We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVED MY STAY!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chalet Inn & Suites Near the Falls
Ranked #44 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed 6 January 2012

i stayed on the 3rd floor i really liked my housekeeper very clean room i could see the top of clifton hill the young girl at the front desk showed me how to get to the elavator because i wasnt really sure where to go i really loved my stay i will for sure come back in the future to stay at your hotel : )

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linbeexo1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

False advertising -we entered the room to find it was different from the pictures we were sold on the website.
Heating did not work - it was nice of him to come fix it but you shouldn't have to call to have heat.
Human fluids and human hair in the ice container.
Worst part - Front desk had to be called two times to have them check on the constant banging (sounded like pipes) that went on ALL night and ALL morning!
Hot water tank apparently broke so no hot water was provided for a morning shower.
Unprofessional staff and disgusting environment.

You get what you pay for in Niagara - stay at the Fallsview!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERIKA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletinn, Manager at Chalet Inn & Suites Near the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

We have many different types of rooms available, not all of which our listed on our website. If you do not book through the website, but book over the phone, you might be booking a different room.
Sometimes the previous guest in a room might change the settings on the heater/air conditioner. Also, as these are commercial models, some guests have trouble figuring them out. We are more than happy to help a guest set the heat to their preference.
The ice machine had no hair, or human fluids in it. It had been emptied by the many other guests who also used it, as it was the holiday more people needed ice for drinks than usual. Someone than unplugged it, and threw cardboard and yellow paper in it. Any coloured liquid in the ice machine was from colour leached from the wet cardboard/paper.
The sounds you heard in the night were not the pipes, but rather one of our hot water tanks. The relief valve failed, and the tank almost exploded. Thankfully, that did not happen, but we had to wait for an emergency plumber to show up. We have multiple tanks, but obviously the lose of one did affect the amount of hot water available to all guests. The problem was fixed by 10 a.m.. This was not something we could have predicted happened, nor could we have prevented it. It was extremely unfortunate for us that this had to happen on one of the busiest nights of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Spent New Year's in Niagara Falls with our family & visitors from Arizona. I wasn't sure what to expect but when we got checked in and went to our rooms we found a clean comfortable spacious room; for a two star location it was really great. The only bug-a-boo, if I could call it that, was no coffee makers in the rooms we had.
Thanks Lorenzo for accommodating our special request.
I'd recommend this hotel to other travellers looking for a no-frills place to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to bring your own toiletries and hairdryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxx_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletinn, Manager at Chalet Inn & Suites Near the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Thank you for your review.
However, we do have hair dryers available. They are in all of our suites, and some of the regular rooms. If the room does not have a hair dryer, you can request one from the office. This also applies to irons and ironing boards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I had phoned in advance to see if I could reserve a room. I had a voucher which would cover a portion of the regular room rate and that is the only reason why we booked at an America's Best Value Inn..We had previously stayed at the one on Lundy's Lane - service I tell you honestly was much better there than at this 'Chalet Inn' one.

When we got to this location on Ellen Avenue, the manager (Lorenzo) was sitting on the couch just observing outdoors and we drove past it and parked next door. I hopped in to check in and pay and he said 'pull up to this parking lot'. Basically we got charged an extra $20 for 2 additional people - no big deal, but his attitude telling me was not professional nor friendly at all. I asked do we pay now or after and he blurted, we'll sort everything out now. If you do not book through Expedia or Hotels.com or other websites, apparently they will charge an additional 3% of the room rate - this wasn't disclosed until I did the math and asked what's the tax you're multiplying by because I was calculating a different amount. That is when he disclosed there is some 3% additional rate - once again I didn't want to inquire further because he was being very rude and snooty. As he took my payment, I asked I read on the site there's free breakfast, where do we go tomorrow morning? He pointed it's behind you.. so in the same tiny office check-in there were very limited and days old muffin + danishes as well as some coffee pot which has been brewing for hours/days.

The service at the front was horrible - he was invisible after midnight and if you want an extra towel even paying an additional charge per person in the room, good luck, you can wait until the following day when he decides to wake up.

Stay was awful overall, would never stay there again. The motel needs serious renovations and much better service and advertisement. Their rates are certainly not competitive for the far distance to the Clifton Hills and the Falls. This room and service has by far been the worse I've been to in Niagara Falls - please do not book here if you want to enjoy your Niagara experience.

I felt relieved to pay upfront since we didn't book online through another website because he certainly seemed like he would nickel and dime you for everything including late check-out. The rooms were dingy and old and run-down - not an ideal place you'd wanna stay for $79+/night. Honestly, the hotel Days Inn diagonal and closer to attractions goes for rates less than $60/night and they are much more reputable and cleaner! There are no hair dryers so bring your own or you can stay up until your hair drys. Parking was surprisingly free. Rooms were ice cold once you step in, make sure to turn on the heater and let it run for a few hours. There's NO ice, NO fridge and NO microwave as well. We stayed in a regular room with 2 double beds on the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Inquire for a room with a microwave or fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyong519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletinn, Manager at Chalet Inn & Suites Near the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

I am sorry if you did not enjoy your stay with us. When you checked in, you registered for only two persons, however you actually had four, so you were charged for the extra people that you had not included in your reservation. The 3% tax is a development and marketing fee that hotels, restaurants, and attractions charge. This is not being "nickel-and-dimed". I am sorry if you felt you were treated rudely, as that is not our intention. As for breakfast, we do have a designated breakfast room, but in the off-season it is much easier and more practical to hold the continental breakfast in the office (our continental breakfast being coffee, tea, juice, muffins, and pastry). Our coffee is a gourmet Colombian blend, made from syrup that is kept refrigerator in the machine, so that it is always fresh; it is never pre-brewed. In the off-season it is simply not practical or feasible to have the office open 24 hours a day, but it is open from 7 a.m. to 1 a.m., and someone is available by phone at all times. Had you called and asked the front desk for extra towels they would have been provided, and there is no additional charge for this. We take very good care of our property, and it does not need any major or serious renovations. Both AAA/CAA and our hotel chain (Americas Best Value Inn) do yearly inspections, and we consistently get high marks across the board. We are only a two minute walk to Clifton Hill or Casino Niagara, and a ten to fifteen minute walk to the Falls themselves, which is extremely close. Unfortunately, not all of our rooms currently have refrigerators, microwaves, and hairdryers. Hairdryers are available in the office, and fridges and microwaves can be requested in advance, but guests staying three nights or more have priority, and remaining ones are available first-come, first-serve. Each of our two buildings has an ice machine, and there is always plenty of ice available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Extremely Helpful! Above and beyond our expectations! Room was very clean and cozy! Loved our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Amazing place to host a gathering! Went there with a bunch of friends for Hallowe'en. It was a quiet location, but a very short walking distance to get to the main attractions of Niagara Falls!!! The staff are all very friendly and gave us everything we needed for the stay, including a fridge and microwave, as well as extra towels. Plenty of free parking with free WiFi. This is the only place I stay in Niagara!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A group of us went to Niagara Falls for a weekend away. We needed 4 rooms and the management was great and made sure that pur rooms were all near each other. The rooms were very clean and they also had a balcony. I found that the whole hotel was clean and quiet! It was a great price for the room and thanks to its location it made for a great place to stay for the weeend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.5 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
0.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
2.2 km away
Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
#42 of 128 in Niagara Falls
353 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#43 of 128 in Niagara Falls
635 reviews
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inn & Suites Near the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inn & Suites Near the Falls

Address: 5577 Ellen Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3P5, Canada (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $60 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Inn & Suites Near the Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking distance to the Niagara Falls, Casino Niagara, Clifton Hill, Fallsview Casino, and many restaurants and other attractions. The staff pride themselves on making your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chalet Inn & Suites Near the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Hotel Niagara Falls
Chalet Hotel Niagara Falls
Chalet Motel Niagara Falls
Chalet Inn & Suites Near The Falls Niagara Falls, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing