We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
848
320
92
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
848
320
92
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water slides pool area games room tropical plants atrium room hot tub great pool march break mini vacation king suite hotel restaurant beautiful hotel clean rooms london area would recommend this hotel to anyone victoria hospital mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2016

Great Hotel for groups or teams, nice for families, restaurant was good and staff was excellent in the hotel, very honest housekeeping staff, turned in our laptop that we left in the safe by accident.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on both the restaurant and our housekeeping staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2016

The atrium in this hotel was outstanding. Lovely pool, huge water slide, and tons of natural light. If your child's team is having a sports tournament in London, this is the hotel to stay at. Would also make a fun overnight for the family.

Rooms were clean and good-sized.

The restaurant had incredibly slow service. If you want something faster, you can order in pizza from a local pizza place and they will bring it right to your door.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelplannerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Lamplighter Inn experience. We certainly are popular on weekends with teams but also have some times that are much quieter. It is always good to call the hotel direct to find out what is going on to best accommodate your needs. We are sorry that you found the service slow in the restaurant. Your comments have been shared with both the Chef and the Restaurant Manager for review. Thank you again for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2016

Attended a conference and spent 2 nights. Hotel was excellent all around. Nice room, good bed, lots of room. Did not use pool or restaurant. Very convenient to highways and downtown London. Easy parking and convenient stairs, elevators, vending machines. Lots of restaurants nearby and within walking distance. Didn't try hotel restaurant, but looked very nice. Would definitely stay here again for a business trip.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Reid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2016

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay and found our guest rooms spacious and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2016

The hotel and staff were excellent it helped alleviate some of the stress that we were feeling due to the nature of our trip. The pool area was like nothing we had ever seen before and we felt like we were on a mini vacation instead of a hospital trip.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debrah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry you were feeling stress given the nature of your visit to London while staying at our hotel. We are thrilled however that we were able to help alleviate some of that and provide you with a relaxing and vacation like experience despite your hospital visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you can enjoy a stay without any other distractions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2016

We called and booked our room in advance. Seeing as we are returning customers we requested a particular area of rooms we would like to be in. Upon check in we were told that none of those rooms were available. When I told the clerk that had we known we would have cancelled the reservation as we live about one hour away and would have just booked another weekend. She quickly gave us one of the rooms in the area we wanted- I thought this was a little strange, but gladly accepted. Thank you!

On a side note, I would like to point out that while I was at the desk, a group of 7 people were checking in, and the other clerk would only give them 6 passes to the pool deck, pool, and water slide. The woman was of course upset, and said that when they booked the room for 7 people she should have been told then. She asked if she could purchase an additional pass, and they said no. I am only bringing this up as a warning to any larger groups, I sure would have like to have known too!

Our room was just as expected, and was extremely similar to our last stay. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub, which would be fabulous for families traveling with small children! There is a mini fridge in the room, but no microwave.

We found the pool area to be much, much colder than last time. We needed to have pants and sleeves to sit out on the balcony and the kids were quite cold coming and going form the pool- this was unexpected. Previously, the kids were in their swimsuits wet or dry, and we comfortably sat in shorts and tank tops.... it was like a tropical climate.

We ate dinner at the restaurant on site. It was nice not having to drive anywhere, although there are plenty of restaurants very close to the hotel.

The one thing I would like to advise the hotel itself of, is for the housekeeping staff to check the gardens. There were several wine glasses and pop cans thrown in the gardens by our room- who the heck does that?! You finish a glass of wine and throw the stemware over the balcony? Some people have no class I suppose. I didn't notice anything like this before and I completely think it's a guest issue much more than a hotel issue, but I would hate to see a child accidentally cut themselves.

I would still recommend this hotel, but I am very curious to know when I book in March if I need to bring my parka or my flip flops?!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilroyKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is difficult to read into what may or may not have happened with regard to your room booking. We do take requests for location of rooms however never can guarantee a specific room or location. We do guarantee room types always. In our hotel there are 16 different room types. We are sorry for any confusion however happy you got what you had expected in the end. There is lots of juggling that must go on in a large hotel like ours in order to keep everyone happy. Sometimes it is just not possible. The group of 7 you were referring to is puzzling given that we do not have any room that accommodates up to 7 people. Our family suites accommodate the maximum of 6 people. Our reservation agents would not have taken anything over 6 occupants. This is not uncommon where people show up and had not mention this when booking. There are many variables that could have happened when booking. Was it booked through central reservations with BEST WESTERN or Expedia etc. or was it booked with the hotel direct. Either way the maximum number of guests we can accommodate in one room is 6. This is only in one of our two family suites. We always recommend calling the hotel direct for the most accurate information especially with special requests. We are pleased that when you arrived to your guest room it was as you had expected and experienced in the past. For future reference please note that we do provide microwaves to any room upon request. Some room types do come with them but not all. We are sorry that you found the Atrium air cooler than your last visit with us. This winter has been a real challenge with the up and down temperatures. It seems like spring one moment and then the next it is back to below zero. These up and down fluctuations do make it a challenge keeping the air temperature in such a large area even all of the time. Your comments have been passed onto our Maintenance Department regardless for review. Fortunately the pool water is extremely steady in its temperature. We are sorry that our staff had not gotten to the litter in the flower beds prior to you finding it. This is a daily morning task and throughout the day to keep up on the litter including glassware, paper cups, bottles and so on that some guests toss into unsuspecting places. Although this is not an uncommon occurrence it is not normal for any litter to linger in our public areas for long. If we can address any of your concerns personally from this past visit or in future please do not hesitate to contact the hotel direct and speak with the Hotel Manager or the Rooms Division Manager. We would welcome the opportunity to address your concerns in a more personal manner. We certainly hope you will visit us again in future. We look forward to your next visit being more in keeping with those of the past. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews