We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveller rating
858
323
93
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
858
323
93
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water slides pool area games room tropical plants atrium room hot tub great pool march break mini vacation king suite hotel restaurant beautiful hotel clean rooms london area would recommend this hotel to anyone victoria hospital mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went to Windsor and on the way back home I decided to stop by London and I chose this hotel for the swimming pool.

First of all, hotel is really nice.
Room was modern and well designed for family trip. Especially I liked almost all the furnitures which have rounded edge. I have 14 month baby so I thought it was a really nice touch. Also room layout was good . Fortunately our room faced not swimming pool side so I couldn’t smell chemical stuff from swimming pool.

Staff was also friendly. Especially housekeeping attendant was really helpful.

But why 4 out of 5?
Because of we chose this hotel for my daughter’s swimming. But When we got the pool, pool was closed.
I heard there was an incident last night.

Maybe I was just unlucky but it was a little bit disappointing not to use the pool. This hotel promotes the pool a lot but cannot use????

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank danielantoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit overall. There was a pool fouling recently which meant the pool had to be closed earlier than normal and was not available until into the next morning while things were disinfected and the pool water treated. This is not a common occurrence and also an unforeseen incident. We certainly hope you will try us again for a more seamless visit on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay here in London at the best western lamplighter great hotel great service great pool clean rooms it the best in London always happy with our stay.we have used it for hospital visits shuttle service from hotel to hospital is available

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank terryhE6265EO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to have you stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two nights for family from out of town brought mixed results.

The good: constant checking in with guests to ensure satisfaction. A relatively clean environment. And exceptionally friendly staff.

A wheelchair bound individual had the choice of one room - which thankfully was available in my two week prior booking. But no bed guards were available, so double comfy chairs as ‘walls’ had to make due.

Then there was the pool area for kids: yes, it was mid week, but why no life guard and then no slide or good kid things open? The facility has the amenities, but no access. After Thanksgiving there is not much in this town to occupy little ones, and a rockin’ pool area would stand out.

Finally, no breakfast included. Really?

Overall, better for able bodied adults who can travel out to eat, I’d suggest.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank carmenincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed that the waterslide was not open during the day. We have very little call for it during the times when kids are in school. The slide is open evenings and weekends day and night though. We also have extended hours in summer and during times like March Break and Special Holidays. If in question just call the hotel direct for more information. We are very pleased that you enjoyed some great customer service while visiting our hotel and found our staff to be extremely friendly. We have many devices including wheel chairs and walkers for those that require them and perhaps have not brought them with them. The hotel is quite sprawling so these particular devices do come in handy. We are sorry that we do not provide bed guards. Our pool is a Class B pool meaning that Lifeguards are not required. We must have Lifeguards at the top and bottom of the slide though when it is in operation. We do normally have a Lifeguard on deck though. If you didn't see one that pool must have been extremely quiet. The daytime Lifeguard that keeps an eye on the pool does have other duties that may take them away occasionally from the pool. There are signs posted on all doors that children under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an Adult when in the pool. We do not include breakfast at our hotel. We do however have a full service restaurant on site that does serve breakfast all day along with lunch, dinner and many daily specials. We also have a "Wake Up Special" that is available Monday to Saturday for 6.75. We are told it is of great value. We also offer room service for all meal periods. We hope you will visit again. Do not hesitate to ask for assistance anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in London for medical reasons. The Lamplighter gives a medical discount as well as has complimentary wheel chair, and in past have received a room with a walk in access shower, nothing to step over.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank patmichaud1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to have you back and very pleased that we were able to help you out with some assisting devices. We have a few of these items at the hotel for guest use. If in question just ask.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the friendliness of the check in staff, Sarah the lifeguard we met first, to the text checking that everything was good after check in the team here practices excellent customer service. Our King Suite was perfect for our stay and the pull out bed was more comfortable than most. The pool is big enough to be enjoyable even with lots of people. The waterslide is twisty and fun my husband says. We had stayed here once before many years ago and have wanted to come back. We were not disappointed and if visiting London again this will be our preferred home away from home.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to know that when visiting London we are your preferred home away from home. It is great to know that you that you experienced great customer service and found your accommodations very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews