We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Package Deal Can Be OK, Hotel on the Older Side” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Niagara Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Package Deal Can Be OK, Hotel on the Older Side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were pleasantly surprised. We had stayed here before and yest the hotel does have its problems: 1. $10 mandatory charge per night for parking for a hotel that doesn't overlook the falls and is quite a walk in the cold. 2. Dinner voucher for hotel covers very few entrees on the menu, expect to pay significant additional money on top of your dinner voucher for almost everything on the menu. 3. Hotel pool during the winter is very small and was cold, whirlpool was nice. 4. carpeting throughout hotel is very worn out. 5. Room nothing special but much large than traditional Niagara Falls Hotel rooms with no mini-fridge or microwave in the standard room. 6. Workout room was excessively hot with a fan blowing the hot air around the room...you will sweat just walking in unless they fix their air system. 7. Room had thin walls. We heard noise well into the night and no other rooms were available to move. Positive's: 1. Breakfast was very good. It is included in most packages and surprise, actually covers the cost of breakfast, not just a portion of the cost and doesn't charge you extra for the GST, PST like the dinner voucher does. Very good choices, great omelettes, great service. 2. Hotel room had a central thermostat, modern TV and even a shoe shine machine....very unique. 3. Not easy to understand how to use the casino shuttle which was included with the price of the room. I ended up walking, but it is included. 4. Nice Whirlpool and plenty of decent size towels. 5. Staff was very nice, but I am still waiting for extra Marriott Points I qualified for, but never received even after the front desk stated it was posted to my account. 6. Were selling nice gifts in the lobby at very good prices like chocolates and other gifts.

Overall, a decent hotel I would rank very good simply because of the package we purchased, but I would rate around 3.5 If I could, but you could do much worse in the area.

Room Tip: Buy a package, but be wary, you will have to pay parking every night you stay in an area that most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    708
    227
    71
    50
See reviews for
595
722
23
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We got a great deal from Travel Zoo, the rooms are a fair size, good for 2 people looking for a quick get away.
The rooms are quiet (except for the sound of people letting their doors slam behind them when leaving the rooms, but that's every hotel now) the rooms were very clean, very comfortable beds. We had a safe in the closet, coffee maker with tea and coffee, mini fridge, free Wifi (used my Android phone), breakfast buffet in the morning, fair size swimming pool, sauna indoors. And the hotel is a very short walk to Clifton Hill. Summer would be fantastic to walk to, winter, depends on your cold tolerance, it's about a 5 minute walk down Victoria.
Parking on site was $10 for the day and the parking is beside and behind the hotel which was great if you wanted to use your vehicle or forgot something in your car.
The only complaint we have was the hallway smelled like cigarettes, our room was fine until the evening we believe our neighbours might have been smoking because around 9 when we heard their door slam as they went in we then started to smell smoke coming in from under our door. We blocked off the air from under the door shortly after and the small was gone.
If you have allergies to cigarette smoke or are very sensitive to it make sure to inquire when you check in to ensure you are on another floor (we were on the 9th) or really far away, the rooms suck air in from the hallways from a crack under the door for ventilation.

Hope the above information helps, it was a great stay and minus the cigarette issue, we would go back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask about their upgrades, sometimes the cost is very minimal for a great upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nate51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Niagara Falls many times before in the past since we make little weekend getaway trips to Niagara Falls alot. It has been about 2 years since staying here. We decided to return this past weekend because we were on a package deal.

We arrived about 3:30 on Saturday and waited in a very long line to check in. (approx. 25 minutes) and then it was discovered that they did not have our reservation right. My parents were traveling with us and it took all 4 of us to advocate and argue for quite some time before they decided to make the corrections and honour our booking. The lobby is under construction because they are updating their look. I am sure it will look nice when it is done.

My husband and I had a jacuzzi room suite which we paid extra for. I have to say the rooms are becoming very dated and old and I do hope they plan to start renovating them as well. We did not end up going near the jacuzzi because it was dirty and stained and had cracks in it. The bathroom was not very clean. There were hairs and residue everywhere. The carpet was stained, along with the walls. Thank goodness the bed linens were fresh and smelt clean. The walls are paper thin. We could hear everything that our neighbors on both side of us were doing which resulted in a poor sleep.

We had breakfast vouchers for the buffet in the morning which is held in the Keg restaurant. The restuarant was crammed with people... they could not keep up with everyone. The staff had a hard time keeping the buffet replenished and the poor gentleman working the omelette station was being worked off his feet. He practically had 10 omelettes cooking at once and he messed up my order but I couldn't blame him.

For the price we paid to stay here- I did not feel we got the best value. We will probably not return here anymore as there are so many other hotels that may be a bit more expensive but worth the increase in price when comparing services and rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We were given a deal through TravelZoo to go here.... so I booked over the phone, and made reservations for a room with a jacuzzi and wine and chocolates. We arrived there and got nothing that we were promised. We went back down to the looby to sort everything out... we found out that we werent allowed that deal through phone reservations?? but the lady told us if we paid an extra 30 dollars we would be able to have a jacuzzi in our room. Kinda pissed off because we were already thinking we got a deal on a jacuzzi suite... but we didnt we ended up paying pretty much what you would have been without a deal. The room was nice, pretty much like any other 3 star hotel. The breakfast sucked... first we waited in line for eggs for about a good half an hour... went to sit down and our eggs were not even cooked. No waitor came up to us asking if we wanted a drink, we see other waitors in different sections walking around doing that but none in ours... so we ended up helping ourselves to drinks that were sitting on the waitors prep table. Not impressed at all. We wanted to see if any of the other hotels were good in the area because we usually only go to the Embassy.... and thats where we will always go for now on... because the Courtyard by Marriott does not even compare.

Room Tip: Do not even go here... its not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Enjoyed a two night package over New Years. Great two days in a very clean and large room, with king bed and jacuzzi. If you go for a one or two night package you get a great buffet breakfast each morning in the Keg restaurant in the hotel and a $40. coupon towards dinner one night at the Keg. In addition you have a shuttle pass to take you anywhere in the falls tourist area including both casinos. The only thing missing from the other Marriott which we have stayed at is well is the view of the falls from your hotel room. You will pay less at this hotel, so you have to decide whether the million dollar view is worth paying the extra dollars.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Last min booked room on a weekend and we got a deal for the jr.presidential suite. No view but we did spend most of the day and night indoors because of the weather. Very spacious and comfy. Nice bed and great whirlpool as well. Staff was nice and helpful and great hotel. nice decor and pool and fluffy towels in room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

A bit away from the beaten tourist path, but still fabulous. Service is great, rooms are clean. Parking is $10 per night. We have stayed here 5 times and have enjoyed ourselves each time. The whirlpool rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edenfamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.2 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.2 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
1.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Niagara Falls

Property: Courtyard Niagara Falls
Address: 5950 Victoria Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a refreshing travel experience at the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott in Niagara Falls. We are just minutes away from Niagara Falls and centrally located in the heart of the entertainment district. Every stay will be a new adventure. There is so much to do, and out of all the Niagara Falls hotels, the Courtyard is in the "centre of it all." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Marriott Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Courtyard
Niagara Falls Marriott
Courtyard Niagara Falls Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing