We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Calamari!”
Review of Fionn MacCool's

Fionn MacCool's
Reserve with OpenTable
Fionn MacCool's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,107 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Description: We are a social house, an extended living room, with a focus on strong community roots. The old village pub would have bought fresh fish from the neighbourhood fisherman, their bread from the mill, and the beef and vegetables from the farmer down the way. We believe in sourcing great tasting ingredients from responsible Canadian family farms we know and trust. Combine that amazing pub food with local Celtic roots entertainment every weekend and you have an amazing little pub to call your own.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a social house, an extended living room, with a focus on strong community roots. The old village pub would have bought fresh fish from the neighbourhood fisherman, their bread from the mill, and the beef and vegetables from the farmer down the way. We believe in sourcing great tasting ingredients from responsible Canadian family farms we know and trust. Combine that amazing pub food with local Celtic roots entertainment every weekend and you have an amazing little pub to call your own.
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Our first visit and not last! We end up having 2 orders (great portion) of thick cut calamari which are the best ...caesar salad and of course fish & chips and coleslaw
Our meals were full of flavor and spices paired up with a good wine served by very pleasant and attentive waitress Kasia
Great experience and great food!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatharinaB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete L, Owner at Fionn MacCool's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi KatharinaB9,
Thank you so much for the shout out to Kasia. She's a real asset to our team. It's nice to hear you enjoyed your visit to the pub. This is your reminder to return...it's been a week already ;)
Slainte!
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our hockey team and parents had lunch here on a Friday. Even though we had a reservation, service was slow. It took quite a while for them to get our drink and food orders. It took a long time for food to come out too. My husband had the the special which was shepherd's pie. My daughter had the fish and chips. My son had the chicken fettuccine. I had the fish tacos and fisherman's chowder (noticed $2.00 charge for chowder on bill afterwards - upgrade for side?). We all enjoyed our food. I especially enjoyed my chowder. Chowder was creamy and had good flavour. You can't seem to go wrong with anything you order from the menu which is a good sign of a great restaurant. Our waitresses were friendly and tried their best to serve our large group. Overall, very good food and good service (considering we were a large group).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Qfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete L, Owner at Fionn MacCool's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Qfamily5,
Thank you for the review. I agree with you about the chowder since my team "forces" me to enjoy a daily ration! Large groups are challenging, but our system usually works a little smoother than you experienced plus we get a lot of practice with the large hotel right next door.
I hope we see you again on your travels.
Slainte!
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

That was an enjoyable visit with a great waitress Dani. The meal was wonderful and the mushroom and steak pie was delicious.
We will be back.

Thank AcapulcoFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete L, Owner at Fionn MacCool's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi AcapulcoFred,
Thank you for the review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and Dani's service. She's terrific!
I hope we see you again soon.
Slainte!
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Great Food and exceptional patio service from our server Mariah. Ordered the chicken tacos. Crazy spicy, caused me to sweat profusely, Mariah actually wiped the sweat from my forehead. Now that's service!!

Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete L, Owner at Fionn MacCool's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Chris C,
Mariah is a BOSS! We are very lucky to have her.
So glad you enjoyed your visit. I hope we see you again soon.
Slainte!
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

The meal was OK but what wasn't was the table and seating. We sat in the window area that overlooked the parking lot. That was OK but the chairs were so close,I mean back to back, that getting in and out, was darn near impossible. The table was tacking, the menu's stuck to the table, the spaces between the wood that made up the top of the table was dirty, not impressed. Our waiter was perfect, fast, great timing, he didn't miss a beat.

Thank mgrubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete L, Owner at Fionn MacCool's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi mgrubs,
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience. I'm sorry we didn't make your stay comfortable (that's why most people come to the pub...comfort). I hope you give us another try as we have addressed your concerns.
Slainte!
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fionn MacCool's also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Been to Fionn MacCool's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing