We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,342)
Filter reviews
1,342 results
Traveller rating
867
325
93
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
867
325
93
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water slides pool area games room fish pond atrium room great pool hot tub march break mini vacation great hotel king suite hotel restaurant clean rooms victoria hospital london area mini fridge front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,342 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2016

Booked a room for Christmas eve for a romantic trip to London. Picked the lamplighter because of the pool section. That section for the most part lived up to the pictures on the website. Beautiful palm trees, awesome water slide, and waterfalls. When we booked the hotel originally we did so because we wanted a suite off of the atrium pool area on the second floor with a balcony. We asked when booking to have a suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. This was confirmed for us. When I called a week before our booking to confirm a few details, I found out that we were not to be off of the atrium, because for whatever reason they don't offer suites for that section..... which I am not sure if that is true..I feel it was screw up in the booking..I also asked when I originally booked to have early check in and late check out to be listed. When I called to confirm early check-in I was given a window from 12:30-2:30pm that may work for early check in but they couldn't promise anything... which again frustrated us. So we decided to come at 2pm, to avoid waiting around.. Our room was a suite on the third floor with a view of the parking lot.. The room itself was very nice, was a little dirty under furniture though... and some items from previous guests had been left under one of the dressers in plain sight. The bed was so comfy and the Jacuzzi was delightful, lots of towels which was nice. The staff when explaining were things were not very informative, they were almost robotic, so we had to do our own venturing through the hotel to find things. Was annoyed that alcohol was not allowed in the open bar area that overlooked the pool because you were required to purchase a drink from their bar section that wasn't open because it was the holidays.. and since we didn't get a room off the pool like we wanted we, we didn't get to sit and enjoy the atrium like we wanted... The pool itself was nice, no deep end though. The water slide was awesome, and fun for all ages. The waterfalls throughout were fantastic. Fitness center was limited though, no sauna which was kind of disappointing, and the game room could have had more games. Felt that the hotel needed more upgrades for how the website markets it. Those little details would enhance the hotel to be so much more. Overall not a bad stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It appears that you booked through BEST WESTERN INTERNATIONAL. This would have been the call centre for central reservations. When you booked you asked for a Fireplace/Jacuzzi Suite and then there was a note added “Atrium View if possible”. Unfortunately there is none of this room type that is Atrium View. We are certainly pleased that you were made aware of this by the hotel prior to arriving. There certainly were Atrium View options available but none exist atrium view with a jacuzzi and fireplace. Check-in time is at 3PM. Given that we have a limited number of this room type, (and the busy time of year) this is why we could not guarantee an earlier check-in. Check out is 11am and check in is 3pm therefor if we are full the night before it leaves limited time to turn the rooms over. It sounds like you got your room around 2PM. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your early check-in and again we are sorry that we were not able to give you an exact early check-in time. We certainly apologize for your Guest Services experience. The holidays were extremely busy at our hotel and perhaps things were not quite to the standard as they normally are at our property. The restaurant and lounge were closed on Christmas Day. Unfortunately as per LCBO regulations personal alcohol in any public area including our licensed areas is not allowed by law. Generally you can order food or beverage to our Atrium from our restaurant. Christmas Day is the exception. It is the one day of year that our restaurant closes. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back again to enjoy some of the on-going upgrades throughout the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Clean friendly location amazing pool and restaurant has amazing value. I had a suite beside the pool but I didn't hear any noise when I closed my patio doors. Meal specials at the restaurant were delicious and a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016


Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found Shelly’s Tap & Grill good value with delicious food. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Tropical Atrium and pool and your Atrium View Suite was peaceful once your patio doors closed. We look forward to welcoming you back again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2016

This is probably the best Best Western Hotel, that I have had the privilege to stay in. The place is extremely clean, the rooms are well laid out and comfortable.. The food is great. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2016

A problem free stay, above average size rooms, very nice property, and a full service restaurant. Some people really like the free food bars, and complain when they have to pay for breakfast. I am getting to the point when traveling that I avoid the breakfast grazing bars. This location had a full service restaurant where we enjoyed a very tasty and peaceful breakfast. We spent three days in Ontario on our road trip and this motel was by far the best one in Ontario. If I ever would come back to the area, I would stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philosophyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Thank you for posting a review on our hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your spacious accommodations and Shelly’s Tap & Grill! We hope you will come back and visit again when you are back in Ontario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2016

This Inn has an indoor pool with hot tub and all in a huge atrium with palm trees and flowers everywhere. The room was pool side had a queen bed and then stepped down to a living room with couch and chairs and a large screen TV.

Room Tip: room odd number 115 to 123 and 215 to 223 overlook the pool area.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2016

Happy New Year! We are happy that you chose to stay with us over the holidays and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in future! We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews