We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellis House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 69 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I surprised my husband for our 1st anniversary celebration with the reservation @ Ellis House's Executive Apartment. This was our 1st time staying @ Ellis House.
We loved our exclusive parking area for our stay - and the Executive Apt was private and the entire floor totally ours!
Kathy - the Property Manager / Welcome Committee / Cook extraordinaire - provided excellent service not only to us, but she looked after all the other guests with the same care and professionalism. She was friendly and welcoming - she was a wealth of information - our very own Google - about the local services; entertainment available - right down to real estate knowledge!
The Executive Apartment was fabulous and perfect for us - fully equipped kitchen; washer/dryer; bathroom; good size bedroom - comfortable, firm, cozy bed; living room; dining table and area - private entrance. It was a fantastic 3 day stay for our 1st anniversary. The location was also perfect - not directly on the main road, but just off of it - and the bonus was watching the fireworks with a perfect view - and not having to be in the crowds.
We will DEFINITELY be back - with more family and friends to enjoy Ellis House services and hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

but we found Ellis House to be very nice. Kathy was most helpful and welcoming! We were there for my birthday on April 21/22, and requested Eggs Benedict for breakfast. It was served with a very cheery "Happy Birthday", and accompanied with plenty of other choices - homemade bread, fruit salad, juice. I will say that the quality of the food could be upped some - the coffee was weak and not a great blend, and the pastries were packaged. A good cup of coffee would be the only thing that I would say we really needed though. For those that complained about the signs all around, take a look around a hotel room ... we stayed at the Embassy Suites our second night in NF, and there were just as many there. The jacuzzi was in perfect order, and very much enjoyed, as was the fireplace. I would have liked to use the air conditioner to bring in some outside air, but we couldn't get it to work, and I wasn't about to call Kathy at 11:00 about it. All in all, this B&B was welcoming, quiet and clean. Ellis House needs some attention to those little things, but we considered it to be a good value and experience for our money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueorchid1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Ellis House. It couldn't have been more perfect! Kathy was absolutely wonderful. Very pleasant and very helpful in every way! We are returning there this year and already have booked our stay. We love the cozy and personal space they give you. Wonderful breakfast and wonderful care. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a clean and inviting place to stay. We just cannot say enough about this wonderful place!

Connie and Greg

Room Tip: We loved the Dr.Mitchell room. Cozy, clean, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

One Wednesday/Thursday afternoon in August, 2011, my wife and I travelled to Niagara Falls, Ontario, for a few days and happened to find this B&B for a few nites and when checking in, the woman there was terribly impolite and unprofessional. We were not given a receipt willingly after payment until the next morning when we checked out. Since we asked for internet and it never worked, the woman replied that she did not know anything about how internet work and could not help us with it, so we were stuck without internet and we were not able to book for, at least two more nites as planned. Well even if we could, we would not feel comfortable staying in a place with discriminative employees! No one would. As a result, we went to another motel and stayed there for two more nites happily. Actually, there were numerously hotels, and motels around the Niagara Falls area which are wonderful and have courteous and professional staffs. Hope no more traveller would have to be treated the way this woman, at Ellis House treats her customers! I would say she does not deserve the "Travel Board's" licence to operate a B&B establishment in Ontario, Canada. She is giving travellers a bad image of Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada. How could any Frontline workers in the Hotel and Tourism business, be as discourteous and inprofessional as this woman, be allowed to operate in the Tourism and Hotel field?

Room Tip: There is no choice in this place since the woman was terrible, we just want to rest and leave the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Despite some very dark reviews we kept our reservation at Ellis House and were glad we did. Manager Kathy was gracious and accomodating. She took pride in her B&B, her job and her cooking. Owner David was an added bonus, especially when we saw the good job he took of his property.

On arrival the power was out throughout the central part of the city. Kathy apologized repeatedly but it was back on when we returned from a walk down by the Falls. Our room (Ansel Adams room) was nicely decorated, roomy and CLEAN. Matter of fact, the entire B&B was CLEAN. A common service area was available to guests (refrigerator, microwave, fresh water, wine glasses, bottle opener).

Yes, there were rules posted throughout the B&B. We found them informative and reasonable, especially considering the house was more than 100 years old. We and another couple stayed in the main house. Our third couple was in the house next door and their accomodations were adorable.

Because the B&B is off the main streets we found the noise level very, very low. Even a thundering rainstorm was not heard inside the rooms. On several occasions we enjoyed wine on the deck at the front of the house and it was always quiet. Also there is a gazebo with table and lounging chairs in the rear of the B&B.

Kathy learned everyone's name and consistently greeted us, remembering what our plans were for the day. And David gave us guidance towards some of his favorite local places. We returned the favor when we discovered the Paris Crepery Bistro nearby.

This place is a delight and we will gladly return. My only suggestion to Kathy was that small boxes of tissues be made available in the rooms. She appreciated the suggestion.

Room Tip: King size bed rooms are significantly larger than the rooms with Queen sized beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clearlylovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We took the GO Transit Niagara Train, Ellis House is so close to the train station. We cycled the Niagara area and did some wineries. From their location there's easy access to the Niagara Parkway Trails, Downtown and the Falls, as well as the city trail that’s a 15min FLAT walk to Cliffton Hill area. It’s quieter than being on the strip. Great old house, nice deck and patio. Kathy made some wonderful breakfasts. Little extra like the use of fridge, wine glasses, opener and water cooler was great for filling the bike water bottles. Well worth it, glad we stayed. We'll be back in the Fall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joeborges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My husband and I traveled to Niagara Falls from Ireland, and arrived in town by rail just before 8 in the evening. When we reached Ellis House, we found a note with our name on the door, with details on how to enter, stating that Kathy will see us in the morning. We were very disappointed, as we were exhausted and starving, and were looking to get some advice on where to go to eat. We were booked in for 5 nights and thought it a very disappointing start.

The room we were booked into was tiny. We had no room to put our suitcases and it was sweltering hot. You could not switch off the radiator in the room, but at least the air conditioning was working. We were a bit disconcerted by the amount of rules of do's and don'ts listed around the room. Not a good start, but we decided to sleep on it and make up our minds what we thought about the place the next day.

The nearest eatery we found open was over a kilometer's walk away - a lovely place called Paris Creperie on Queen Street. Lovely food and a friendly welcome - THIS PLACE is definitely worth a visit.

The next morning we went for breakfast - which is only served at 9 am, no other time. When we arrived downstairs, a large table was set for 4 people. This is where we first met Kathy, who gave us a very curt welcome and immediately placed a card in front of us to register. Breakfast consisted of tinned fruit, melon and French toast. We weren't asked what we wanted for breakfast, and it seemed that Kathy was doing us a favour, even though we were the paying customers. The coffee was ghastly - we couldn't drink it at all.

On her rule sheets, Kathy states that we are "extended family" and this is our "home away from home". If this is true, then we are clearly the black sheep of the family who has stolen her silver. She was unfriendly, abrupt and made us feel very unwelcome. Interestingly enough, for a house which prides itself on being non-smoking, Kathy herself smells strongly of stake smoke, and the sheets and bed-linen in the room unfortunately smelt the same.

One of the rules that we found most interesting is that you must take your shoes off so as to not damage the hundred year old wood floors. Our thoughts on that were that 100 years is not that old for a building, (we have recently stayed in a castle built in 1172 which was in better condition), and that if you are that concerned about your house, don't give it a major refit like they have done, and use it as a B&B! We left breakfast the first morning dreading the thought of spending the next few nights there, and so we decided to then try find alternative (better) accommodation in the area (which we did).

As we had booked in for 5 nights, and stayed one, we decided to spend the last 3 nights elsewhere, and so my husband went to Kathy to let her know that we were leaving the next morning, and so that we could pay the balance of what we had already stayed. When he went to her (she stays in the house next door to Ellis House), Kathy insisted on an extra night's money as we had not given 48 hours notice. She was very rude, and seemed only interested in getting her money. At that point my husband just wanted to finish up and get away from her. (Note of advice to anyone who finds themselves in this place - leave what cash you have used in the room, and just Go!. She obviously doesn't appreciate it when people try to play fair with her.)

Another interesting point to note on is that there is an old award from the Tourist board for customer service next to a picture of an older woman in the dining room. I presume it is some relative of the owner, and I wonder what this person would have thought of the current treatment guests in this house seem to get. Unfortunately for us, we only looked at the reviews of other people on this B&B afterwards (our learning point for future reference).

In summary, and to put some modicum of fairness on things, the house itself has a certain charm, but it should not really be marketed as a B&B to the general population, it is located a fair bit from the falls (especially if you don't have a car). The main advantage any small business has is its service, especially in a town where we have (without the exception listed in this review) found amazingly friendly people and excellent service. If this house was listed for what it actually IS - a period dwelling, converted to B&B with authentic fittings, it would be better served. Personally we would have passed on it, but there are many who would surely have loved it, and possibly would pay a premium for the experience.

It does seem that Kathy, the current host does not like what she is doing for a living, and it is very much reflected in the experience of us and of others. As a point to illustrate, there are some great reviews for this same place, many of which seem to be from people of the same age range as the host herself. These people seem to have had the experience which the house promises, and I wish we had had. The current host certainly seems capable of it when she wants (or enjoys it).

So, for what it is worth, If you are over 50, have a car, like old-ish buildings, don't mind cigarette smoke, and don't want to be around the 'touristy' bit of the town, this place could be good for you. If you are not - as the title of the review says, AVOID this place at all costs!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DPJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.5 km away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
2 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
0.8 km away
Niagara Grandview Manor
Niagara Grandview Manor
#9 of 69 in Niagara Falls
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Two Rivers Bed & Breakfast
Two Rivers Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 69 in Niagara Falls
249 reviews
0.1 km away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 69 in Niagara Falls
774 reviews
0.3 km away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4284 Ellis St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $111 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellis House Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellis House Bed & Breakfast Adult ONLY accommodations located along the scenic River Road / Niagara Parway on the banks of the picturesque Niagara River. This bed and breakfast is a short walk to the Niagara Falls, Fallsview & Niagara Casino, Clifton Hill tourist area and many of the other attractions Niagara Falls has to offer. Ellis House(circa 1847) was converted into a bed and breakfast guest house in 2001. It is fully licensed and inspected by the City of Niagara Falls. Your host, David, purchased this bed and breakfast in 2000 and has spent years restoring this historic century home to it's original splendor. Wherever possible, David has restored and retained the original architecture of this home, including the original hardwood floors, crown moldings and intricate woodwork. Guest rooms offer: • King / Queen Beds • Self controlled air conditioning with in-room controls • Private ensuite bathrooms many with jacuzzi jetted tubs • FREE Wireless internet access • Flat panel TV with premium cable TV • Fireplace • FREE Onsite Parking • FREE Hot Breakfast • FREE WIFI • Outdoor HOT TUB • 3 Outdoor decks / patios Each guest room is decorated individually and enjoys a private entrance from the front yard. In the calm of the morning or evening, you can hear the Falls rumbling with their immense power from the grounds at Ellis House Bed and Breakfast. In the morning, guests gather in the grand dining room for a full hot breakfast and great conversation. David, as any other dedicated bed and breakfast owner could, can offer suggestions of the things to do and see while you are in Niagara Falls. To take full advantage of your Niagara Falls holiday, it would be best if you could plan to spend a few days here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ellis House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellis House Bed And Breakfast Niagara Falls, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing