We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday stay made me feel like a star!!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Overview from start to finish: Ups and downs, but any 'downs' were natural occurrances and overshadowed by gorgeous room and atmosphere.

Was unable to originally locate hotel and I've lived in London!!; it's across from the Covent Garden Market on the private drive across from the JLC (one-way), beside the Thorny Devil Bar on the corner of Talbot (King is a one-way street leading east, towards the 'mall'). Not an issue.

Called the front desk number and received reasonably understandable directions... may be tricky if you're not familiar with London. Close to great dining options, though, and the little hidden 'drive' made it feel more exclusive. Smallish-lobby decorated in a clean, modern and minimal style; beautiful lighting and very mod wall tiles, with ice water available.
Checked in (was about 30 seconds!!! :) ), asked RE: parking?? Left the half-hour parking spot on the side of the CGM, drive around the back to King (one way, remember), do illegal U-ie into secure underground CGM parking ($10 for weekend into weekday stays), take stairs back up to little drive, into hotel. Hall from lobby on main floor walks straight through to Dundas St..., I think. Go to my room, door ajar, go in..... wasn't made up and still had previous guests' garbage in it. Again, not a big deal, because as soon as you see this place, and feel the vibeof it's location, you're just excited to be staying there. So, go back down, desk clerk apologizes immensely, NBD!!!! Get to my room (20 available in this hotel), open giant full wall window, overlooking the sky scrapers and downtown scene, crank temp control, relax in comp. robe, draw a bath in the Kohler (???) seperate mod style bath, check out lighting system (pot lights over Vera Wang bed, black-out shades from ceiling), pop the champagne and chill while watching the flat-screen.
Asked for more towels. Received plenty. Didn't even need them, really. Asked for ice bucket. Received two. BF was actually able to find the place and quickly.
Walkable distance to Marienbad Restaurant, 'Up' on Carling, Moxie's for dinner; awsome steak, HUGE wine glasses, summer app was delish and the DJ spun requested music.
Returned to our sexy, fun, large room and felt like a champ! Thx for making my Birthday a special one!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealCADTrvlCnslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConciergeKelly, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us! Thank you as well for your thoughtful remarks which we have shared with our Front Desk staff. We are excited to hear that you loved your stay with us and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

I live just outside the city of London and stay in hotels from time-to-time with the wife when we're planning for a night on the town. Over the years we have stayed at most (if not all) of the 3.5 - 4 star hotels in the city and I can honestly say that Metro is by far the best. This is the first review I have ever written - which I think speaks towards the impression it has left.

The hotel is ultra-modern and their rooms are huge, open concept, and have high-end fixtures. There was a lot of opulent attention to detail that went into these rooms - right down to the toiletries. The beds are so comfortable you don't want to get out of them! Our basic room had a huge jacuzzi tub, modern walk-in showers, separate vanity area, flat screen TV, etc, etc - with enough room left over to easily park a car! The staff was prompt and professional. Just wonderful.
Location-wise, there is nothing in the city that compares. You are walking distance to everything downtown - the best restaurants, performance theaters, parks, shopping, night life, and right next door to the John Labatt Centre, the farmers market, as well as a spa. A little more $'s to stay here is true, but you would easily spend the difference on a single taxis ride elsewhere in the city! A nice perk was a healthy breakfast in bed - pastry, yogurt, fruit, granola, and juice. This was not advertised but was included in the room rental. (As a tip to travelers regarding food: there is a restaurant right next to the hotel called Braise which I found was severely overpriced, mediocre food, and had terribly slow service. There are A LOT of other great options all within a 1 block radius.)

I would not recommend this hotel as a place suitable for families or friends to stay as the modern open-style of the rooms would not be great having your kids or buddies with you and the amenities that suit families (ex. swimming pool, indoor golf, etc) are not available - that's not the type of traveler this hotel caters to. However, if you're looking for an impressive place to stay with your significant other, or for your boss or business acquaintance, or simply for a luxurious place for yourself, you will thank me for recommending this hotel. Now that we have discovered it, staying anywhere else would be a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londoner3969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConciergeKelly, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Thank you for your kind remarks which I have shared with our staff. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I was in London, Ontario for a wedding this past weekend. While the invitation suggested another hotel, Hotel Metro was recommended by the groom as it was super close to the reception hall, brand new, and absolutely stunning. All understatements. Within a 5 minute walking radius is the John Labatt Centre (stone throw distance), market (right across the street), numerous restaurants, bars, clubs, the Old Court House, LCBO, Bell building, etc.

The hotel is about 5 months old. It is super clean, fantastically modern, yet at a scale where you feel like there is a personal touch to your accomodation. The front counter staff were ever present and friendly. Every request from directions to parking to breakfast was accurate and punctual and met with a friendly smile.

The rooms are large, very modern, and spacious with high ceilings, wall-to-wall windows, and a loft-like atmosphere. The Vera Wang king bed was heavenly. An abundance of thick, clean towels, bathrobes, and Aveda products was also a nice touch.

The included continental breakfast was outstanding. Apparently, the pastries, granola, and yogurt are made daily by the brand new restaurant downstairs. It is unfortunate that we did not have the time to eat a meal there.

This is a boutique style hotel in the very heart of downtown London. There are only 20 or so rooms. It is priced on par with other chain hotels in the same core area, however, Hotel Metro is so chic, stylish, and comfortable that I can't imagine staying anywhere else next time I'm in town.

Parking is a bit expensive - $10 for self park or $20 for unlimited valet. However, once you see the rooms (rainfall shower, halogen potlights, harmonic phone, HDTV, iPod dock alarm clock, etc.), you won't care.

I loved the Hotel Metro. You feel like a celebrity staying here. You won't regret it. It became a highlight of our weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snarkylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

If you like design over function and don't mind in-room unscreened bathtubs then this place is for you! My wife and I found the hand basin poorly positioned and impractical and the slatted bedside tables needed glass on top to be truly useful. Very much on the plus side, an excellent room service cold breakfast (muesli, juice, fresh fruit, yoghurt, mini pastries and muffins) was provided, although there was no indication with our booking that it was included. Valet parking was offered for $20.

For those that might want them, a few things that are indicated through the Trip Advisor site as being provided were not apparent, namely: a "snack basket" a minibar and a newspaper. Also, while the flat panel TV is undoubtedly HD capable, there was no HD signal available!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pour plus de calmer éviter une chambre côté ''market''.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikono33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank maku0720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 32 Covent Market Pl, London, Ontario N6A 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#5 Family Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $150 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are London’s premiere boutique hotel, nestled in the entertainment district of the downtown area. With a unique blend of lofty minimalism and a dash of trendy flair, we are the perfect escape from the ordinary hotel. We are the perfect blend of past and present contemporary design. At Hotel Metro: Consider it Done! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metro London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing