We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
86
34
10
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
34
10
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving room dining areaprivate balconyhouse is beautifulsmall kitchenetteown bathroomriver roadhome away from homecozy roomenjoyed our staybreakfast was deliciousgracious hostsevery morningniagara parkwaya wonderful staycomfortable staygreat weekenddefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 155 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

but we found Ellis House to be very nice. Kathy was most helpful and welcoming! We were there for my birthday on April 21/22, and requested Eggs Benedict for breakfast. It was served with a very cheery "Happy Birthday", and accompanied with plenty of other choices - homemade bread, fruit salad, juice. I will say that the quality of the food could be upped some - the coffee was weak and not a great blend, and the pastries were packaged. A good cup of coffee would be the only thing that I would say we really needed though. For those that complained about the signs all around, take a look around a hotel room ... we stayed at the Embassy Suites our second night in NF, and there were just as many there. The jacuzzi was in perfect order, and very much enjoyed, as was the fireplace. I would have liked to use the air conditioner to bring in some outside air, but we couldn't get it to work, and I wasn't about to call Kathy at 11:00 about it. All in all, this B&B was welcoming, quiet and clean. Ellis House needs some attention to those little things, but we considered it to be a good value and experience for our money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueorchid1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Ellis House. It couldn't have been more perfect! Kathy was absolutely wonderful. Very pleasant and very helpful in every way! We are returning there this year and already have booked our stay. We love the cozy and personal space they give you. Wonderful breakfast and wonderful care. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a clean and inviting place to stay. We just cannot say enough about this wonderful place!

Connie and Greg

Room Tip: We loved the Dr.Mitchell room. Cozy, clean, and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2011

One Wednesday/Thursday afternoon in August, 2011, my wife and I travelled to Niagara Falls, Ontario, for a few days and happened to find this B&B for a few nites and when checking in, the woman there was terribly impolite and unprofessional. We were not given a receipt willingly after payment until the next morning when we checked out. Since we asked for internet and it never worked, the woman replied that she did not know anything about how internet work and could not help us with it, so we were stuck without internet and we were not able to book for, at least two more nites as planned. Well even if we could, we would not feel comfortable staying in a place with discriminative employees! No one would. As a result, we went to another motel and stayed there for two more nites happily. Actually, there were numerously hotels, and motels around the Niagara Falls area which are wonderful and have courteous and professional staffs. Hope no more traveller would have to be treated the way this woman, at Ellis House treats her customers! I would say she does not deserve the "Travel Board's" licence to operate a B&B establishment in Ontario, Canada. She is giving travellers a bad image of Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada. How could any Frontline workers in the Hotel and Tourism business, be as discourteous and inprofessional as this woman, be allowed to operate in the Tourism and Hotel field?

Room Tip: There is no choice in this place since the woman was terrible, we just want to rest and leave the next morning.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Despite some very dark reviews we kept our reservation at Ellis House and were glad we did. Manager Kathy was gracious and accomodating. She took pride in her B&B, her job and her cooking. Owner David was an added bonus, especially when we saw the good job he took of his property.

On arrival the power was out throughout the central part of the city. Kathy apologized repeatedly but it was back on when we returned from a walk down by the Falls. Our room (Ansel Adams room) was nicely decorated, roomy and CLEAN. Matter of fact, the entire B&B was CLEAN. A common service area was available to guests (refrigerator, microwave, fresh water, wine glasses, bottle opener).

Yes, there were rules posted throughout the B&B. We found them informative and reasonable, especially considering the house was more than 100 years old. We and another couple stayed in the main house. Our third couple was in the house next door and their accomodations were adorable.

Because the B&B is off the main streets we found the noise level very, very low. Even a thundering rainstorm was not heard inside the rooms. On several occasions we enjoyed wine on the deck at the front of the house and it was always quiet. Also there is a gazebo with table and lounging chairs in the rear of the B&B.

Kathy learned everyone's name and consistently greeted us, remembering what our plans were for the day. And David gave us guidance towards some of his favorite local places. We returned the favor when we discovered the Paris Crepery Bistro nearby.

This place is a delight and we will gladly return. My only suggestion to Kathy was that small boxes of tissues be made available in the rooms. She appreciated the suggestion.

Room Tip: King size bed rooms are significantly larger than the rooms with Queen sized beds.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clearlylovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We took the GO Transit Niagara Train, Ellis House is so close to the train station. We cycled the Niagara area and did some wineries. From their location there's easy access to the Niagara Parkway Trails, Downtown and the Falls, as well as the city trail that’s a 15min FLAT walk to Cliffton Hill area. It’s quieter than being on the strip. Great old house, nice deck and patio. Kathy made some wonderful breakfasts. Little extra like the use of fridge, wine glasses, opener and water cooler was great for filling the bike water bottles. Well worth it, glad we stayed. We'll be back in the Fall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joeborges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews