and pancakes, with bacon. Large portions all around.
A nice touch is that you can order back bacon instead of regular bacon. Most basic breakfast places seem to think everyone want crispy, greasy bacon with their eggs -- not for me, and the Cavelier Room is listening.
For the weekend breakfast and brunch, the staff really seem to hustle (the place is usually very busy, and noisy, at these times). However, we have been left waiting for the bill from time to time. I put this down to the staff letting you relax to enjoy the morning, to read your newspaper, to have a chat. If you are in a rush, you may have to wave to your waitress to have her drop off the bill.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fred_cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The food saves this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The service was very poor as the place is busy. Our waitress had 8 tables of 4 and the only attention was after 10 minutes she took our food order, then brought it out and gave us the bill. She did not bother to check if our meals were OK (my husband did not get what he ordered and there was stuff missing from mine). Also, a negative is the ambiance, which is more hotel breakfast room than elegant dining room, which I would not mind, but you are paying $18 for Chicken Souvlaki, $15 for Spagetti Bolonaise, $25 for 9oz Prime Rib or an average of $18-26 for entrees. It seems like it is a bit confused as to what it wants to be when it grows up as the prices say dining lounge, but the tiled floor, tired breakfast room chairs and tables say lunch. What saves it though is the food is very good. My Chicken Souvilaki/Brouchette was excellent, the rice, the chicken and one of the best caesar salads I have had in years. If I have to stay in Kingston again, I will give it another try as the food was being produced by somebody who knows what they are doing. I will just have to look past the decor and service I guess.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavelier Room also viewed

Kingston, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
 

Been to Cavelier Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing