We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Romantic getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Idlewyld Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Just spent the weekend at the inn for my birthday, and it was perfect. Better than anticipated! I loved the setting, the building is gorgeous and no detail goes unnoticed. The restaurant on the grounds is delicious and very luxurious. I did have a massage at the spa. I enjoyed my visit and the staff was professional. Overall I give it 5 stars and will definitely be going back.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LOParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Front Office Manager at Idlewyld Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Idlewyld Inn and Spa. We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your birthday at the Idlewyld. From the dining to the massage and staff service it seems as though you had a fantastic time!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Michael Willemsen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    38
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
115
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We had a company Christmas party with Spa treatments for each couple and then dinner and drinks. The spa personnel were absolutely amazing and very friendly. The dinner was fantastic with a great selection of main courses.

The staff was very friendly and provided a great experience. Definately a place to go back to.

Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dreamon21_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Front Office Manager at Idlewyld Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Idlewyld Inn and Spa. We are so pleased to hear you found the Christmas party experience with your corporate event to your liking! We truly enjoyed hosting your team and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Michael Willemsen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We just got back from my husbands company's Christmas celebration. Great spa facilities, wonderful service and the food was absolutely delicious! The ladies in the spa were great sports and very accommodating to our large loud crowd.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Front Office Manager at Idlewyld Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Cindy,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the Idlewyld Inn & Spa. We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your time with us due to the spa facilities, staff service, dining experience and the overall event.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Michael Willemsen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

What an amazing hotel with very friendly staff. So beautifully decorated for the Christmas season you almost felt like you were walking back in time when you walked through the doors. From check in to our late evening dessert & coffee in the restaurant to breakfast the next morning it was such a pleasurable experience. Will defiantly be visiting this little jewel in downtown London again.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Benn1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Front Office Manager at Idlewyld Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Ben,

Thank you for reviewing the Idlewyld Inn and Spa. We are so pleased to find that you the overall experience, staff service, décor and dining experience to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review!

Warm Regards,

Michael Willemsen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staples ,On
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

This Inn and spa was just what we needed for a R&R weekend .Just far enough away from home and the quiet retreat that this charming place gives. Nestled in the heart of the city it was close enough that we walked to some of the things that we were doing or a quick taxi ride gets you where you want to go . The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed one of the packages that included a couples massage which was wonderful and the breakfasts every morning was a step above of normal continental breakfast. a very lovely place inside and out .

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Front Office Manager at Idlewyld Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Lois,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Idlewyld Inn and Spa. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay due to the location, staff service, couples massage and breakfast. The team truly appreciates the time you have taken to leave this review.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Michael Willemsen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

I recently had a Makeup Artistry Master Class held here. I booked it blind without seeing the space beforehand; I was absolutely blown away. It was so beautifully decorated, incredibly private, had inviting Christmas music playing and had floor to ceiling windows. The staff was an absolute pleasure - Brian and Monica were so helpful and kind, and Michael made booking so easy. I will definitely be coming back here as this is the best hotel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassidy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Front Office Manager at Idlewyld Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Hello Cassidy,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Idlewyld Inn and Spa. We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your make up Master Class. The team is also pleased to hear you enjoyed the parlour and the overall decor. I will make sure to pass your comments onto Brian and Monika!

We hope to welcome you back for your next Master Class!

Warm Regards,

Michael Willemsen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

My stay at Idlewyld was a result of being unable to book a room where I had planned to stay. That turned out to be a fortuitous fall. I enjoyed my stay at Idlewyld tremendously. What I particularly enjoyed—besides the comfortable room, lovely spa service, and good food—was the service. The inn and the people who work there all exude what I would call “understated quality.” The quality is excellent without being ostentatious; everything is comfortable without being ridiculously luxurious. And no one makes a big deal about it; it just is. Quietly, confidently, and consistently. Staying at Idlewyld allowed me to treat my business trip as also a bit of a retreat. When next in London, I will deliberately choose to stay at Idlewyld again.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoosterhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Front Office Manager at Idlewyld Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review the Idlewyld Inn and Spa. The team will be so pleased to hear you found the stay to your liking due to the "Understated Quality". We truly appreciate your kind words and take them as the highest compliment! We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Michael Willemsen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Hotel Metro
#3 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
#1 of 3 in Ingersoll
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idlewyld Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idlewyld Inn & Spa

Property: Idlewyld Inn & Spa
Address: 36 Grand Ave, London, Ontario N6C 1K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Idlewyld Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now owned and operated by Farhi Holdings Corporation, Idlewyld Inn & Spa joins Ingersoll's Elm Hurst Inn & Spa in offering an unforgettable hospitality and dining experience. Built in 1878 as the private home of Charles Smith Hayman, Idlewyld has charmed generations of visitors with its stunning Victorian features, many of which survive to this day. We look forward to preserving the mansion's history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Idlewyld Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idlewyld Inn & Spa London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing